Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2016
Royal Flash is the second of the Flashman novels. Written in 1970 by George MacDonald Fraser, Fraser based the book on the plot of The Prisoner of Zenda. Set during the Revolutions of 1848 the story is amusing enough. It is set in the fictional Duchy of Strackenz. This makes it the only Flashman novel to be set in a fictitious location. The story sees Flashman fleeing from a police raid on a brothel he was visiting, Flashman meets Lola Montez and Otto von Bismarck. Some years later a tempting offer sees Flashman in Munich. Here Bismarck has him abducted and blackmailed. His mission: to imitate Prince Carl Gustaf, a fictional member of the Danish royal family. Gustaf is to marry Duchess Irma, the ruler of the fictional Duchy of Strackenz. But according to Bismarck the prince has contracted a sexually transmitted disease. This, of course, would be embarrassing if uncovered by his future wife. This turns out to be a lie. In fact the prince is in prison in Jotunberg Castle. Flashman is a doppelgänger of the Prince. He is trained to take his place until the Prince is cured. Accompanied to Strackenz by Bismarck's accomplices, Rudi von Starnberg, Detchard and de Gautet, Flashy weds the Duchess. Shortly afterwards, while out hunting, Flashman finds out that Bismarck meant to double-cross him and kill him. But he turns the tables on his attacker and tortures the information out of him and kills him instead. He is then captured by Strackenzian nationalists and forced to help them storm the Jotunberg Castle. They are successful, but Flashman and von Starnberg fight in the dungeon, with Flashman escapes death. He then goes back to England, with the help of Montez, who robs him along the way.

In Royal Flash we see old Flashy in all his guises. Coward, scoundrel, lover and cheat. He uses his wits and skill to out of all manner of sticky situations. Well researched and full of detail, the mixture of history, humour and adventure makes for a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
The second Flashman novel, and as excellent as the first. Despite even the character himself saying he's nothing but a cad and a bully, I actually like him, and let's face it, would any of us behave any differently given the situations he faced? In this story, Flashy gets hoodwinked into helping Bismark engineer all sorts of dastardly deeds in what will eventually become Germany. Thoroughly entertaining, with lots of fights, escapes and beautiful women along the way.
An Angel's Alternative
Cold Steel on the Rocks
We Are Cold Steel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
I first read this second packet of Flashman`s adventures when it was first published back in the seventies. Now 40 years later the style of writing might not appeal to today's readers. I suppose this is almost two books in one, if you religiously read the reference notes you can't help but learn about Victorian military life and important events of that time.If you choose to ignore the notes it becomes an enjoyable read of historical adventure picture. I have read nearly all of this series and as is usual the later books are not nearly as good as the earlier volumes.I would recommend this series to the more serious reader and I would point out that they were written in a time when political correctness definitely takes a back seat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Every Flashman book gets five stars. They never fail to entertain on the highest level. I just wish there were more in this world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Excellent condition, love the stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is A REVIEW of the ABRIDGED Audio book read by Rupert Perry Jones.

A confession... this is not my favourite Flashman Book in the series but any Harry Flashman is a dammed fine read and the same goes for this abridged version read by Rupert Perry-Jones.

Jones has read The Flashman Books before on CD- I can wholeheartedly recommend Flashman and Flashman on the March as really fine listening books.

Their stories are brilliant and original and are 5 star listens this is a 4 because of the story.

The story is enjoyable but is a real play on the Prisoner Of Zenda so in my mind looses a star because it's... let's face it a rip off of that story. Flashman has no need to copy?
Anyway back to the review.

Rupert Perry-Jones has just the right voice as a young Harry Flashman, which in a way is strange because to my mind the narrator is an elderly Flashman who reminisce in his 'papers' But Rupert does a splendid job.
he has a good voice- great descriptions and when he does the voices of the characters you really can 'see' them there.

It s five CD 6 hour abbreviation and doesn't waste an ounce of time in a slow plot line.

The plot fairly gallops along like Harry Flashman in a top class Bordello for a week with unlimited credit!!!

I will not delve too deep into the plot- others have done that before and so well- but whay you should be asking is

Is the reading Any Good?
Is the story Brilliant?
Is this a worthwhile purchase?

The answer to all three is a resounding

YES.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Flashman is a cad, without a care for anybody but himself, but at least he is truthful about it. `Royal Flashman' is the second (3rd chronologically) in George MacDonald Fraser's tales of the cowardly hero and the best I have read yet. This time Flashy must travel to Germany where he thinks he is off for a treat with a certain seductress, only to become wrapped up in a conspiracy that could have been ripped from the pages of `The Prisoner of Zenda' (and probably was). `Royal' is a slower paced Flashman novel than previous outings and is based in fewer locations. For this reason I think it may just be the best.

