Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 24 October 2016
Jack and Jill is definitive Patterson, and definitive Alex Cross. It's the book that introduced me to Patterson's writing - and what a way to enter his world.
Alex Cross is having a very bad week: someone has started killing kids near the school attended by his own beloved children...and someone else has started slaying high-profile media and political figures, leaving heavy-handed hints that much worse is to come.
Patterson immerses us in Cross' warm and welcoming home life with his diverse and well-depicted family, as well as his crew of rounded and interesting fellow detectives. He also isn't afraid of painting a picture of social inequality and street-level degradation, but these are always touches that support the story, not just salacious grime for atmosphere's sake.
Similarly, the multiple killings that ratchet up the fear-factor in both cases are described with just enough brutality to appal, but a writer's flair for letting the imagination fill in the gaps.
Here we get almost everything you could possibly put into a murder thriller set in Washington DC - politics, celebrity, white culture, black culture, police procedure...you name it. What we also get is a fantastic ear for psychopathic behaviour and thinking. The descriptions of the characters are brilliant - the way one of the killers involved in one of the main plots maniacally gets tunes stuck in his head and seems so 'hyper' he's barely under his own control mirroring information in books I've read about psychological studies of real serial killers. It adds an air of terrifying veracity to a propulsive, brilliantly written thriller that manages the absurd feat of upping-its-own-game almost every chapter until its twisting conclusion.
There are perhaps four or five books of Patterson's that stand head and shoulders above the others by their sheer brilliance. Jack and Jill is one of those burning lights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
I can't say that this book has a gripping plot, although it is. It is so disturbing, I had to stop reading. Took a breather and then started to read again.

The twists were never ending. One done, another one cropped up. How could the author work up so many surprises in one story? Truly amazing mind.

I enjoyed this book. I wouldn't say this is a story that is easy to swallow. It's disturbing. It's bizarre. It's terribly crazy to it's core.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
Jack & Jill gives a creepy insight into the inter-workings of our government. Although, it is a fiction novel, Im sure the plans that took place in this novel have been attempted before.

Jack & Jill are two high profile killers in Washington D.C. They kill people that are held high in the public eye and are working their way towards their ultimate goal -- Killing the real Jack & Jill -- Mr. and Mrs. President of the United States.

Can Alex Cross catch them before it is too late?

At the same time, there are mysterious children murders happening in Cross's neighborhood. With his heart in trying to solve the case, he gets pulled off and put on the Jack and Jill case.
He goes undercover with his partner Sampson and a few guys from their department to try to solve the cases themselves. The cases aren't getting much attention because of the high profile murders.

This novel is fast paced and keeps you guessing until Patterson is ready to reveal the whole story to you. The Jack and Jill killings were intimate but lacking emotions. The child murders left me quite sad and cringing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2017
This was another brilliant story, not only one murder mysteries but two just when I thought that I had solved one another came along, not only in one of the stories but both.Am now going to start reading my fourth by this author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2016
Only started reading the James Patterson books recently, starting with Along Came a Spider. Literally just finished Jack and Jill today. They are getting better and better!!! I'm a big fan of Martina Cole but I must say that James Patterson outdos her and has me hooked ! !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2017
Fantastic book about a pair psychopaths who enjoy killing . Also in the mix is a child is a child killer. Alex cross is superb here investigating 2 cases at once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2017
Not one of his best but still very readable. I tend to like most of the Alex Cross novels. Worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Another enjoyable read as are the other Alex Cross books but maybe the envelope is pushed a bit too far in this book.I just thought it was a little too far fetched without ruining it for readers.
Still worth a read though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2017
I have been waiting along time for these books to be available on Kindle worth the wait. This includes Kiss the Girls and Along came a spider
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2017
Had me hooked from the start, as always Detective Cross and his stories are gripping. Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse