Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2017
In a word "outstanding". An honest, humble, candid read.
Self destructive tendencies are not just for the down & outs of society. The demon drink or any other addiction will consume and destroy you. I applaud Mr Adams for gaining the strength and finding redemption.

Paul Merson - ?
George Best - lost his battle
Jimmy Greaves - won it
Paul Gascoigne - still fighting it
Diego Armando Maradonna - lost his battle
Dr Socrates - lost his battle

Anyway, great book, well written & insightful. Should be compulsory in grade 2 English lessons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
Very disappointed. Lines of print missing on several pages at the beginning of the first chapter. Was able to pick up "jist" so didn't return the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
This is an excellent book, which I read in one sitting! I'm not an Arsenal fan or a particular Tony Adams fan (although he is in my all time dream team). The book paints a great incite into football at that time and demonstrated what a sand up guy Tony is! One if the best autobiographies I have read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
Very good read nice for honesty in football tony Adams tells it with flaws and all.good luck in future career
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Great book by tony Adams ..!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Very pleased with the product and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2007
I've always been a Tottenham fan and you can probably understand that i was a bit skeptical using up my quality time in reading the autobiography of an Arsenal player.How I was wrong..very wrong. I always admired Tony Adams mastery amongst the famous Arsenal Back Four (Adams, Winterburn, Dixon, Keown. I never liked the Donkey chants even those by the Spurs fans because he a vision which even the legendary Gary Mabbutt didn't have. His description of his failings and how he adapted his style of play as per George Graham's edict was very interesting.

His candid description of his fall into alcoholism is the best part of the book and like his footballing attitude, he had the guts to move forward.

It's good to laud a player who plays for your favourite team but its better when you respect a player from the other side. That said, Tony Adams falls in this category.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2007
All that has been written in terms of the honesty and revelations are true, and Adams must be commended for the transparency shown here - if your going to do a book, do it right (It annoys me when i see guys like Wayne Rooney and Michael Owen barely in their 20's bringing out Books of their 'life'!!).

My only criticism is that Adams seems to be very arrogant, and I wonder how much of the book was written directly by him, and how much by his co-writer. To me, he came across quite big headed on many occasions - I would recommend the book, but I have to admit i believe the PAUL MCGRATH book, whilst strikingly similar in content, was a much better read, and a better written book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2007
A truly honest account of the career of Tony Adams including his infamous battle with the booze.

Adams talks openly about his addiction to alcohol and the effects it has had on his life and as such the book is just as much an insight into his off field problems as much as his footballing career.

A great read but it is a pity his story stopped after the 1998 World Cup Finals in France as it would have been interesting to read in more detail of his time under Arsene Wenger at Arsenal and to read about his brief managerial spell at Wycombe.Maybe an updated version will appear in the future?

For that reason i only give this book 4 stars rather than 5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)