Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 8 May 2017
Another excellent crime writer whose series is hard to put down. Have read:
Chasing the Dead
The Dead Tracks
Vanished
Never Coming Backnow
Fall from Grace
Currently reading What Remains with Broken Heart still to read. Do not know if there is an eighth book but I will be checking!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
Not having read much true crime fiction I couldn't have found a better author to get me started. I love the characterisation of David Raker and admire the many twists and turns the author creates. Well written - captivating plots
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
I chose this rating as it's a very difficult book to put down , although as I did by mistake
you could read each book in isolation I recommend reading the series in ordering as you really get involved with the main characters and care what happens ' especially Healey
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
Gripping from start to finish, if you like books like this.
Tim weaver is a good writer.
This is the second book of his I have read under David raker series, will definitely be interested in more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
Another great book by Tim Weaver
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Every book in this series is a brilliant read. The writing is close, atmospheric, tightly controlled. Raker is a hero who can be hurt, because he isn't superman. Read them in order if possible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Weaver never disappoints!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
A gripping story. Kept me reading late into the night.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Couldn't put the book down.
Good plot, believable characters and well paced.
Good twist at the end which I didn't see coming
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
This is my first encounter with this best-selling author and I regret not having found him before. His writing is crisp and fast-paced with a clean narrative line. Once you lock into his story, which happens almost at once, you find it difficult to detach from it. He has you in his grip.

The central character is David Raker who specialises in finding people. He is a former journalist and knows how the Metropolitan Police function because of his many previous investigations, often proving an irritation to the cops because of his persistence in his pursuit of the truth.

Now he is presented with a particularly spiky mission---a senior police officer wants him to find her father, also a policeman but a very senior one who was in happy retirement with his wife in their isolated cottage on Dartmoor when one quiet evening he went out to the shed to get some firewood ---and never came back. No trace of him could be found, and that was a great puzzle.

As Raker starts digging he finds a whole trail of confusing and bewildering and even alarming clues. The missing officer, Leonard Franks, had an impeccable reputation. He was hardworking, a stickler for ethical behaviour and strict observance of police protocol. Why would he vanish like that? Why would he abandon his loving wife? Had criminals taken him in an act of vengeance? How was it that he could disappear in total silence in a place where a footfall could be heard 50 yards away?

What Raker discovers is a multi-layered conundrum. Remove one layer, you discover two more. Unsolved murder cases attract his attention. A disgraced police officer, Reynolds, fired by Franks for corruption, emerges as a key player is this drama.

Raker is drawn into dangerous behaviour, tracking the crooked cop, following clues into blind alleys. The author has a flair for evoking atmosphere – the streets of London after a snowstorm, a comfortable cottage, an abandoned mental hospital. He dangles clues before our eyes like bait—and we swallow them with glee as his spare prose draws us deeper and deeper into the mysterious recesses of the plot.

In his determination to solve the baffling disappearance of a universally admired and respected police officer, Rakes gets himself entangled and entrapped by the skilled manipulation of the man he is pursuing, Reynolds, the bent cop.

But then he stumbles across deeper criminality, hidden sins in unexpected quarters.

Tim Weaver keeps the ball of mystery bouncing with great skill, divulging small glimmers of information to keep the reader’s interest. Is Leonard Franks alive or dead? Is he being imprisoned by victims of his relentless pursuit of criminality? Is he on the run, and if so, from what? From whom?

There is never a dull moment in this crime thriller. Now I shall read Weaver’s other works.--Prospero.

Rating: Four engrossing stars.

bestsellingcrimethrillers.com was provided with an advanced copy for review.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)