Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 6 August 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I don't have an iPhone and have no plans to buy one, hence this book failed to catch my eye for several months. However, on reading more of the description I grew curious so ordered a copy and am very glad I did. It's buzzing with ideas and, as a keen amateur videographer who has produced video footage for the BBC and saleable DVDs, I can appreciate and value its content, clearly written in an easy-to-follow style. The author prescribes a clear format for filming and structuring videos and it works: without wasting hours of filming useless, unusable footage they're quicker to film, much simpler edit and have vastly greater impact.

There is an emphasis on selling video which will probably only appeal to a minority of its readers - I doubt many will make a fortune from YouTube or be looking to sell footage to TV or film companies!

I think the sole downfall with this book is its title. The point he's making is that anyone can make video without having bulky equipment and a team of technicians and all you really need is just a camera-phone and knowing how to film your subject. I fear many potential readers with an interest in filming and who would otherwise benefit from this book will dismiss it due to its inappropriate title.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 July 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
IPhone Millionaire by Michael Roseenblum

The title is a misleading gimmick to make you pick the book up but get past the hype and there is a really good helpful series of film making information.

Contents

This covers every film making avenue with help and advice all the way. I found the text humorous but very instructional at the same time. The book contains simple but useful illustrations on storyboarding and setting up a project.
The author is very enthusiastic about making digital videos and the text applies to any filming device from phones to digital SLRs and pro type equipment. All the information you need to storyboard any event is here with lots of tips trick and 'how the big boys' do it.

I found the information eye opening and I have now got a much better idea on how to approach video and make it interesting and useful. This book has given me more ideas and advice than any other I have read. it really does install the knowledge needed to improve and generate ideas.
Highly recommended for any filming device despite the IPhone title. With the advent of video enabled DSLR cameras this book is a brilliant and thought provoking treasure trove of information and ideas. I wish all photographic and technical books used this approach. Michael Roseenblum is a master of the art and it comes through in the book. You can't go wrong here ! just buy it and enjoy.

The associated web site is excellent to. I now know how to go about filming with my DSLR and phone thanks to this little book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 26 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Micheal Rosenblum is the guy behind The Guardian Newspaper Media Academy, and the New York Video School. It is worth googling those before buying this book, as they have examples of the kind of stuff this book will teach. If you fancy the New York video school's online courses, then you're in luck, as page 214 of the book gives you a code for a free 2 month membership.

Ok, that's the freebies and links over with. Into the meat: the book itself.

The author tells us that in the original pitch, the book was going to be called `Suicide to Success'. Well, that would be a more suitable title, as it implies the content of the book better...

This is not an IPhone specific book: it's about video production on the cheap with just about anything; Android, video cam, DSLR, whatever. Secondly, the book contains a lot of biography/history and business perspective. In fact, the first quarter of the book is all history and author back story. But it works.

The object of the preamble is to show you that video production and distribution used to be hard, but that is no longer the case. Advertising revenues, and therefore production values used to be prohibitive when there were only three channels in each of the UK and US, but with the proliferation of channels (including internet), the demand for quick, cheap video is now massive.

This is the core message of the book: video production can be hugely simplified because (a) now you need only one person, camera and a laptop, instead of a TV crew, an editing suite and a satellite connection, and (b) required production values have gone down, driven by increased competition/falling advertising revenues, so you no longer need pro equipment (at least, not for most channels).
Sure, the book is geared towards producing Short Form, Reality TV, Fly on the Wall Documentary and video for websites rather than Apocalypse Now, but that's where the easy money is.

As someone who has already dabbled in DSLR video, I found the book very useful in terms of simplifying the shooting process and giving insight in the way broadcasters run their business and what their needs are.

You are not, however, told crucial hardware technicalities that a beginner will face when creating the first paid work. You are not told that you need to use a separate sound recorder for most DSLRs (because their sound recording is far inferior to their video recording - I use a separate TASCAM DR07 MK2 along with my DSLR camera), or basic lens stuff like the need for a variable ND filter when shooting outdoors. The difference between interlaced and progressive video (and acceptable bit rates) is not even mentioned - this is hugely important if you want to publish on anything other than the internet.

There is a good reason for this though - the shelving category of this book is 'Business' not 'Digital video'. The aim of the book is to teach you the nature of the video production business, rather than teach you the technicalities of producing video itself.

And to be brutally honest, nobody is going to get an iPhone shot feature sold (unless you happen to be shooting at a current hot news incident), in much the same way that no wedding photographer turning up with an iPhone is going to get paid, even if he claims that 'this iPhone is as good as any DSLR from 5 years ago': 5 years is now a long time! Save the iPhone for your YouTube uploads and learning pieces. A video enabled DSLR or an entry level video recorder is about your minimum for client work - phones are a no-no despite technology advances because client perception is a big deal. Yes your iPhone is better than any studio broadcast camera from the 90's, but they didnt have HD broadcasting with home cinema audio then - they do now!

Having said all that, I would recommend this as one of two or three books, as it teaches you to be a quick and efficient video producer, as well as giving insight into what broadcasters want. You will still need to learn about your hardware and software: I recommend DSLR Cinema: Crafting the Film Look with Video, for Indie DSLR film-making on the cheap, and something to teach you the basics of editing and post production with your software of choice (Final Cut/Premiere/Vegas, etc).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 28 March 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There's a lot of good material in here for anyone with an inclination to make and sell video footage. You don't need an iPhone, though, and indeed would probably do better with superior equipment, even if only for ease of use rather than quality of results.

