Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
136
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2017
I'm a Jon ronson fan as well as a Frank sidebottom fan, so I went into this with some idea of what I'd get, however it passed my expectations and went its own way.
Weird but watchable, a really interesting look at mental health with some insights into Frank sidebottom.

Dommal gleeson, Micheal Fassbender and Maggie gyhllenhaal all put in great performances, making this a brilliant one off film to watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Good film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Seriously love this film. Good fun and very moving
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
Genius. This is the most likeable film ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
love the music, great off beat film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Great movie !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 November 2014
An odd and wonderful mix of comedy and sadness, absurdity and reality, playfulness and originality. The acting is terrific throughout, the cast creating slightly larger than life comic characters that somehow still feel real enough to invest in emotionally. It's a tone few movies get right. "Harold and Maude" comes to mind.

Jon (Domhnall Gleeson) wants to be a pop star in the worst way (literally). He walks around writing amusingly bad pop tunes in his head. Life as a musician seems only a dream when as luck would have it a band, playing in his home town for just one night, needs a replacement when their keyboard player goes bonkers, and Jon is in the right place at the right moment. Thus begins Jon's journey with a band of misfits, who may be geniuses or just delusional... or both.

They are led by Frank (Michael Fassbender) an amiable if deeply odd fellow, who wears a giant plaster head that he never takes off, even to sleep. His counterweight is the angry, punky and edgy Clara (Maggie Gyllenhaal), who is fiercely protective of the fragile Frank, and sees Jon's attempts to get the band to go mainstream as dangerous to both their artistic integrity, and Frank's well being. All this leads to adventures, changes, discoveries and insights that are often outrageous and darkly funny, but ultimately quite moving as well.

Also to be noted is just how great the music and songs created for the film are. They have to be "off" enough to be funny, but good enough for us to believe there really is something to Frank's talents. This is done very well, both in the writing and performing, the actors showing some musical chops, and the film creating tunes that, to my surprise have been caught in my head for days.

Indeed, the whole film has stuck with me far more deeply than I imagined while I was watching it. There's a haunting quality behind the humor that captures what special about "outsider" art, and it gives the film a resonance and gravity to go along with it's light-handed playfulness.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2017
I kind of went in not knowing what to expect, I just kind of brought it because it looked different and I went by the reviews on the front of the DVD which sometimes isn't the best idea but this was a total delight to watch. I will say that I've never actually seen a movie so unusual and yet so freaking addictive like this is, sure I've seen usual films but this has a style all of it's own. I enjoyed it intensely, and can some what relate to the dark edge the story has to it. I say worth watching, but not everyone will get it. Emotional, funny in places and just really interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
'De mortuis nil nisi bonum' and all that, but I was never a fan of Frank Sidebottom. So the first thing you need to know is that this isn't a biopic. Rather it's about Jon (Domhnall Gleeson), a man of little talent, who lucks into an opportunity to join a band of experimental musicians. Sound artists is probably a better phrase; they're mostly doing it for themselves, each other and a few like-minded souls. Until Jon, fuelled by their creative energy, gets ideas.

Michael Fassbender is in electric form, especially since he's stuck behind the mask, and Maggie Gyllenhaal absolutely nails it, too.
Inspired by Chris Sievey's papier-mâché creation, along with musicians like Captain Beefheart & Daniel Johnston, this is a darkly funny, moving tale of people on the fringes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Sorry am I missing something THIS REALLY IS THE BIGGEST LOAD OF DRIVEL I HAVE EVER WATCHED!!!!! Unfunny, boring, stupid, it was like watching a whole series of Towie in one go, this could be used as a form of torture seriously WTF!
This is for the brain dead who think it's funny to see an unknown person wearing a pot on his head going mental every so often but then if you like Towie then you would probably like this........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£13.86
£7.00
£11.78

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)