Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
19
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2017
Loved this book, the research that must have gone into it is phenomenal. Its amazing that this book was published two years before 9/11 as it discusses things that I was only aware of after that event. Looking forward to the film which is being produced and will be reading the sequels too. Fantastic read would totally recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
A good interesting read, might enjoy reading more from this author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 1999
I bought this as it was listed as one of The Economist's novels of the year. I wasn't disappointed. It's gripping - I had to read it under my desk rather than put it down. Stephanie's parents and her sister are all killed in a plane accident which Stephanie should have been on. The plot follows Stephanie's disintegration and reinvention into the prostitute Lisa. Lisa is tracked down by a journalist who believes the plane was blown up by terrorist action, he's then murdered and we see the metamorphosis of Stephanie to Lisa to Petra as a she is recruited into the secret service and used to avenge the death of her family. A novel of identity and a thriller. Can't wait for Burnell's next one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 1999
This book is complex but rewarding. The sensitivity that Mark Burnell generates in his lead character allows one to feel along with her the dramatic emotions she experiences. The whole read leads one to feel sympathy and love towards the heroine. It is an outstanding novel and I would thoroughly recommend it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2006
This thriller is astonishing. Published in 1999, the book describes (as background) a terrorist organisation and a sequence of events that are so so close to 9/11 that they could almost be described as Osama bin Laden's handbook. We're only just catching up with what this author foretold before the event. His analysis of terrorist training and motivation could have been written yesterday. It's a good thriller too, with characters much better drawn than usual in the genre, and a fine display of the differences between love and lust. I look forward to reading the rest of Mark Burnell's four books. If they're all researched like this one, I have a lot to learn.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2008
Chose this from at the recommendation of the Economist, and it was ok. Far better than other crime / thriller novels read lately. Even though I read it in 2008, it is not that dated and parts of the content on terrorism has been proved to be similar to realism although he's not the first to get such right. Characters ok, perhaps some more on some of her copartners as they are a bit to easy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2001
I bought this book on the strength of The Economist's verdict so the expectations were high.
It is a good and well-written novel, albeit that it tells an unlikely story. It is full of pace and is a genuine page-turner.
However, there are few surprises and it is by no means the unique offering I expected.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
I began to read Mark Burnell in the middle of the Petra series and was immediately gripped. But it took me some time to go back to the beginning and read THE RHYTHM SECTION. The home background is familiar to me as a Northumbrian myself, but of course the tragic elements of the story are pure escapism for me, combined with the idea of a young woman being so physically and mentally tuned (definitely pure escapism for me), and these make it a compelling story. There is a more definite ending to this first book than the later ones, so perhaps it wasn't the author's original intention to do follow-up stories, though I'm glad he did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2016
A gripping tale of revenge where the central protagonist, spy and all around butt kicker is a woman. It follows her story as she battles to overcome not only the loss of her family, but the loss of herself following a series bad life decisions.
The tale moves along at a fast pace with a series of well-choreographed dramatic events that will keep you turning the page. If this were made into a film, you just know it would have a Rocky style montage as she trains herself to become an assassin.
Loved this book so much that I have read it three times in the last 5 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 February 2011
Judging from the reviews here this book appears to be Marmite, you either really enjoy it or it doesn't seem to do much for you.

The Rhythm Section is the story of how Stephanie Patrick lost everything and then found a reason for living in a murky world. Stephanie is a flawed person who through a series of bad choices starts to even lose her own sense of identity and morality.

This is a tale of intrigue and assasinations and very much of our times. A good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here