Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2014
This is awful, merely a collection of first chapters. How sad somebody chose to profit from our love of this great character, when this could (and should!) have been full of historical insights, and possibly a diary of Flashman's travels and adventures. Be great to see this done properly one day. This most certainly is not fit to be offered for sale.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
A really funny book, but that's just part of the story. George MacDonald Fraser takes you back in time perfectly, and the characters are all people of their time. He's also excellent at setting the scene, the retreat from Kabul makes you think you were there, and the details about the characters brings them all to life. I loved the way he introduced Lord Raglan's speech impediment, and the tragic hero Sergeant Hudson. Very funny, and also very clever.
An Angel's Alternative
Cold Steel on the Rocks
We Are Cold Steel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
I stumbled upon The Flashman Papers when they were referenced in a magazine article, and I thought I'd give the first book a go. The first book is well written, and the descriptions of 19th century Afghanistan/India are evocative of a different age. Some of the behavior and language will offend, and whilst we slowly learn more about the lead character, things sometimes become a little predictable given he is so proud of his cowardice, and in that sense he is perhaps a tad one-dimensional. That said, the situations he finds himself in, and how he manages to make the most of them, along with the interactions between Flashman and various historic characters throughout can be quite amusing. I'll certainly be buying book 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
Best to start with this book then all references to Elspeth and the like make sense. I still find it hard to believe its a made up story, the amount of detail and inside information which has the historians wondering makes it all the more enjoyable read. Makes a good history lesson even better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
A pleasure to read this again in eBook form (with adjustable print size)!

There are a couple of places where the novel's 1969 attitudes will raise 21st Century eyebrows, but as a story it is masterfully told.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
I enjoyed this enormously. Flashman is a cad, a rogue and a bounder, but it's hard not to love him. If you are the kind of person that only reads books that strictly adhere to all things that are PC , then this excellent, witty, rollicking adventure tale is not for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
I knew it was a marketing device so didn't have high expectations but it is really just a collection of first chapters
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
I have always been a huge fan of the Flashman Books and occasionally add one to my Kindle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Every Flashman book gets five stars. They never fail to entertain on the highest level. I just wish there were more in this world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
A really good read in these politically correct times. Not for those who would rather not call a spade a spade.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse