Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 25 August 2017
What can I say about this amazing work. Takes me back and to the summer of love. You had to be there. Peace Man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Whoa man!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
Great read thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2017
good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
Brilliant insight
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2017
Very good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2017
good stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
I read this book many years ago, in the days when L.S.D. was going strong. It therefore had an interest to my generation.

At the time I remembered thinking that "The Doors of Perception" was basically about Aldous Huxley's experiences and reflections whilst on mescaline. He also asked about such expereinces being a doorway into the world of schizophrenia and wondered if it would be worth reconsidering the philosopher Bergson's idea of the brain being basically an eliminative organ, to stop us being overwhelmed by impressions, so we can function in the everyday world. Both points are worthy of argument and Youtube has a video where he speaks, from the book,on the latter.

Heaven and Hell,which I preferred at the time is an essay on how over history people's minds have been opened up a world beyond the everyday experience of the ego (he calls it that "interfering neurotic" in the first book). Anyone who has had an aesthetic experience will know something about that "opening up". There can be beauty, in it's truest sense but there can be horror. There can be good trips and there can be bad trips. There can be ecstasy but there can be madness. There can be heaven and there can be hell (the land of lit-up-ness, as he describes it).

A worthy and fascinating read, of perennial interest, which I am pleased to return to on kindle and would certainly recommend.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
Classic read. Basically a trip report written by Aldous Huxley which helped kick off the psychedelic era of the 1960s. Worth reading for this alone and its a short read cover to cover
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Product as described, speedy delivery, very pleased overall.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)