Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
144
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2015
Having read all of the lovely Jenny Colgan books about bakeries and chocolate I was so disappointed to find myself immersed in a book of, what I feel is, unnecessarily foul language. I was looking for an easy read and this is far from that. The characters are certainly not lovable and the storyline is tired. I struggled to read 25% then had to give up. I'll probably never read another Jenny Colgan book again. I'm sad about that. Sorry. I'm sure lots if people love it but it's not for me.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
I have read other Jenny Colgan books which have been witty and entertaining. This one was neither. Lots of booze, hangovers and a rambling story. I can only guess it was written early in the author's career. Not for me....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
Didn't warm to the characters at all, and so didn't complete the book; which is very rare for me, because I adore all of Jenny's other works.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
I've always enjoyed Jenny Colgan's books I don't mind the odd swear word but this book is polluted with them and some were were way out of line. I stopped reading it and would not recommend if bad language offends you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Because of the unnecessary bad language. I read about one third and then skipped the rest to read the end. Jenny Colgan`s stories are great as in the cup cake cafe and Christmas at the cupcake cafe and quite honestly don't need all the swearing but this one has spoilt me reading ant more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
Loved the book. I had a job to put the book down. Would definitely recommend to anyone who asks me if they should read it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
Jenny does it again!!! :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
Sadly this book did not live up to my expectation, lack of story line and then predictable, also too much bad language,
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
Funny but didn't fall in love with any character. Needed more passion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse