Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2010
This book, which I haven't finished reading yet, gives a wonderfully refreshing perspective to some of the major events during the life of Christ, which most of us are familiar with anyway.

Each little set piece provides a narrative from a slightly different point of view, which is both thought provoking and poignant (e.g. the story of the Three Wise Men is told by a scribe who accompanied them on their journey).

Mr Kossoff's writing style is just so easy to read, but I tend to regard him as an old friend anyway, having been brought up on his Old Testament stories and his 1960's TV series. It's like a kindly old uncle telling you a story.

For me, this book is a keeper - I'll read it to my grandchildren.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
David Kossoff was a brilliant man, full of humour and life. All his books are deeply thought provoking.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
The Book of Witnesses is a sequel to the renoened Bible stories by the same author.

Despite the fact that David Kossoff is by his own admission 'Jewish Actor'. He does a great job of Imagining the different accounts that many different witnesses of the birth, life and death of Christ might have experienced and so told us. Sadly [but not unpredictably] the book ends with the death of Christ and the soldiers being bribed to keep quiet.

You are left to wonder on the resurrection itself. A glaring omission for a book of witnesses to the central characther of all history: Jesus Christ
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
I had this book about 30 or 40 years ago and mislad it during a move so I was pleased to get a copy. It was every bit as good as I remembered it.
The book was in good condition and came promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Another lovely little book which took me back to the days I used to be glued to the radio just to listen to him and be amused by his little 'asides'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
I have only just received this and haven't had time to read it yet, but I remember David Kossoff from way back as being a brilliant narrator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
A real have to read great background reading for Unitarian students of theology
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
So glad to have the opportunity to acquire a much-loved text which I had lost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
trying to get this for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Very good storyteller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)