Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
Gold: The Final Science Fiction Collection
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 April 2017
A great finale for the good doctor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2003
This book is Isaac Asimov's final (unfinished) collection of short stories. The subject matter is diverse, engaging and imaginative and this book is certainly a worthwhile addition to the bookshelf of any Sci-fi reader.
Unlike the previous collections, this is not just a series of stories however... Due to Asimov's untimely death, this book was left uncomplete and so the publishers have supplemented it with a collection of articles and comments written by Asimov himself explaining his views of various issues regarding science fiction and authoring in general. This might well of been an after-thought but this material is a fascinating addition and genuinely provides a valuable insight into the great man himself.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2010
Loved it! Only problem now is where can I find a sci-fi writer of Asimov's calibre now he's gone? Simply not possible.
Great story-teller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2014
A great book such a page turner! Some great short stories and some editorial pieces towards the end to pass on some of the masters knowledge and opinions. Very enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2013
I read this book many years ago and when I saw it on Amizon, I just had to buy it. It is as good as I remembered, and I really enjoyed reading it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2013
Not so Gold. Half of this book are short stories, the final one being Gold. After that there lots of Introductions to stories that do not follow. These are split into sections such as robots, galaxy etc., A bit of a let down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2000
This is the first book by Isaac Asimov that I have ever read. I suppose it was a bit stupid to start with the last one. I think it's really good, although the writing is 'simpler' than I expected it to be. I thought it would be more complicated, but I think the fact that it is written in a simple way is good, as it does not detract from the actual stories, and makes it lighter reading. I will definitely be looking out for other books. i had heard his name so many times, but didn't actually realise he was a writer, or what he had written. the one about Cal is interesting, in that if you think about it enough, it starts to get confusing. where did his intelligence come from? this is a good book and I would recommend it to anyone. I am not very far through it, but i feel like I have already read a whole book, although there is loads more to read, and i can't possibly think how much more he could write. When I found a list of his books....it must be at leat 100!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2015
Arrived in great condition. Lovely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse