Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
59
Seeds of Yesterday (Dollanganger Family 4)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 October 2017
Awesome series's of books
Captivating story this set I haven't been able to put down
It's heartbreaking as well as a phenomenal feeling of wanting to protect them and have a best ever end
I'll let you know lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2017
I wanted to slap Cathy and tell her she was the Mom, not the kid. x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2017
good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2015
It is 1997. Bart has inherited a considerable amount of the Foxworth fortune after his Grandmother's death. Along with the help of his Great Uncle Joel he has used some of his money to duplicate the Foxworth Hall mansion around its original ruins.
Cathy and Chris, now in their early 50s are visiting Bart to celebrate his 25th Birthday.
Though Bart is initially pleased to see Cathy, he's long since acknowledged Chris as his father and can barely bring himself to look at him.
It soon becomes apparent that the strange, elderly and religious ex-monk, Uncle Joel, has a strong influence over Bart which Cathy finds deeply worrying.
Soon Jory and his wife, Melodie, arrive at Foxworth Hall. Both are now famous ballerinas.
As soon as Bart sees Melodie he becomes instantly infatuated with her.
Finally 16 year old Cindy makes her appearance. She has evolved into a beautiful, sexual, flirtatious young woman.
At Bart's birthday party, Jory is persuaded to dance. Tragedy strikes which dramatically changes the family's life and what was supposed to be a brief visit, for everyone, to Foxworth Hall, extends into something much more permanent. For Cathy and Chris it is to be their final home. For them everything has come full circle.

This is the fourth novel following the Dollanganger saga.
Like the third novel, Bart creates much of the drama in this story. He has grown up to be a very conflicted, violent young man. He cares only for making more money, his own needs and waits until he will have full control over his portion of the Foxworth Fortune.
Jory is definitely the shining light within the darkness Bart creates. He truly is an honourable, forgiving and optimistic person, against all odds.
Cathy does her best to draw Bart to both her and Chris but is constantly thwarted by Uncle Joel.
I think Cathy shows real strength of character in this novel. She's constantly trying to maintain the equilibrium when the siblings are at odds with each other.
Chris' love for Cathy remains forever strong and he is her rock.
I enjoyed this instalment. And out of the 4 Dollanganger novels I've read, this is by far the most moving and for me concludes their journey.
This has been a poignant series for me to read, combining love, drama and death leaving me ultimately feeling melancholy.
I'd recommend this to anyone who has followed the family saga and wants to know what happens to the only two remaining Dollanganger's, Cathy and Chris.
I don't wish to read the fifth and final book as it is a prequel and I've been lead to believe Virginia Andrews died during the writing of this novel and a ghost writer completed it using her notes.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 February 2015
The concluding part of the Dollanganger saga ( if you exclude the final prequel "Garden of Shadows" that was only part written by Virginia Andrews ) and follows the lives of Chris and Cathy with the children Bart , Jory and Cindy. Bart is nearing his twenty fifth birthday with Jory a few years older and Cindy still a teenager. The novel tends to concentrate on how Bart , now a law graduate , has apparently recovered from his wayward behaviour but his actions tend to indicate that this is far from the case and he has an ally in Joel ( his great uncle ) who turns up with his uber religious ideas causing Bart to become even more disturbed than he was as a child ( Religion rears its ugly head again ). Chris and Cathy are still having an incestuous relationship that I find disturbing especially as the writing seems to imply that such relationships are not as bad as most people think they are. I've only given the novel three stars as after reading I was left with the feeling that to condone incest is wrong and the prose should have made that clear.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2017
I read the books when I was younger and now as an adult must concede that they were poorly written now I've read them again. It's a great read but Bart's sudden redemption and Christophers sudden death seem a bit flimsy to me. Certain things should have been explored more deeply and such as Chris and Bart's relationship. If there be thorns finished when Bart was 11 and he didn't even hate Chris that much. He still called him daddy even.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2014
Beginning years after If There Be Thorns, Cathy and Chris turn up at the newly built Foxworth Hall and stay until Cathy's son Bart's 25th birthday. However the ghosts of the past keep them imprisoned in the Hall just like when they were the flowers in the attic. Great book and perfect finale.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2014
Good end to a great series. I could see one of the incidents happening a mile off though!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2002
A fantastic finale to the "flowers in the attic" series. The most upsetting of the four books and the one that really stays with you. The one bad point is that "petals on the wind" and "if there be thorns" are not as good and have to be read to really to enjoy this final book. Nevertheless, if you enjoyed Flowers in the attic and long to know what happens after then the saga is thrilling and exciting. But prepare for a major change in the attitude of the children as they grow up.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2015
Yet anither book that belongs to the set beginning with Flowers in the Attic. Wonderful read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse