Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 2 October 2015
Good read, even though I'm not a big cricket fan. Just wanted to know more about the man. It's quite frank and very interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2011
Purchased this hardback book (along with another 2 for a total price inc p&p of £8.43) for the wife. All 3 described as 'nearly new' and I can only say that they must have only been read once. The quality is excellent. Would not hesitate to buy again. 3 suppliers (Julies Bookshop, Bookdonors & The Book Factory) all deserve 5 stars. No problems with Amazon either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2017
Husband loved this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2014
was quite a good read for a second hand book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2013
this book is just what i expected.its a good insight to the great man.
with serious mixed with humourits very entertaining
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2001
The only english spinner of the last ten years worthy of the name shows his talent for writing nearly matches his talent for bowling. An excellent, funny book, with an element of reflection on his mistakes of the past. Overall, a very entertaining read on one of crickets few characters
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2014
Having seen Phil Tufnell over the years through the media, I saw this autobiography and thought I might like reading his life story. However, the fun loving sportsman/tv personality comes across in this book as being a total selfish self pitying near alcoholic. Yes there are some amusing parts, nothing that I would call funny, but maybe I was missing the humor due to being bored by the rest of the books "Whoa is me, poor old picked on Tuffers " attitude that goes through this book from pretty much the first page. In truth, we love to have a naughty rebel character who has talent to ruffle the feathers, ok so them being sidelined is probably something we feel adds to their rebelious status. Bring him back, he shows his talent, suddenly he is the peoples champion. The only trouble is, when this happens, the last thing they should do is to write a book and start moaning about being the outcast. What I found was you could almost see Tufnell winking as he pleaded his "innocence". Don't read this book if you want to preserve your view of Tufnell as a lad or one of the boys/cheeky chappy who has talent...Because scratch the surface (Or more aptly turn the pages) and you'll find a self justifying drinker who feels hard done by, yet amazingly he's not to blame...He's just "Having a laugh" its the powers that be's fault. Trust me, I am never on the side of authority, but they can't ALWAYS be wrong can they...nope its Tufnell like it or not
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 1999
This book is very much to do with Tufnell the man. His candid acceptance of the fact that he can be a complete prat on ocassion is interwoven fairly seamlessly with cricket anecdotes and contemporary stories. Its also very funny in places, not least of all when he makes jokes at his own expense. "lend me your brain, Tufnell, I'm building an idiot" is a memorable gag and he agrees. The story is written very much from his own perspective and hopefully is true in every respect. If it is, it commands sympathy for the way he has been dumped on by certain individuals, not least his second wife,who won't let him see his daughter. It would be interesting to read her story too and to figure out the truth from that. Also, his difficulty with Illingworth also shines through and this was a period of cricket history that most cricket fans would like to forget. If you are a cricket fan, this book is a blinder. I knew nothing of Tufnell when I started it and I feel like I know him pretty well now. And I guess that was what the book intended to do.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2001
I ordered this book late tuesday night, it arrived friday (yesterday) morning. I was out all day watching Notts play Derbyshire so wasn't aware it had arrived. I started reading at 9.45pm and soon realised that this was a book I couldn't put down. The fact that my eyes were involuntarily shutting and I kept dropping the book convinced me to go to sleep some time after midnight. I picked up the book on waking, had a short break to eat some breakfast, forewent the prospect of watching England being hammered by Australia and sat outside with the book. I finished it at ten to one. I obviouly can't pretend to know PCRT at all but he seems like a pretty amusing bloke. I first thought this after reading and enjoying Postcards from the beach... Much of the book charts pretty unsavoury behaviour, the sort you come across and despise, but what won me over was that he doesn't make excuses. He was badly behaved before and after his mum's death. His description of his mum's death and nearly losing Lisa and Poppy caused me to hold my breath til the pages were turned. It does seem to turn out well towards the end of the book, he seems to become quite a nice bloke. It's an excellent book, filled with admirable honesty, much like Stephen Fry's autobiography. And inbetween the anger, frustration and general unpleasant behaviour it's a damn funny, detailed yarn, that you don't get in newspapers.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2001
Phil Tufnell has been one of the most charismatic and controversial cricketers of the 1990s. From his humble beginnings he tells of how he worked his way up to become criticised by his peers and loved by his fans. Anyone who has seen him play will have heard the cry of "Super Phil Tufnell" ring out every time he got the ball in his hand or came out to bat at number 11. One of England's most gifted spinners of the decade reveals all in a completely open and honest fashion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)