As always `Royal' is told as if Flashman is retelling the tales of his youth via his papers, filtering through Fraser. Whilst other books in the series have Harry running away from one perilous situation to another, this time Flashman has little choice, but to head into trouble. There is a certain charm to Flashman's caddishness and this is apparent more than ever in `Royal'. He admits freely to be a coward, selfish, whoremonger etc. but this upfront nature means that you can't help but forgive him a little. At one point he even berates himself for going a little too far.

With the character of Harry Flashman becoming far more rounded in this book, Fraser is able to concentrate on the adventure itself. The story of swapped identities is a great one, only improved by the fact that Flashman was only heading over to Germany for carnal reasons in the first place. It is Fraser`s eye for historic detail that raises the entire `Flashman' series of book and this is the case again here. The powder keg of a divided Germany is ready for Flashman to light the fuse.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2009
At the beginning of this book, the plot appeared to be a little bit unbelievable and I wondered whether it was going to be a successful and engaging story. Could Flashman pose as Royalty for a sustained period of time? Would it work?

I can definitely say that it did, this book was highly entertaining and outrageously funny. I love this author's writing style which is superbly original. Flashman reminiscing in his old age of his younger more adventurous years almost makes you feel/believe that he is a real person from history it's a superb literary feat.

As ever, the author's notes at the back of the book summarise the real event to which Flashman refers to in the novel. This gives the reader a snippet of true historical fact to supplement and enhance the story.

I'm certainly glad I have read this book and will continue with this series with high expectations.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
So hot on the heels of Flashman, George MacDonald Fraser pitches our loveable villain straight into another outrageous adventure. Before reading 'Royal Flash', make sure you've read 'Flashman' by the same author. If you loved that, you'll love this...

The second book in the series has the same great narrative of the first offering, and I feel bad in criticising aspects of the book, such as the opening chapter, which starts with an aged Flashy reflecting back, which is rather wordy and unnecessary. That doesn't last long however, and it's just a few pages before the reader is rapidly catapulted into the start of the story proper, with Flashy merrily whoring and viciously insulting his way around the clubs and knocking shops of St James in London. And making terrible ememies in the process. Sets everything up for a royal yarn with all the loveable ingredients of a classic Flashman novel. The book does lack the usual thread of great historical events, such as the charge of the Light Brigade, the Sepoy Rebellion etc., but whislt the historical richness is rather lacking (only German unification is covered here, forsooth), the narrative is as good as ever, with the sub-plots and one liners pure golden royal genius.

Look out for: Flashy stalking deer at Balmoral. It isn't long before the hunter becomes the hunted. Oh and you may be confused as to why he cannot look at a hairbrush again without breaking out in a sweat over a beautiful harradin with a penchant for using it to encourage her mate during coupling sessions. WHACK! Faster Flashy, FASTER! WHACK!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
George MacDonald Fraser picks up in "Royal Flash" where he left off in "Flashman". Fraser artfully blends historical figures into his stories along with a fictional character he stole, um, I mean pays homage to, in this delightful series. After covering the years 1839 - 1842 and his service in the first Anglo-Afghan War, "Royal Flash" cover 1842 - 1843 and then 1847 - 1848 in this second installment of "The Flashman Papers".

Fraser inserts Otto von Bismarck as Flashman's major nemesis in this story, and as for Flashman's legendary womanizing, Fraser is kind enough to hook him up with Lola Montez, among others. Fraser also doesn't mind borrowing heavily from Anthony Hope's "The Prisoner of Zenda" (1894) either, though in the Flashman universe it was Anthony Hope that borrowed from Flashman's adventures. At any rate, nothing is out of scope as far as I can tell from being selected for Flashman to have his hand in. There are a host of other historical figures which play minor roles in the novel as well.

In a brief meeting involving Lola Montez, Otto Bismarck takes an immediate dislike to our anti-hero, and from that meeting Bismarck later devises a plot to gain power and get revenge on Flashman all in one go. This plot involves a "Prisoner of Zenda" like plan, though in this case the switch which sees Flashman forced to pretend to be Carl Gustaf, a prince of Denmark. This plot involves the Duchy of Strackenz a fictional place (the only fictional setting for a Flashman novel). Though Strackenz is fictional, Fraser makes it a part of the Schleswig-Holstein Question which was a real situation between Denmark and Germany involving the two duchies.

As with the first book, there are too many references back to "Tom Brown's Schooldays". In one case it felt natural and part of the story, but in the other instances it felt forced and certainly was unnecessary considering this is the second book of the series and Flashman's origin has already been established. It also seems unlikely that Flashman would be so fixated on Tom Brown when one looks at his life since that period.

All things considered I am giving "Royal Flash" 4-stars, as it is almost as good as the first in the series, but at the same time it obviously cannot be as original, and the fictitious setting also takes away from it slightly, as do the unnecessary references to Tom Brown. Nevertheless, it is still very fun to read, and there is even some history to be learned.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse