Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 5 March 2012
I bought this to use as an occasional mount for a mobile phone in my car. I don't need to use it every day, just a few times a week when I make use of Google Navigation on my Android phone.

The dashboard piece is tiny - literally the size of my little finger nail. In black it is also quite unobtrusive, with just the shiny gold coloured magnet standing out. It has a very low profile and so does not protrude far from the dashboard.

I mounted it on the air vent housing, next to the open/close slider. The vertical space was no more than about 18mm and this fitted in fine. The stickiness of the backing pad is strong, and it adhered well, with no fuss.

The device piece is even smaller - a very low profile dome, perhaps 2mm deep. Not wanting to stick this directly on the back of my phone I chose to buy a cheap hard case and stick the piece on this. Sadly, the backing pad didn't want to adhere to the case at all! I'm not sure why, but it just wouldn't play. A drip of superglue fixed that problem...

Now my phone (in it's hard case) clicks straight into place on the dashboard mount. Once attached it is held in place with plenty of force. There is no sign of it slipping off or coming loose at all, even on quite bumpy and twisty roads. I haven't tried any violent manoeuvres with the phone attached (and don't intend to) but for normal use the connection seems plenty strong enough.

The only slight irritation is that there is nothing to stop the phone rotating on the dashboard mount, so when you go round a sharp bend the phone ends up tilted a bit. Plus, on my phone the usb power connection is on the side, which pulls the phone down. However, I tend to operate it without the usb plugged in, so this isn't really a problem.

For reference, my phone is a Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc (quite a big phone [4.2" screen], although fairly light at 117g, plus case of perhaps 10g). The mount manages to hold this securely, with no drama.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2017
No problems with the stickiness for me. Adhered to my dash and won't budge. I even tried to remove it. As it states in the instructions, Make sure your dash is clean and smooth. I cleaned mine with the provided alcohol wipe. If there is any residue from dash cleaners used in the past it will definitely not work, And the stickiness will be ruined instantly.
The design of the product leaves a small footprint on your dash, but means that you have an ugly pimple on the back of your phone. This also means that it will never sit flat on a table again.
Also the quality isn't quite there. The gold magnet bit is fine, but the part that attaches to your phone just looks cheap, mine is all off centre with a poor finish.
Overall the product works well, and if you don't want a bigger mount on your dash all the time this is probably your only choice. but there are other options for less money. I'm going to invest in one that allows my phone to sit flat on a table and looks a little less obvious on my phone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2015
I'm not one for overly harsh reviews but this magnet just fell off my dash board and now the sticky adhesive side doesn't stick any more! I followed instructions and cleaned both surfaces with an alcohol wipe which is provided and let them dry. There was no fully appropriate place on my dash to put this and I checked a few of my friends cars and neither did they. If you haven't got a large perfectly flat area on your dash with with any so of grain or texture I wouldn't buy this product! My friend informs me that the air duct attachment that is available is brilliant though, it's just 15 quid more! I have no problems with the case though I think that this on its own is good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2015
Really good, unobtrusive and strong. My brick like Lumia 820 has never fallen off and given the state of the roads nowadays this is saying something! Just make sure that you clean the surfaces properly and also measure the distance to other buttons etc to make sure that when your phone / satnav etc is on it, they don't impact the other controls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2012
Well not much to say except....WOW!

This thunk is tiny, but grips so well it's unbelievable. I was no trouble following the very clear simple instructions.

Found a suitable location in my car. Then attached the small metal disk to the case on my mobile, although you could stick direct to the handset, and then placed into position. PERFECT.

The grip is truly amazing. The disk SNAPS into place and is held in a vice-like grip until you slide it to one side to release it.

It held my large HTC One S until I changed handsets, and now my iPhone solidly in place and has never moved no matter how bumpy the road surface maybe, it's there until YOU decide to move it.

Keeps the handset in reach, obviuosly depending on where you place it, bit I can't fault the design one little bit.

Delighted with my purchase. My mates are impressed as well, haha!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2013
This product did not work for me. The samsung S3 was too heavy and the whole lot fell off the dash.

I went back to a product i was using before and has proved far superior. It is just a metal plate stuck to the phone.

This item could not hold a satnav.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2013
Excellent product which is very unobtrusive and which functions excellently. Despite its small size the magnet holds my smartphone very securely in all road conditions - some of which have been off road!
The product was delivered promptly in good protective packaging. Installation was very easy and within minutes was fully functional. A number of colleagues have remarked on the convenience of the fixing. Good product highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2015
It was a great idea and loved it for a short period of time. I just didn't like have something stuck on the back of my phone and ended up taking it off but It was handy to have in the car.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2013
I saw the Tetrax magnets when I was looking for a magnet to position my Bluetooth-ed satnav closer to my left hand for touch screen call answering. Although slightly pricey the design is really good,they're also small, neat and have very strong magnetic attraction. The makers not only supplied 2 adhesive metal discs for the back of your devices but also 1 extra metal disc and 2 extra self-stick pads if you need more! Drivers in my family will get them as presents!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2012
This tiny magnet looks pretty and holds well for its size. Be aware that the phone disk and magnet are convex and concave.
This allows the phone to be viewed at an angle,however it also means that the phone is proud of the dash and moves when attempting to use phone attached. The main advantage I can see is cosmetic and a small footprint. I feel that this device is expensive for what it is ,although Amazon have the best price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here