Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2016
No issues with this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2005
In this sequel to Shadow of a Dark Queen, author Raymond Feist takes us back to his magical world of Midkemia. Now that they have returned to the Kingdom of the Isles, Erik von Darkmoor has decided to reenlist in the fight against the dark powers that threaten his world, while Rupert Avery has decided to follow his original plan of marrying a rich merchant's ugly daughter and building a mercantile empire. But, life is going to prove interesting to both. Becoming a merchant prince is no cakewalk, and Roo will find his abilities taxed to the limit. And, the dark power rising in Novindus has not been deterred from its purpose.
Raymond Feist's Riftwar books were great, with epic adventure and magic, while his later books enjoyed a somewhat smaller scope. This book succeeds in walking on both sides of the street. While armies marshal and wizards weave great spells, we also follow the life of a man trying to build up his wealth and his personal life. And, I must say that it succeeds in doing both admirably.
I love stories of wizards and armies, and one gets a bunch of that here. But, I must say that I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Mr. Feist's tale of Roo Avery. I was captivated by the choices he made, both for good and for ill.
I am surprised to say that I enjoyed this book as much as I did the Riftwar books and Shadow of a Dark Queen! The action is gripping, grabbing you right on the first page, and drawing you along. Yep, this is a great book, and a wonderful addition to my fantasy library. I loved to presence of Boldar Blood, and hope that Mr. Feist will consider writing a book that develops the Hall of Worlds more!
I loved this book, and highly recommend it to you!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
One of the great things about Feist is that you never get two dimensional characters. One moment you are reading this book admiring Roo's merchant manouvers and at others nearly despising his total lack of interest in his family. You certainly believe that the driving force behind Rupert is entirely selfish, but his wit and humour and in the end his brotherly love for Erik show that Roo has the capability of being more. Whilst the story concentrates on Roo we do follow the 'Captain' and Erik to Novinous again and whilst this is a relativly small part of the book it is still able to grab you by the throat and you just won't be able to put the book down until you know the fate of all involved. A perfect second book that adds depth and colour to the story and sets the stage for the breath taking action found in the next book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'm reviewing Feists' (and those involved with him) works in Chronological order. Unfortunately for some books there are new books and covers being re-released in March 2013 so reviews for the old books can no longer be posted.

Anyway this review is for the chronological reading of books by Feist and others that all link Medkemia and Kelewan and form the Riftwar Saga, Legacy and beyond. This one is for Rise of a Merchant Prince.

The order is:-

Magician 5 stars
Jimmy the Hand 2 Stars
Horored Enemy 4 stars
Murder in LaMuT 3 stars.
Daughter of the Empire 5 stars
Silverthorn 4.5 stars
Darkness at Sethanon 5 stars
Servant of the Empire 5 stars
Krondor: The Betrayal 3 Stars
Mistress of the Empire 5 stars
Krondor: The Assassins 3 Stars
Krondor: Tear of the Gods 3 Stars
Prince of the Blood 5.5 Stars
The Kings Buccaneer 4 Stars
Shadow of a Dark Queen 6 STARS !!
RISE OF A MERCHANT PRINCE 3.5 STARS

Rise of a Merchant Prince is Book 2 of the Serpent war saga. It's more of a `connector' from "Shadow of a Dark Queen" to "Rage of a Demon King". So by this I mean Shadow of a Dark Queen was a thrilling introduction into a whole new saga and stood brilliantly on it's own and opened up all sorts of questions about who the queen is, her intentions and the coming army. Rage of a Demon King is fabulous, especially the prologue regarding the demons. Brilliant !!! I'd love Janny wurts to do for this (The Demon World) as she did for the Tsuranni world of Kelewan. Anyway in between these two major events, Feist finds he has to do a lot of preparation and staging for the Rage of a Demon King story. This is that staging. The story itself is OK, nothing special but it is important for setting the stage. The basics are to take Roo from the first book and turn him into a millionaire so he can provide the funding for the war and help justify the Kingdom's ability to get ready for the coming invasion. Feist tries to keep the interest going by having Roo develop recognisable traits of the rich and powerful complete with having a mistress (who will lend some intrigue later on) and having a few sorties and adventures with Erik back to Novindus and the discovery of a mysterious 3rd Enemy. All in all though it's a pretty sedate book compared to the other two but necessary. You need to read it but it limps along unfortunately. I think Feist could have given the story more attention but when you read the next book you can see he was eager to get to the next exciting installment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2000
This book was good enough to keep you reading but the main story about Roo just does not make the grade. It is a fiction book but the story of Roo's rise to the ritchest man in the kingdom is just stupid. The whole way through the book it just did not feel right. Roo an uneducated, twenty year old, nobody rising so fast is just too unrealistic for me. The rest of the book is very good though. Erik and Calis returning to Novindus makes the book worth reading.
In short read it for the good bits and so you can read the next one but do not expect a spectacular read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2000
I have read all the Raymond Feist that have been translated into Dutch and as I write this we have to wait until april for the rage of a demon king. I can't wait. In this pageturner Feist creates a different atmophere then in his other work. There is less magic and it is more down to earth stuff. Reading I liked very much. You'll get to know the life in Krondor well and you'll stay in touch with old friends such as Robert the Hand. Anyway, buy this book and enjoy the serpent war saga at his best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
4 stars as this book develops the characters well from the first book with a slightly unusual story for a fantasy book. The reason it did not receive 5 stars was the reliance the book has on both the first book for setting the tale and the third for not having a satisfying end.

Easy to read, strong characters with the main character showing selfish shortcomings and dubious morals.

As with the first book some fantasy readers may be disappointed with the book as the lead characters are neither blessed with magic or super human abilities of any sort, although the main character is blessed with great business sense (no sucker is given an even break).

Still want to read more from this author such are the strength of character development and the general quality if writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2006
After the introductions of new characters and the action in the first volume of the serpent war saga this initially seems an odd way of following on.
The focus shifts from Erik to his friend Rupert "roo" Avery who's ambition is to become a horribly rich merchant.
The emphisis of this volume is on Roos clever deals to make money, his loves and losses and struggles as he gradually makes his dreams a reality.
The main storyline is pushed to the back burner as it develops slowly as we learn much about the inner workings of Krondor, the capitol of the western realm.
A different book to the first volume, but equally as enjoyable.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2009
The second "Serpentwar Saga" book. This book captivates you from the first pages, just as the first book, Roo and Erik have made it back to the Kingdom, Roo decides he wants to become a very rich man, the richest in the whole Kingdom, he is en enthralling character and you really get to like him although he isn't a very good family man and a bit of a rogue you can't help but feel a part of his world and ambitions. Meanwhile Erik and Calis once again travel to Novindus and enter in a "skirmish " with the Emerald Queen, this really sets up the story for the third book and the inevitable battle from across the endless sea and the hoardes of hardned warriors as they decend on the Kingdom. Very good read and highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2007
Rise of a Merchant Prince is the second installment of the Serpentwar saga and is quite different from the book's that Feist has written before.

The book is based on Roo Avery and his attempt to become the Kingdom's richest man. It's a really interesting read and although there's not the drama from the first Serpentwar novel it is still full of action and intrigue.

You also catch glimpses of the bigger battle approaching with Calis, Erik and their band of men returning to Novindus to battle the Dark Queen's evil forces.

Another excellent story from Feist!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse