Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 29 June 2013
The story of Uptown Girl, which is reminiscent of Austen’s ‘Pride and Prejudice’ in a few places, is fashionable and light-hearted. It is satirical in some places, insightful in others and provides an entertaining and well-written short read. Emma Hastings is a model from a wealthy family who finds herself on a journey of self-discovery triggered by a chance encounter with a rude mechanic. The glamorous, privileged life led by Emma is described in whole-hearted detail, providing a lavish milieu for the events of the book.

Emma Hastings is beautiful, stylish and not immediately likeable. Even in the long term, despite transition from vacuous Chelsea girl to school teacher, the heroine of Uptown Girl is still a work in progress (but aren't we all?). The supporting characters are somewhat hit and miss; wealthy Jason Rothschild who possess significantly less chivalry than he does money is well-developed and convincingly slimy as Emma’s original love interest. Similarly William Flynn is a rounded character whose tragic past brings a tangible melancholy to his persona. Emma’s best friend Celia however, remains distant and vague, a character who has recently lost her mother and boyfriend yet seems to recover enough to consider asking William out on a date within a short space of time. The relationship between Emma and Celia doesn't convince as well as others.

Uptown Girl is fast-moving and romantic, possessing enough pizazz and sparkle to keep the pages turning, however were it developed into a full length novel it could perhaps shine even more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
To everyone around her, model Emma Hastings seems to glide through the vacuous and narcissistic world of Chelsea society as if in her element. Yet part of her suspects she is capable of more than the petty one-upmanship and snobbery she encounters everyday in her privileged but small world. An aggravating encounter with a stubborn mechanic is the unlikely catalyst for a life-changing romance. Holly Kinsella's novella is a witty and fast-paced read, perfect for those fans of Made in Chelsea who vaguely wish that the group would even occasionally meet anyone outside their own circle. Kinsella also knowingly riffs off Jane Austen's classic novels, making this book an ideal read for fans of both trashy tv and chicklit. A short and sweet evening's read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
would have liked more on how emma was going to change her life but sort of finished when it got interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
Holly Kinsella's Uptown Girl, despite initially seeming to describe a world of affluence and glitz to which very few could claim to relate, progresses to communicate values applicable to all. The reader will enjoy the development of the protagonist, Emma's character as she struggles to distance herself from a seemingly enviable way of life. She is beautiful, wealthy with an influential social set and a relationship with an attractive and successful businessman on the cards. In a world so misted by pretension, however, it only takes a trip `south of the river' and into an acquaintanceship with the down-to-earth William Flynn for Emma to begin to realise the shallowness of her Kensington existence. Reminiscent of Jane Austen's Emma, this swiftly paced and enticingly glamorous novella sees Emma's journey from dissatisfied and somewhat arrogant socialite towards discovering herself again, and all in `envy-inducing black leather ankle boots'. A glossy and enjoyable read which communicates the importance of family and, ultimately, the redemptive power of love.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
About the girl who has it all - A glittering career in modeling, a handsome boyfriend and more Prada heels than closet space. 'Uptown Girl' is a Jane Austen style novel set in the modern, privileged boroughs of London driven by high society and the `beautiful people.'

In her reach for the finer things, Emma loses herself in superficial relationships and material possessions. By chance, she meets William, a grease monkey from the wrong side of the river with a tragic past and an unusual talent for reciting Shakespeare. In an unexpected turn of events, Emma finds herself thinking about him more than she intended.

This is a fast paced, uplifting read for all chick-lit lovers. It's romantic, warm and surprisingly funny. Perfect for a sunny day lazing in the park or in the bathtub with a glass of red!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
What has Emma Hastings got? What any girl would dream, beauty, a loving family, wealth, friends, men chasing after her. Yet, a chance encounter causes her world to slowly but surely change. Her life of fashion modelling, mulberry handbags, flash men and all things screaming money is hollow. Can Emma bring meaning back into her shallow life again and secure happiness? Sparky, witty and well written, I couldn't put this smart read down. In terms of criticisms though novella could have used a sub-plot and would have liked to see some of the minor characters developed a bit more. But don't let criticisms put you off. I found the other reviews on here very useful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
I was sceptical at first, I wasn't entirely convinced by the main character and didn't think she would grow on me. However, as the story progressed it became more engrossing and I couldn't help but be sucked in by the character's romantic dilemmas and genuinely laughed out loud in parts. I also found the `Chelsea' aspects of her life intriguing and fun, who doesn't want to read about parties and modelling? By the end I was well and truly invested in the story and found myself rooting for Emma, I will definitely be recommending this to my friends!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
Really nice short kindle book. Laughed out loud in a couple of places and ending will make most readers sigh and smile. I didn't particularly like heroine at first but she grew on me. Uptown Girl was surprisingly quite satirical in places. Holly Kinsella has clearly been part of the world that her character Emma Hastings inhabits, but she is also critical of that world. Parts of the story consciously echo Pride & Prejudice and Emma, but this is a strength rather than weakness of the book. One of the best kindle singles I've read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
Witty novella, which mixes modern romantic comedy with spirit and in-jokes in regards to Jane Austen. The author doesn't make her heroine entirely likeable but by the end the reader should root for her. Central character of Emma Hastings and central romance are strong (and final chapter is genuinely touching). Novella could have been turned into novel and book would have been stronger for fleshing out supporting characters such as the best friend Celia but would highly recommend Uptown Girl as funny, light read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
I must admit that I'm not really one for chick lit- I'm more of a thriller reader- but I was pleasantly surprised by this fun, light read. As a young professional living London who is never going to have the legs of a supermodel, I was expecting to dislike Emma Hastings, the heroine of this novella who has everything a twentysomething could ask for. But instead of envy, I found myself laughing at the witty one-liners and loving the attention to detail. Would highly recommend, especially as a holiday read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here