Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£15.57
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2014
Really good, it is well thought out the technology was well thought out and the aliens had alien motivations. A fun read with more wonder than books where star ships can simply jump light years.
The author clearly knows his stuff it is competently written the science is believable and the battle scenes are well executed.
All in all a good read
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
Worthy of 4 stars. Well written, engaging plot and characters that engage you and unlike some books where it takes a week to build a starship - the timescale is realistic. I also thought the overall concept and the alien motives were just different enough to make it all quite interesting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
I really really enjoyed this book, I don't think I've read anything like it. It's a first contact novel, but with a very true to what might actually happen scenario.

This isn't like your regular mil sci fi book at all - the cover and title kind of give it that vibe. It's something different, something better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
One of the best sci-fi books I have read this year. Well crafted, good plotline, decent characterisation for what is essentially an 'action' book. Concepts are interesting without detracting from the story. Worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 April 2014
Five stars because it does what it says on the tin.

Thomas A Mays has turned out a believable near-future scifi novel where the aliens are coming to call and our beloved politicians prevaricate. It is left to individuals to drive forward the technology to get out there and investigate what's coming. Together with a big finish that would translate to the big screen or a Sci-Fi Channel TV movie, it's mainstream easily readable scifi worth having on your Kindle. Not too deep but plenty of twists and turns as well as a future you can believe in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Hooked from the first page until the last, a believable first encounter book, hope we get the follow on book soon.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Really enjoyed this book, well thought out take on the usual alien invasion story. Good characterisation and a well paced plot. No huge surprises but a really enjoyable read. Looking forward to the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Fantastic tale about a multi billionaire who disagrees with the US government about the analysis of an approaching object that appears to be decelerating and should arrive in 50 years time. The government thinks its an asteroid or other natural object, the hero knows its alien and hostile. He sets out to develop the science and technologies to give us a fighting chance ... it is brilliant ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
A first contact novel which embeds itself in the science rather than the action. This causes the novel to be bogged down with jargon- not especially fun. Still, a well-written and obviously thoroughly researched novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
Intelligent, sharp, fun. The story hooks you in early and pulls you along gleefully, intent on showing you what's around the next corner. It might come over as military SF but the appeal is broader than that. I was hooked and devoured the book in a matter of days, and am now eagerly awaiting the sequel. It's almost unfair to talk specifics because I want you to discover the book's quirks and highlights the way I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)