Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 December 2010
I read this witty, well-written and moving autobiography in one sitting, then enthusiastically lent it to someone, then eventually had to go and buy another copy.

Tom Baker comes across as a pleasantly honest person whose formative years have been somewhat challenging. Dr Who fans might expect more of the book to be devoted to that, but will probably be gratified nonetheless to learn that he genuinely relished the role, and perhaps intrigued and moved by the insights into why he approached it (and acting in general) with such enthusiasm.

Recommended, just don't expect lots of stuff about Dr. Who - this is "behind the actor", not "behind the scenes at the BBC during the 80s".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Mr Baker is the sort of person you want as a friend, even though he freely admits to having none. In that case, you would certainly want him as a drinking buddy. The man sounds like he's lived a dozen lives within his lifetime, much like his most famous alter ego.
A highly entertaining read Tom. I hope the Honda is still in good nick.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
I wasn't expecting laugh out loud moments or the occasional tear, but this book provided both. Loses its way a little at the end, but I still recommend it very highly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
A must for any Who fan. Tom Baker has a great gift for anecdotes, entertaining and witty. I think the audiobook read by the man himself is a must too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
From a monk to a famous doctor. Couldn't put it down. If you like autobiographies read this book. Be warned though it is not a doctor who story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
A lovely book and a fantastic read, funny, joyous and at times bleak and sad. Tom Baker was "my Doctor Who" when I was a boy and was also very polite and charming when he met me and my late mum in Maidstone. This is a must read for all fans
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
I have loved Tom Baker since being a teenager watching him as the best Dr Who. This book of course was written a long time ago,but is a fascinating and very funny read into this quirky man.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
for young and old alike. A fascinating insight into the person and the acting world, as well as life 1940 to 1980's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Excellent book, the best autobiography I have read, have read many in the past and generally disappointed. Well written with humour, wit, modesty and modesty. What a nice man!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)