Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
102
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2001
How sadly appropriate that this work should bear in its title the word 'tear' for it is surely a threnody, a lament for the skill of a man who was arguably the greatest fantasy writer of our time after Tolkein.
Feist's great ability was to describe his worlds in intricate detail and to bring forth characters that sprang from the pages in their realism. When magic and fantastical acts occured the reader could accept these without question. A talking dragon, a rift in space, a goblin, all were as believable as a taxi in London or New York.
His characters were real people and he made them interact with each other just as real people do, it did not matter that they were fighting the forces of darkness and evil aided by magic.
'Tear' on the other hand presents us with a plot so shallow that it is not worthy of the name. The work is so full of gratuitous slaughter that it lacks the moral depth of earlier works. The characters are automata, poor Squire James is but a shadow of his earlier self. Even the syntax is second rate and just how many 'deft blows' must one expect in one book?
Was this book really written by the same Promethean author who gave the world 'Magician'and 'A Darkness at Sethanon' - come on Feist you can do better than this!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2001
After the Serpentwar saga, which was particularly enjoyable for beginning to move the series in new directions, Feist has decided to return to an earlier period of Midkemian history and to older, staler situations. With this installment, Feist has once more sacrificed his imagination and slavishly - not to mention tediously - carved out another book based on a computer game.
The plot and tone never escape the simplistic and no new ground is covered... The book is a morass of cliches and caricatures, including the feisty (no pun intended) young magician heroine, a tough (and Scottish sounding, sorry that's Dwarvish in Midkemia, isn't it?) warrior priest who oozes old-campaigner style advice and the cowardly character who overcomes his fears long enough to be useful. Oh and I nearly forgot the dastardly, dastardly villain.
And then there are the fight scenes. Lots and lots of fight scenes. After every couple of pages of tedious dialogue or exposition, Feist seems to feel obligated to produce another identi-kit style battle sequence, occasionally changing the nature of the opponent, but never the level of stupidity.
Ultimately, this book has nothing more to offer than padding out the scraps of information given out during the Serpentwar and something to prop up the coffee-table...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2001
I love Feist's books and have done since I picked up Magician, whilst casting around for something new to read in a bookshop, for no other reason than its cover. "Krondor: The Betrayal" was not Feists best book, and although this is from the same series, it's definitely back to form. Like all good Feist books it practically reads itself you get so engrossed in the story!
I am hoping that he will do a similar 'filling the gaps' type series for the riftwar (Magician) era, as even with the authors-cut there are still many things only touched upon.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 January 2005
THE STORY:
A decade after 'A Darkness At Sethanon', assassins trouble the court of Krondor. Sent out to deal with the return of the Nighthawks are a young foreign magician, Jimmy the Hand and Pug's son William.
WHAT'S GOOD:
Of the three Krondor books, this is the only one not based on a computer game. Consequently, this is the only one worth reading. Feist concentrates on action and adventure in this book but does add in his usual bit of political intrigue. The infiltration of the cult fortress and what they find therein is wonderfully gripping climax and, as the Amazon reviewer pointed out, is very 'Indiana Jones'.
WHAT'S BAD:
This isn't a particularly deep book in general, choosing to be a crowd pleaser than a thought provoker. Also, reading this book may prompt you to read the other two books in the trilogy which would be A VERY BAD THING!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2002
An aptly named title indeed, since this book brought a tear to my eye for not being of the quality of read I expect from Feist. This book is the finale of a 3 book series based on Feist's Midkemian role playing game. Although, I was initially very exited about this new series ( which would give me the chance to revisit characters that I thought I would not get to see again)( those of you who have read the Serpent War saga know what I mean ), the quality of the stories have left something to be desired. Unfortunately,the best thing about these stories and Tear in particular is the characters themselves. Love for a good character will keep you turning the pages even when the book is not that good. I have rated this book a 3, but I fear it is my love for Feist's work that provides this sentimental rating. Were this a new author's book I had chosen to read, it would be the last by that author I would pick up. That being said, if you love Feist you will be glad to see some of your favorite characters again. The normal attention to detail is there, but the stories do not have the scope of his other works and the plots and subplots are not of the quality that I have come to expect from Feist. The story involves Squire James (I prefer Jimmy the Hand), William and the crown's mage Jazharra involved in a plot on a jewel that appears every 10 years and provides the ability for the temple priests of Midkemia to talk to the Gods ( It is also believed to be responsible for all of the magic on Midkemia). Is it worth reading ? The answer is yes, especially for long time Feist fans. However if you are a new reader and are looking to try out Feist, I would suggest The King's Buccaneer or Prince of the Blood as they are both stand alone stories which will allow you to see if Feist is for you without having to dive into his multiple book Magician ,Empire or Serpent War sagas.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2001
The trilogy started with Krondor: The Betrayal which was taken from a computer game and showed all the signs of its origins.
Krondor: The Assassins was something of a return to form with a reliance on some of the more familiar Feist characters such as James and William.
However Tear of the Gods is more akin to Betrayal as again it betrays its computer game origins. The book is a series of set pieces much as you would find in a fantasy RPG on your PC. The characters walk around, meet someone, are given quests and then go and have a fight.
The basic story is quite good, but it needed to be fleshed out more with increased characterization.
The series does shed some light on some of the events in the Serpentwar Saga and for that I would recommend this series to devotees of Feist, however for the casual reader, they would be more advised to read the Riftwar Saga or the Empires Trilogy
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Feist is the most readable author in Fantasy, imaginative, bold, brave,earthy etc... I have followed all his books with slavish devotion and re-read most of them. However, this latest follows the last as a lustreless and narrow adventure story. I have the PC game and find the story sticks irritatingly to the game format of contrived puzzles, twists and turns. This book is readable - just - which makes it better than the majority of books. However, by his own exceptional standards it is rather turgid. As an author I would give him 99/100 and will accept this as a sub-standard but welcome interlude. Please Raymond - give us something more. Maybe it is time to leave Midkemia behind. Faerie Tale showed you could digress so give it a try.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2000
Firstly, I began reading Feist before he became popular, therefore, I know what I'm talking about. I wanted this latest book to be a return to Feist's original style, full of invention, great characters, freshness in approach to the genre and adventure. Instead, what we have is a very poor second, a rambling disjointed, unattractive story. It totally lacks excitement and fails to engage the reader. What has happened to Feist, he now produces formula driven books, lacking depth, imagination and charm. I hope the next is better - but somehow doubt this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2001
As a huge fan of the superb Riftwar and Empire books I have been very disappointed with the first two Krondor books, and this unfortunately was no exception - easily the worst three books written by Mr Feist. I found there were large illogical gaps and jumps during the plot, which may be handy when playing the computer version, but made me think "Why ?" To prospective buyers I say "Save your money" and to the author I say "Please go back to writing proper books, not thinly disguised computer game plots."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2001
As a fan of the Riftwar saga, this book, and The Betrayal are no where near up to the same standard. It is patently obvious that this was taken from a role playing computer game, with characters more set in their "types" of theif, fighter, magician etc. Part of the success and readability of the first works of his is that they were supra-types: characters rose above the shallow but necessary compartments of the role playing genre and characters such as Thomas became mighty warriors also imbued with magic, and characters such as Arutha had none of these traits yet still managed to become the lead character. With this new series we clearly see that characters have been put in neat little boxes and Feist rushed this out to make a quick buck.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse