Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
27
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 February 2003
With Jung's output spread over many volumes and not always systematically arranged this book is an ideal place to start. The bulk of Jung's range is here with writings on therapy, archetypes, Alchemy, society and religion. There is also a glossary at the back of the terms Jung used in his writings. For those who want a single volume of Jung this is ideal. For those who are starting to explore his thinking which can repay huge rewards, this is the best place to get an overview. But equally for those who have read some of his work this is an ideal portable book to carry around and use for reference purposes. Highly recommended.
22 comments| 86 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2007
I was not at all familiar with the ideas of Jung before reading this compendium of his work, so it is difficult for me to pass judgment on the comprehensiveness and impartiality of the book. However, seeing as it was praised by leading Jung authorities, and that Storr has structured the volume in such a way that it is left to Jung himself to expound Jungian philosophy, it is a safe guess that we are presented with the undiluted thought of the founder of analytical psychology.

The book is split into ten chapters. Each one deals with a specific aspect of Jung's psychology by using excerpts of varying length. Storr introduces each excerpt with a concise summary of its content, which is especially helpful with some of the more esoteric passages, of which there are a few!

This is a fascinating read and just brimming with edifying stuff. Jung's defence of religion is refreshing and original; his interpretation of the story of Job is just excellent; his exposition of the archetypes, although rarefied and sometimes obscure, is exciting and stimulating for the imagination.

Familiarity with his unconventional mode of thought will leave you more open to the possibilities inherent in man and will introduce you to 'wacky' ideas made plausible. Much of the material in here has a (briefly) liberating effect.

Storr's introduction at the beginning of the work is invaluable, and I would recommend it be read before and after tackling the main body of the work.

If you are at all curious about Jung but don't know where to start, start here.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2000
Anthony Storr has selected from, organised and annotated Jung's vast collection of writings into a single volume that provides a good introduction to remarkable ideas such as individuation, archetypes, the collective unconscious and synchronicity. This book is a great introduction to Jung for the layman and I would certainly recommend starting with this prior to reading any of the "Collected Works of C.G.Jung" series.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2010
Being a layman, but having been interested in "these matters" for four decades, I found this book to be quite simply excellent as an introduction or overview of the works of this great thinker, this psychiatrist/psychologist/philosopher. I only regret I did not start seriously reading Jung earlier. Very good division into main themes to make it easier, and good introductions and selection of paragraphs. A couple of the "middle" chapters on Self and Alchemy were a bit difficult, but why shouldn't it be? The closing chapter on Man and His Future is a masterpiece of combining psychiatry and philosophy with humanism and view on politics and man*s destiny and what is needed in order to survive as individuals and species.
A great introduction to the works of the Master.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Having graduated from medical school in 2001 it is very late for me to discover Jung so late. He was a genius not just ahead of his time but also ahead of our time, especially if we define our time as APA's contemporary psychiatry consensus and latest DSM. The reader has a great glimpse into this visionary psychiatrist's and critical thinking empiricist's work in this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
I had never read anything by Jung and was very interested in having some idea of what his theories were about in his own words. The difficulty is that his own words means a style of writing which is pretty heavy, and not exactly gripping. This book brings together a number of writings from throughout his life and gives a great overview of Jung's work.
I doubt I'll read anymore because I found the writing extremely hard to get through, and despite some very interesting theories the reading was tedious. This book provided the introduction I was looking for though and I was very satisfied once I'd finished it.
Somebody who already knows Jung, or who does not find his works so heavy may want something more in depth.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
Having read quite a lot of Jung's original works when younger (and finding them pretty difficult, but fascinating and somewhat addictive) I was pleased to have acquired this ebook. I am only part way through it, but am finding the compilation useful including the letters and general linking of the texts. Don't expect an easy read unless you are already a Jungian Analyst, but Jung's work still speaks to me today.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2008
What an amazing man Jung was, his views forever engraved in analytical psychology. This book is an eye opener for those who are unfamiliar with Jung's theories and a fine refresher for those of us who know his work. This book is well written and will please anyone with an interest in Psychology. Most recommended!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2011
This is a successful attempt at distilling a huge intellectual output into one volume.Inevitably it is challenging in places, especially the section on Alchemy,and the vocabulary used can sometimes have you reaching for the big dictionary, but such is the quality of insightful content that the perseverance pays off and leaves you in a place of greater understanding of mans predicament.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
Excellent. I kept coming across Jungs work in other books and wanted to explore more. This is a great introduction and then widening exploration of his life's work. Highly recommend if you're new to Jung or want to deepen your appreciation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)