Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2016
Very detailed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
This book for me has been a huge delusion, indeed usually I am very happy when I read an history book based on first-hand accounts, but here there just the accounts, and it is not just this, because the accounts are just on the Allied side, mainly British.
In conclusion here you read a lot of stories, but very little history.
If you want a good book about WWI , you can read the one written by Sir Basil H. Liddell Hart.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
Far too long. Badly edite. I.E. Harold Macmillan is referred to twice as serving as a military office before it states 'Harold Macmillan, a future prime minister . . .'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
After considerable effort, I managed to go through the whole book. Perhaps the most annoying obstacle during the reading is the poems that Mr Hilbert stubbornly inserts everywhere. I was stubborn myself and read them, but got fed up with so much poetry. The poems were written by the soldiers and people who participated in the events described. I think it was Keegan's First World War book which I read before this one and found much more entertaining. Martin Gilbert is much better in his book "Israel: a history".
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
Ex library book, rather tatty with some muddy pages- look like paw prints!! but still usable for what I require and it did only cost me a penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 1999
The title of the book should be: "The British at the war (and we have been so important and so good and we won the war)". When you read about this book you wonder about the other people who fought that war: what about Franchmen, Italians, Germans, Russians. This is another "The Somme" without the beauty of that book. If you are looking for a book about the British at the war, this is your book, otherwise leave it.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Very good in depth history and analysis of the causes, flow and outcome of the first world war. Something I always wanted to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2007
i loved martin gilberts world war 2 but this version has been shrunk down the letters are so small makes hard reading .AVOID or get a bigger copy
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
In depth history for the enthusiast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)