Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars24
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£21.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2014
Natalia Osipova is possibly the finest exponent of Giselle today. Her performance at Covent Garden in Peter Wright's production for the Royal Ballet, which was staged with care and aplomb by Christopher Carr, was an astonishing interpretation both in terms of technique and artistry. A memorable moment is as she floats through the air in Act 11 like ethereal gossamer. Fortunately this outstanding performance has been recorded on DVD in High Definition and true Surround Sound on the Opus Arte label reference OA 1144D.

The DVD is worth getting, if for no other reason, for her performance partnered by an unselfish Carlos Acosta as Albrecht.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Well, in spite of not being released for another few days, I bought this DVD two weeks ago from the ROH shop.

What to say about this production of Giselle? In a word, I suppose, magical. I loved every minute of it, and the soloists and entire corps de ballet were on top form.
In my view Carlos Acosta is at his brilliant best, but Natalia Osipova is something else entirely. She is quite an extraordinarily gifted dancer (notwithstanding her obvious hard work and dedication to her craft) and an utter joy to watch. In fact her performance as Giselle here is so compelling it's very difficult not to watch her.
I know it's impossible to talk of who is the best, or better than who, and so on. Styles and physiques being so different make nonsense of all that. I mean who is to say whether Cojocaru or Osipova, of the current generation, makes for a better Giselle? Nevertheless it's fair to say that the diminutive Natalia Osipova as regards her dancing and acting is a monumental force. If I may quote the Telegraph's reviewer Mark Monahan, when writing of Osipova in this production of Giselle:
"...you know you have been in the presence of greatness."

The extras on the DVD are well worth watching too. Some footage of Osipova and Acosta in rehearsals, interspersed with interviews with the two leading protagonists and the choreographer Sir Peter Wright. There's also a short film on the rehearsal of the Wilis, with some thoughts and opinions from a couple of members of the corps de ballet.
11 comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
It is a pleasure to watch this DVD production, Instead of the usual flitting of the camera from one angle to anther with each change of musical phrase, the camera remains on the dancer or dancers throughout a dance sequence, allowing one to enjoy the full choreography. This is particularly applicable to the scenes involving the full corps de ballet, where full-stage shots are maintained throughout the dance sequence. Opus Arte are to be congratulated on this production. As for the dance production itself, there is nothing I can add to the other reviews. It is superlative.

Octavianus
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
This may just be one of the best interpretations of Giselle ever captured. I've had a love affair with this ballet since I can remember, and have seen countless videos, DVDs, and live performances over the years. But Osipova manages to bring something completely fresh to this classic role: the connection between the impulsive, naive peasant girl and her supernatural counterpart is expertly told, hinting at her living character even in death.

A lot has already written about Osipova's airiness, but she truly does seem to have only a fleeting relationship with the floor, seemingly floating above it for much of the second act. It lends an extra ethereal air to the production that few other dancers today can emulate.

The rest of the cast put in strong performances too - in particular Giselle's mother, Myrtha and Hilarion. Acosta is not my favourite Albrecht but he puts in a solid performance and lets the spotlight shine - rightfully - on Osipova's true mastery of her role.

In short, I cannot recommend this more highly. Don't hesitate in buying this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed the live streaming of this performance at the cinema, so I couldn't wait to purchase a copy to re-visit this exciting performance. I have seen Svetlana Zakharova, Diana Vishneva and Natalia Osipova all dance 'Giselle' and yet they all make the role totally their own; each interpretation is completely different. N.O. moves so fast and I don't think I have ever seen a ballerina take the Act 1 solo manege at such a speed. She also jumps with such power, that she is in the air twice as long as she is on the ground. Emotionally her little face mirrors every feeling, which is heart wrenching at times. I love Carlos Acosta, he is a wonderful artist and partner and this DVD should be in every balletomane's collection.
review image
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Th
is is a DVD of the live performance beamed to cinemas recently. It still has that aura of being live, the camera work is excellent
and you won't find a better production or dancers anywhere else. Bravo!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
This is without doubt one of the best productions of Gisele that I have ever seen.Natalia Osipova is in my opinion wonderful as is her Partner Carlos Acosta. A must for all ballet lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Came very quickly but I hadn't noticed it was an NTSC version so I could not see it on my DVD. Had to send back unfortunately but had no problems at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
Natalia Osipova is the most moving Giselle I've seen. The production, costumes, acting and dancing are superb. Osipova's batterie in Act 2 is brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
Unfortunately the camera focuses too much on close-ups rather than presenting the ballet the way it is supposed to be seen, which from a distance. Dancers are trained to speak through their bodies and the way they move through space with respect to each other. We saw this production live on one of the days they were filming and were blown away by it. We then watched the DVD and found it a bit frustrating how quite a few scenes were ruined by the camera zooming in too much.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)