Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
47
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£18.72
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

There is a festival going on in Tradmouth and the place is packed with festival goers. A year ago a young woman, Jenny Bercival, disappeared and her mother has returned to the area to try and trace her daughter because she has been receiving anonymous letters saying Jenny is still alive. A body is found floating in the harbour dressed in Medieval costume. The young woman has been strangled. Wesley Peterson and his boss are investigating the case and the anonymous letters about Jenny.

Wesley’s friend, Neil – an archaeologist – is conducting a dig at a property which is about to be renovated by a local businessman, Chris Butcher when a skeleton is found. Ancient or modern? Could it be the missing girl from a year ago? Missing people in the twenty first century, Medieval goings on and a Victorian historian whose private life seems a little odd – not to speak of a suspicious website which has a large cult following – provide plenty of mysteries for the reader of this latest offering in the Wesley Peterson series.

I enjoyed reading this book but I had the feeling that there were just too many strands in the mysteries and the ending was a little rushed as though the book should have been longer – which is why I have not given it five stars. It is well written and the main characters are well drawn but there were too many characters which remained undeveloped – or that is how I felt about the book. It has not put me off the series but I felt a little disappointed by this book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 March 2015
A bold creation from an author well-known for slipping easily between two ages. This is a novel about obsession and fantasy. Ellis creates so many characters who weave their way though this novel, yet they are all fully credible. Gerry's family issues are at the forefront this time, but Joyce remains well below the surface and the reader has yet to meet her. The ending is stunning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
As novel #18 in the Wesley Peterson series, readers generally know what they are getting now with a Kate Ellis novel and The Shroud Maker doesn't disappoint. Ellis easily allows the reader to imagine the hustle and bustle of a busy seaside town.
I always enjoy Ellis's use of past and present storylines within her novels, mixing archaeological finds, forgotten manuscripts with present day sources to intricately weave the plot. This storyline took the notion one step further with the present timeline focussing on a computer game and how the victim linked with it.
The story itself focusses on two similar young women who have gone missing in the town, one of whom has been found dead. This happens at a time when a yearly historic festival is taking place, meaning a surge of incomers, the majority of whom are in fancy dress. How can the police pull together a suspect list?
The only minor criticism is this storyline has similarities with "The Cadaver Game" with the life imitating video games theme, but this doesn't take anything away from this really enjoyable read with a lot of twist and a good range of characters/character viewpoints.
With enough clues (and a few surprise twists) dropped along the way to keep the reader guessing, this is another well written who-dunnit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
I love Wesley Peterson and all the characters in the books. Having holidayed in Dartmouth (Tradmouth) I recognise many of the places.
Dereham (Dittisham) Totnes(Neston). etc., Kate Ellis is a wonderful writer and long may she, and Wesley continue,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
As with all the Wesley Peterson books, this has a good feel to it. Knowing the South Devon area well is very helpful. The book is populated, as usual, with real ordinary people you can recognise from your life experience. This all helps the book to be a good read and the twists of the plot work very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
I love the Wesley Peterson series and have ever since I picked up the first one at my library many years ago. Kate Ellis is a wonderful author, who creates believable characters that make you care about them as their life stories unfold from book to book. She juggles the modern story with an incredible archaeological tale that mirrors and reflects the plot, adding atmosphere and historical nuance to each novel. When my library here in Tampa, Florida, suffered budget cuts and stopped carrying the series, I was determined to keep reading them, even if it meant establishing an account on Amazon UK and paying extra to buy and have them shipped here! The books are well worth the price and, as they usually come out in March (which is my birth month), I consider them as my favorite present to myself! If you love to read an intelligent, thought-provoking, hard-to-guess murder mystery, then Kate Ellis and her Wesley Peterson books are what you will want to buy -- after working 33+ years as a librarian, I wouldn't steer you wrong!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
Love the Kate Ellis ( Wesley Peterson ) books and this one is no exception . I like the way it delves into the past as well as keeping to a traditional murder storyline . There are lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing . If you like a good murder mystery then I recommend you read Kate Ellis
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
Yet again past meets present in this tale of murder taking place during a medieval festival in Wesley Peterson's patch. the book follows the usual format for this series but is no less enjoyable for it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Another good book in the Wesley Peterson series. Good storyline and characters that you feel you get to know. Good mix of police/detective work, personal lives of the characters and a background theme of past times running throughout the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
I absolutely love Kate Ellis books and especially the Wes Peterson stories. They are easy to read with great story lines and brilliant characters. I don't know why nobody has picked this up and made them into a TV series but if somebody does please do not butcher them like the Peter Robinson books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)