Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
589
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2015
I wasn't expecting much from series 9 as I felt 24 has fallen short of its usual high standards over the last few series. However, this series was one of the best yet, I would rank it in the same quality as series 1,2 and 5. Fast paced with an exciting plot. Jack is on top form, darker and more brutal than ever, he'll do anything to accomplish his mission objectives.
As a Brit, I really enjoyed seeing Jack running around London and using the Tube. I think 12 episodes was a good idea, it kept the plot fresh and on point. In past seasons the writers have struggled to fill 24 episodes with intriguing content, this left viewers with annoying and pointless sub-plots. However this was not the case with Live Another Day, every part of the plot linked together nicely and came to a decent conclusion.

I would watch a tenth series.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Live Another Day, despite its cliched bond esque sub title, presents a slightly fresher take on the old 24 formula. Trimming the series by half and setting it in London as opposed to sunny LA was a canny move and helps revitalise a struggling series.

The usual set up's are there of course. Jack is in hiding, tempted out by a terrorist attack. The president brings him back into the fold and off he goes on his one man mission to save the world. It's fast and frantic as always and characters come and go and yes there is a mole. 24 would not be complete without a mole.

It is this mixture of old and new that makes the series work....JUST. It isnt perfect, and isnt going to erase the memories of some of the later seasons, but it is a step in the right direction. London makes for a nicely gritty and dangerous feeling location. Some of the new characters are easy to root for and some are not.

Get past the coincedences of everyone being in the same city at the same time and there is some fun to be had. The action is brutal and in some cases quite graphic. The terrorist plot to start with is quite intriguing but then descends into familiar territory with various factions involved at different levels.

The much mooted series ending was a bit of a damp squib considering what had gone before it but Fox isn't about to jeopadise its number one character!

When all is said and done Live Another Day will stand as one of the better seasons. Full of action and incident it is worth a look and with only 12 episodes it flashes by in an instant.
22 comments| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Just one word can sum up this season of 24; brilliant. I cannot begin how to describe just how much indifference I had when I heard that 24 was coming back. Sure Seasons 1 to 5 were brilliant and had some of the most gripping and thrilling episodes of any TV show ever but by the time Season 8 finished I was just so happy this show was cancelled. Season 6, 7 and 8 were just so bad (I won't include Redemption as I actually liked Redemption). The show in Seasons 6, 7 and 8 struggled to fill 24 episodes with enough action to keep you interested while also concentrating on some of the worst side characters ever. Instead of characters I actually cared about like Tony Almedia and David Palmer I was forced to watch characters I could care less about and also watch recycled plots.

24 Live Another Day has the brilliant advantage of having just 12 episodes to fill while also bringing back classic characters such as James Heller (last seen as the President in the Dark Knight Rises) and Audrey Raines. The show contains a lot less episodes which are basically filler as the writers don't have enough material to go forward with the story. Nobody gets caught in a bear trap (Season 2) although the show does contain the obligatory side characters and plots that somehow become important to the main story.

Simply put the new format works amazingly well and provides 24 with a much needed boost. If you expect the new format means that this show will somehow become more realistic then look elsewhere as the plots are just as ridiculous as ever. But unlike Seasons 6, 7 and 8 Live Another Day is ridiculously entertaining.

If you lost interest in Season 8 and are wondering whether to begin watching again then the answer is Yes.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
The usual 24, brilliant and gripping drama. Whilst this series follows the well established route that Jack Bauer has trodden for over ten years, it still feels fresh and exciting. We watched the whole thing over two nights and were gripped right up to the end. Other drama and film makers should take another look at 24, it is still one of the best dramas available.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
As one of the few lucky people who didn't watch 24 when it aired on tv I bought the full boxest in February. And I binged watched it everyday with no ads no distruptions and fell in love with the show. I was so excited for the start of 24 LAD, and I was no disappointed. Every episode has its 24 memorable moments, the cast is as good as it gets and 24 has efficiently been able to move with the times with their story lines and improved CGI, however still keeping the old 24 grit. I really hope they come back for a season 10 because I can see a great storyline about to unfold which is teased on the special feature featuring Tony Almedia :))

