Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
230
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2015
The Deluxe Edition is the one to get. I made the mistake of buying the DVD on it's own only to find it has the worst picture quality of a modern DVD release I've ever seen, thanks to Eagle Rock's policy of releasing all their SD material in the American NTSC system only. That abomination is featured in this set but thankfully you also get the crystal clear Blu-ray too - the only way to watch the show. A pity that there are edits here and there (the first overture is edited, the second missing all together and improvised banter from Crunchy Frog and Dead Parrot had been trimmed) but thankfully all these are retained in the two audio CDs which are exclusive to this set, which also omits most of the more visual filmed material, making for a much pacier show. The hardback book containing the four discs is a thing of beauty, featuring full colour photographs of every sketch and song. As a Python fan for nearly 30 years I thought this was for the most part a fitting send off to my heroes. Sure, the first half has it's problems (too much VT and Eric Idle-dominated broadway shenanigans) but the second half is pure joy. Michael Palin and Terry Gilliam in particular are on outstanding form throughout. Highly recommended (just avoid the standalone DVD release, unless you prefer wobbly backgrounds).
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
excellent DVD. The humour is still as funny as was all those years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
a good live show
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Hysterical
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Just great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
So funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Husband (huge Monty Python fan) and myself (a bit of a Monty Python fan) went to see the live show. This DVD left me with the same sentiments as the show. It's worth watching if you have previously enjoyed Monty Python and don't mind seeing the performers who are a bit past their best re-enacting their golden moments (and rather over-relying on the original video footage in the first half), but if you want to experience Monty Python at its greatest, I would suggest you watch their original materials.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
I went to two of the shows, including the last one which is shown here. The shows were great, and you should enjoy this DVD. However, if you want an exact replica of the original sketches, buy the original series, as there are sometimes differences.
One of the two down points of this release are the occasional edits. Why do they do that? We miss John Cleese taking Terry Jones' cue card and reading it himself during the Crunchy Frog sketch, and also a rant and discussion with Michael Palin about bad reviews during the Parrot sketch. The other is the bonus features - instead of the announcement press conference, we get tiny snippets. Why? 'Highlights from the 10 shows' is just a few celebrities or stage hands in box pop clips, NOT highlights from the shows! Only the production feature comes halfway to what you expect.
So great show, rubbish features. A wasted opportunity.
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
Great video. Wish I could have been at the show!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
arrived on time and is as advertised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)