I wish it were more succinct. The chatty, anecdotal style is amusing if you have time for it but will get in the way if all you want to do is extract valuable advice.

Talking of valuable advice, this book is great for giving amateurs the confidence to go and get started but really doesn't go into enough depth for anything much more advanced than YouTube. For that, you really need to invest in a more serious book on the subject.

So, by all means buy iPhone Millionaire. It makes an interesting read and is likely to motivate you to make a start. Just don't expect it to turn you into a millionaire, any time soon!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2014
This book does tell you how to become a millionaire top video producer, director, and seller -- in the same way that owning a pencil and paper gives you the tools to be another Da Vinci. Besides the tools you need creativity, talent, skill, and lots of drive and luck. But I guess if this book had been titled "How to make better video with a mobile phone", it would not have sold as well.

So this book is a couple of pages of tips for making videos, spread thin amongst many anecdotes from the author's background. The stories are quite entertaining. And just one or two of the tips for me were worth the price of the book. I wish I'd had this sort of basic layman's guide to shooting video all those years ago when making home movies.

The hints and tips are worth 5 stars. The rest of the book is a bonus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was after something that would talk me through creating a quick video for my business website. Just a welcome message. The iPhone in the title attracted me since it implies easy and fast. But sadly it was like wanting to read the "Quick Start" guide but getting a big manual instead.

The book in itself I think does what it sets out to do which is explain all the technicalities surrounding video and getting your work "out there". But it's for people who really want to take their hobby seriously. And even then it takes a while to get going, the anecdotes are self-congratulatory and I could have done without them. I just want to do a one off welcome video and probably nothing else so this book is overkill for my needs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 September 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
It is always off-putting when you see a title like this - put together with the view to getting sales. Trying to hook people who aspire to be millionaires and who own or aspire to own an iPhone.. (Which you don't actually need..)

BUT the sub-title is the real substance of the book and it does what it says on the cover. I like the chatty style - and the level of detail. It makes the information and the pitfalls understandable - and it normalises the whole process so that, even to a newbie like me, it is not full of the usual anxiety of learning to do something new. It's like having a mate, or a really good class teacher, explain things to you as you go along. I found it very reassuring and helpful.

And the level of detail in the explanations - yes, it might seem like an idiot's guide - but if you are new to something that is what you need to get you started and give you the grounding and confidence to go out and have fun with it. I don't like being told what to do and left to get on with it. I need to understand why as well as how - and I need to understand what to do when things go wrong, so I can fix them. This book has that level of info and I think it is brilliant. And never mind about being a millionaire - these skills are super for just messing about with family and friends, and even as a learning tool: home movies with a difference, making up your own video stories, filming local history, school projects - loads of great things to do - and it is an opportunity for FUN! Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 January 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The title of this book does it no service at all. I doubt very much that anyone is going to make a million of any currency just using an iPhone camera. indeed, if you read the book you will see that the use of the iPhone element is somewhat restricted to the production of a sample rather than just the whole product.
That slight criticism aside, the book itself is an excellent read, and is a very well thought out essay on the media industry; television and society. It is also a mini course in camera use and even has a short membership of the New York Video School, so you get your money's worth just for that!
As the author of this book has been around for a good while now, he is able to take a look back at how the industry has developed, and has a lot of interesting things to say about television, consumerism and many things American.
What he has to say is often interesting, and is peppered throughout with examples form his own life and career. If you know anything at all about film-making and TV production I would advise you to forget it all and read this book instead. If you have no prior knowledge of the TV and film-making world, then this is the very first book you should read.
Even if you only adopt the 10 second 'rule' for filming that he advises, you will find that your own home movies become a lot more interesting immediately.
Having been a tutor on a film and TV course in the past I just wish I had had this book around to hand out to first year students to give them a witty and factually accurate basis for the whole business Great stuff. 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2013
I bought the book after going on a Roseblum course the book is based on so it made a lot of sense to me. I can hear Michael saying some of the things in the book". So the book could save you 1000 GBP (though you don't get the personal tuition) but. all the salient points for making reality Tv programs are in there. It is not just (simple) techniques but a look at the whole TV/Video industry and why it is the way it is in the 21st century (it has gone though several revolutions in the last two decades) . The book is well worth having for the price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 17 October 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Can you dive into it - not really.
Is it worth reading - yes.
Will it be of use to you - maybe.

I could carry on like this but think that other reviewers have covered the ground already. The bottom line here is that there is a decent book in between the covers trying to get out. The question you will need to ask yourself is do you wish to invest the time in a buddy buddy book where the author tries to convey himself as your best friend?

I have to be honest that this approach bores the arse off me which means that I must be knocking on as I find it puerile!

The lack of a contents list and index worth reading takes it down another maker - which should give it three stars overall. But, as mentioned if you can get passed the conversational style, that the author used to be a junk food eating couch potato kid (more or less his words) and we should take inspiration from him then this could be the book your looking for.

I think Michael Rosenblum needs to sack his editor and publisher and re-release the book for it to fulfil its potential. Still, there is some great content to be found inside and some straight forward advice but it could have been a great book not just a good book with issues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here