Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
31
3.4 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£1.49 - £29.18
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2010
One person commented that they were let down because this is not an 'Age of Empires' type of game. It's not fair to rate this game one star for that reason. You control a good number of units (that is- all the units on the map- of the levels I have completed so far) and with those units, using simple controls, you out fight and out smart your enemy. Simple. You don't build civilizations or bases- you fight. What I thought was good is that you can form your own army (choosing what type of units to have, how many, and what equipment they will carry) paying for it all by 'winning victories' but you will have to grind for it as this has an RPG element to it, though I think for a game set during the 'Hundred Years War' a little grinding adds depth. Your army also gains experience from fighting.
Graphics aren't fantastic but fair. Menus and options feel basic but can't complain either. Like I said, does the job but while I enjoy it I wouldn't have paid full price for it. Bargain if you see it cheap.

It's not Civilization, it's not Age of Empires and it's not Command and Conquer- think Braveheart but without Mel Gibson winning every single battle. If you're not sure watch 'TIME COMMANDERS'. It's that but on console.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
If your expecting a "Total War" type game for the PS3 then forget it. This game is not as technical nor graphically beautiful like the total war series. Most of the time you will be zoomed out so you will not see great unit detail. As a strategy game it is ok but it looks more like a game from the PS1 era, the way the units move is reminiscent of battle games like Warhammer shadow of the horned rat. It is necessary to grin the sub missions continually to improve your units and gain cash. This does become a chore. There are easily obtainable trophies for this game so as well as strategy buffs this will be one for trophy hunters.
In game you will find the action is less from fluid like the total war games as you must constantly micro manage each unit to deal with the changing situations. All commands are issued on pause mode.
Some missions you can breeze through but others may take several attempts with grinding in between to improve your units.
The cut video scenes on starting each scenario of compaign mode are dull and grainy. Well done if you manage to watch them all before pressing the skip button.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
It's hard to give a decent account of this game as a simple mark out of five as its value seems to be of a kind that I've never seen on any console. This certainly won't be to everyone's taste, but there's undoubtedly a very deep strategy game at its core, one that I'd guess would satisfy the most serious of strategy gamers. But that's at its core.

Two obvious problems stand out to me: the first is the manner in which you have to a adjust your armies. It is truly baffling as to how it's been designed, they've overlooked the obvious, the simple and effective in favour of something that feels akin to having to leave the room and then return in order to see what changes you've made. Strategy games are about decisions - management if you like, so to create an interface of such awkwardness is of huge and unforgivable detriment and hugely affects the fluidity of play.

The other problem is that when you're in combat, there's no way of knowing which area of the battlefield the screen is displaying. This means that you can scroll back and fourth looking for a single unit several times, which is more than a little frustrating when you just want to play the game.

These problem aren't something you just have to get used to either: they're fundamental flaws and present every time you play. Sure, you get used to them, but they're still a huge obstacle to smooth gameplay.

I get the impression that this game will only show its full potential if you were to play regular games against another person, the only thing I could compare it to would be chess - it's got that level of finite but almost infinite variety (if that makes sense) but I doubt it will be very easy to find an opponent on-line. Shame.

I'd describe it as rare gem that's caked in dirt.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 October 2010
I do like Strategy games and really enjoyed things like Kessen? This one has a tie-in with the History Channel, but this seems to be just a Marketing/Commercial ploy?

So there are video cut-scenes from the TV channel - but they are murky and really "generic" - they could be about anything and don't really add to the gameplay.

I found the initial gameplay confusing and it is strange that you are controlling a very small force, while the majority just get on with it?

Eventually you get into controlling more troops - but often I found that unless you do exactly what was specified you lose badly and there is little flexibility?

It may be that as you progress ,you get more of this, but I found the gameplay so repetitive at this point that I could not be motivated to play more.

I think the game is good-loking and the ability to zoom in and out is very good - you can go from a map like overview to individuals very quickly.

It's just a shame that the gameplay does not draw you into this more and there are other games which are more fun - this is a competitive area now. I may go back to this and will revise my review if I feel it's needed - but for now, there are other games calling to me!
44 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2010
The short annswer is yes. I was hoping for a PS3 game that could transition the gameplay of Medieval Total War 2 from the PC to the Playstation and they've pretty much done it. If that floats your boat then I suggest you buy it now!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2011
This is the best strategy game on PS3, end of. Its brilliant. Its not Age of Empires, not building this and creating that, just you have x amount of soldiers and thats it, its very tactical, and excellently done. Graphically its no Crysis 2 but the gameplay more than makes up for it. Buy this if you like Total War.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
If you want a good strategy game for the ps3 this is the one.Following the battles of the 100 years war between England and France this game is like the show time commanders and you get to take charge.You have to recruit units including Knights, Archers and Infantry and kit them out with a large variety of weapons and armour which you aquire as you progress through the game.You then play the great battles of history and have to be able to use your troops in the most effective way to win the battle, some of the battles are quite hard and if you dont use the right troops you wont last long so it means that the replay value is good and the game can be challenging.Troops can be upgrades with points to give them extra skills so almost makes it a sort of rpg, the graphics are quite basic but because the game play is very absorbing this dosent really matter.Shame we cant have a few more games like this for the ps3 strategy section, an area that is abit lacking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
As a fan of the Medieval Total War games on PC, I was hoping that the PS3 version of Great Battles Medieval would have a similar strategy element, but combine it with great PS3 gameplay and arcade fun. For me the game falls short, the maps are not as extensive as similar PC games, you have less units, consequently the game is less strategic. The arcade like play is limited and doesn't make up for this. Yes there are some nice features, being able to buy different weapons, and learn skills, but even after playing for a relatively short period they just become tedious. Do yourself a favor and buy Medieval II: Total War for the PC instead. Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Bought for my 10 year old son, as an alternative to the Rome War PC games that are not available on ps3. He was really disappointing with his choice and lost interest after an hour. We part exed it the following day. Not for us. Great prompt delivery from seller though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Quite good and engaging obviously there are tweaks that could be implemented around navigating around the battlefield in play but I think it was a worthwhile game and look forward to the next instalment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here