Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 9 May 2014
One of the best books I've ever read. This book is a must own for those who are intrigued by the drug culture of early 70's America
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2016
Fast paced, funny, and autobiographical. This book is Thompson all over. If you liked the Terry Gilliam film, you'll love the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2015
One of my favourite books of all time! Unfortunately one of my dogs has since destroyed it.
Hunter S. Thompson is brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2013
Brilliant holiday read, was recommended by a friend then by coincidence by amazon and really enjoyed. A few laugh out loud parts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 1999
what can be said that has not already been said about this book, crazy, cranky, hanky-panky. and when is say cranky i'm not talking about jimmy. This book changed my life, i laughed, i cried, i left a mok on the altar of excessive vision. If you have to read one book this lifetime, read this one. If you do not laugh at the scene where dr. gonzo hallucinates a burrhouse beergut, then i'll wash your grandparents for a year with a pink flannel. Nothing short of twisted genius.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2007
Even after reading this book an inumerable amount of times it never fails to make me laugh from cover to cover. This book guarantees you strange looks on trains as you gaffaw to yourself- which you will on reading every page. This book does include a lot of drug references, but the message is not about the drugs themselves - these are merely a vehicle for the plot to evolve and encourage the central idea of the book. However, contrary to another review found on here, this isn't a difficult read - the central theme, the pursuit of The American Dream, although explained through the mind of an eccentric drug user is clear throughout and is perfectly narrated through the use of internal dialogue. I usually read this book whist traveling and often finish it within a day. Over analyzing this book is not necessary. Most intelligent people [and probably many more who aren't] have opinions - we all do - the fact that Hunter S Thompson uses such a colourful character as a vehicle is what makes this such a great read. It's really not at all profound and that's what makes it so great. On another note, if you've seen Terry Gilliam's 1998 adaptation of this book - which, aside from a few bits missed out [you can only fit so much in a film] I cannot fault - you will love this book even more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2013
IF YOU HAVENT READ THIS YOURE AN IDIOT GOODBYE! FOR THOSE WHO KNOW HUNTER WE ALL KNOW HOW GREAT HEARTED AND FUNNY HE WAS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2017
Great book, one of my ultimate favourites. Read the book before the film, if you can! Quick delivery and good product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2013
Finally got to read this after meaning to for a while.
Great story, well written.
Laugh out loud in places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2015
Rotten attorney, giant red shark, pterodactyls, Vegas all make for One ludicrously ideal read on the daily commute.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse