Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
32
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£21.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2013
i have the British Nature version of this book which is very good. However, this version tries to cover a huge area in the same way and unfortunately, it fails. Many of the pictures are poor and don't help towards identification. It's also very vague on distribution of various species and I've only been in Kos a week and have discovered many species which are NOT in the book. It would be better if there were several books covering areas of the Med instead of one book trying to cover the whole Med.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2000
This book does not cover every species you are likely to encounter but it gives a good 'taster' of most. It covers a wide range from amphibians to insects and is indispensable for those enquiring minds. The photographs are excellent and the book is very portable and user friendly. I would recommend to anybody with a general interest in the wildlife of this area.
0Comment| 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2009
I received a request from friends I was due to visit in coastal Turkey for a simple book in English describing the turkish wildlife. This comprehensive little book with clear photographs was perfect & much appreciated.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
A very good general book on the natural history of Mediterranean Wildlife. Specialists botanical books are available for individual Greek islands and worth looking at, especially for the island of Crete.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2009
This book covers a wide variety of all forms of wild life,but does not go into great detail e.g. pictures of different catterpillars etc. I found it very helpful in identifing most creatures, but some Cyprus wildlife was ommitted completely.Overall good value.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
This is a handy book to carry everywhere. It is comprehensive. The text is simple and the photographs are easily identifiable. This is my 2nd copy the other is worn out.
There are some species missing but very few.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
This is a very good book and was good value but it is misleadingly titled as a " complete guide..." There is a subtext on the cover explaining that it refers to the more commonly encountered species but it is pretty difficult to read this when buying online and even when I had the book in my hands it wasn't until I found species missing that I noticed it. I understand it may be difficult to included everything in a volume this size but I would have preferred the option of smaller pictures and/or separate volumes for animals and plants which were then more comprehensive in terms actual species. However, as it stands it is still a very good book and worth taking on a Mediterranean holiday.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
I had a look at this book before purchasing it, as it was in the library of a nature holiday company. I find the use of photographs of birds and plants very good and help with recognition, in many cases it is easier than the plant or bird drawings in the more usual nature guides.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
My two Canadian nephews will be living in France for ten months, attending primary school in a beautiful village of the Provence. They are passionate nature chaps and love hunting lizards and snakes. This book provides them a broad understanding of their surroundings, and their parents said they love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
WANTED TO IDENTIFY SOME CREATURES I HAD SEEN AND FOUND WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR
IN THIS BOOK EASILY. USEFUL TO CARRY WITH YOU FOR QUICK IDENTIFICATION OF
FLORA AND FAUNA WHEN OUT AND ABOUT.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)