Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 10 May 2017
I'm a huge Bainbridge fan, loved The Bottle Factory Outing, The Dressmaker, Awfully Big Adventure, etc. Master Georgie is one of her historical novels, and although I read it in a couple of days, I was massively disappointed. The plot and characters fail to draw you in and the writing sometimes just seems to be clever for the sake of being clever. I hope this isn't the first Bainbridge book you read, because it will probably put you off reading her more, which would be a real waste.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2018
A short book full of interesting characters and how war affects their lives. And how futile war is with no winners.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2014
It seems that before young men had digital war games and films, they had to go and seek the real thing. This time it was the Crimea . I can't say I enjoyed the strange entanglements of the family portrayed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2015
good sevice
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2015
This is an elegant novel written with amazing clarity and brevity. It is a story of love, loss and pain with which we can all identify.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2011
Book club choice. Not my kind of thing, so didn't really enjoy, although well-written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2014
Not a book I can recommend. She is a good author.
However. the book left me dissatisfied with my choice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2015
Fascinating mind set she had to write like that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2015
A wordsmith, humour, no graphic smut. What a joy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2015
An excellent read though not everyone likes the merging of fact and fiction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse