Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 7 December 2014
As 2012 draws to a close Jim Davidson is waiting to go on Celebrity Big Brother in an attempt to revive his flagging career, his older brother falls ill, his dog dies and he learns via the press he's being investigated by Operation Yewtree. To make matters worse at the start of the new year, the day before entering the Big Brother house, he ends up in a cell.

Regardless of how you view Davidson it's worth suspending your prejudices and reading this book. First because in parts it's very funny. Second it provides an inside, and quite disturbing, look at a police investigation from the point of view of the accused. Third it will shake your faith in the 'innocent until proven guilty' basis of British justice.

It's written in a rather chippy style which can become a bit wearing and at times it borders on rant. You can almost forgive the latter given that Davidson was faced with some absurd allegations which the police seemed determined to pursue regardless of the facts.

Whether or not there has been an establishment witch hunt in the wake of the Jimmy Savile revelations is open to question. However, this book will certainly make you question the workings of the justice system and - although you may not be persuaded to like him - you'll come away with a new found respect for Jim Davidson.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
Such an inspiring report of unjustly being targeted as a perpetrator of disgusting things and overcoming these allegations. And doing it by the book. The truth really will set you free. Can't help but feel angered that those who made these entirely false claims will not face any consequences but this book certainly reminds us the world is far from perfect. And further evidence that accountability is not something expected of todays female. Tells us how we have regressed a lot as a society in some respects. But more importantly it shows us the strength of character that this "offensive" "racy" funnyman has beneath the surface and the irony of a world that exhibits the very unsavoury characteristics it attempts to slander him with. Shameless people almost encouraged by a shameless media. You're an inspiration Jim.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
I've never really been a fan of Jim Davidson, finding his stage act mainly course, but what his accusers put him through I wouldn't wish on anyone. Jim has written about it in a very honest and open way, and I am inclined to agree with him that the whole Yewtree investigation ended up as a fiasco. How can anyone remember in minute detail dates, times and places from twenty or thirty years ago? Women who tell such lies as were told about Jim in this book really should be ashamed of themselves. I'm glad that the CPS decided on no further action and hope that Jim and his wife have been able to put the whole episode behind them and move on with their lives.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
I don't care for Jim Davidson's style of comedy at all but here is a good example of how a witch hunt works. Clearly some of the un-named women in this story have made up or completely over exaggerated their story for the purposes of grabbing money from a morally inept press. At the end of the day it is he, though innocent, who was found guilty by the press and he who has lost a considerable amount of money when there was no case to answer.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
A fascinating read about what Jim suffered during this ordeal......He and his family went through hell, but thankfully all was well in the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
I found the book to be honest in nature and content and disturbing that the police force especially Yewtree branch very concerning and would hope that they are disbanded and the victims named to stop this vile conspiracy continuing for no more than greed and notoriety the book itself was an easy read and compelling
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
I loved the honesty shown in this book. The agony caused by the long delays to bring Jim's situation to a conclusion are felt by the reader throughout the book. What it was like for Jim I can't imagine. Love him or hate him you can only sympathise. It was a real page turner and well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
nice informative book Jim pulls no punches here and gives some idea what its like to be falsey accused
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Funny, sad, candid and heart-wrenching. Don't know how Jim kept going but so glad he was proved innocent.

Not the sort of book I usually read but can thoroughly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Excellent read. I believe this to be an honest account from Jims life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)