The only complaint and I'm being very picky now is the explosion on the Wembley pitch could of been better visualised but still better than anything else on tv. I would hugely recommend buying season 9 and if you having got seasons 1-8 Amazon have it greatly priced at the moment. One world AMAZING.
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Fantastic. I love this series. We watched it back to back all day saturday. After the 4th dvd I shook the case just to see if by any chance there was another one but no……oh Keifer please make another series.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
I'm only 1/3 of the way through but it's clear 24 is as good as ever. When they trimmed it to 12 episodes it was said that they would skip time which was not a good idea as real time is what the show is about and I'm glad they stayed with it although the final episode is billed as 10pm to 11am but I'm hoping that is an error .
Jacks back and we've missed him . This is one of the greatest tv shows ever . I don't think any series ever made has delivered cinema quality action in such quantity on a weekly basis .
For the next series it would be nice if Jacks work over the last 8 seasons was recognised and he once again commands CTU. Here's hoping . The Bluray offers excellent quality so skip the dvd .
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Some ideas are just too good to die. That’s why, four years after 24 ticked out its final second, it came back. No, we didn’t get a full 24 hours (although a full day is still covered). Instead, 24: Live Another Day consisted of 12 episodes. This show still knows how to get your blood pumping.

Just like it’s been four years for us, it’s been four years for Jack Bauer (Kiefer Sutherland). During all that time, he’s been in hiding, trying to avoid the Russians who are out to get revenge for his behavior in season 8. However, he resurfaces in London, and his first act is to break Chloe O’Brien (Mary Lynn Rajskub) out of CIA custody. Chloe has become a wanted hacker, disillusioned with the government and fighting to reveal the secrets they are trying to hide. Jack needs Chloe’s skills and her new friends in his effort to stop a terrorist plot.

Yes, even on the run, Jack has managed to get intel about Margot Al-Harzi (Michelle Fairley, a terrorist who is plotting to take over drones and kill President Heller (William Devane). Heller is in London at the moment, to sign a drone treaty, along with his daughter Aubrey (Kim Raver), who Jack still loves, and Aubrey’s new husband Mark (Tate Donovan).

Of course, breaking Chloe out of the CIA doesn’t go unnoticed (especially with Jack’s lack of subtly). Soon he has CIA location chief Steve Navarro (Benjamin Bratt) overseeing his capture with agent Kate Morgan (Yvonne Strahovski) hot on his trail. Only Kate isn’t so sure Jack is the man they should be hunting. Can he gain any allies in his efforts to stop the terrorists? What will happen before the last second ticks out?

The producers claimed that this season was going to be different because it was shorter. Heck, they famously promised that the show was going to dump us in the middle of the action. I will admit the premier episode was definitely more ramped up than some of the old premiers, but they still took the time to explain all the new relationships and the set up for the season. There was just more action going on in the background.

I will give the producers this – I don’t think there were any wasted sub-plots this season. You know, the sub-plots we never cared about but were there to fill up time as characters moved from one spot to another. While one or two sub-plots seemed unimportant, they eventually tied in better to the overall story than the sub-plots did in the full seasons.

However, there are clichés on 24, and many of them were still evident. If you watched this without knowing there had been four years in real time between season 8 and this run of episodes, you wouldn’t know by any fresh plot twists.

But you know what? That truly doesn’t matter. As the season progressed, I was on the edge of my seat multiple times with my heart racing and the blood pumping hoping Jack could manage to save the day yet again. The show has always been a thrill ride, and this season is absolutely no exception. And there were one or two twists I didn’t see coming.

And the acting is still top notch. Four of the actors from the show returned (although it has been a couple of seasons since we’d seen now President Heller and Aubrey). They slipped right back into their characters as if no time had passed. The cast of new actors were absolutely wonderful as well. I do have to give a special shout out to Yvonne. I loved her on Chuck, and it was great to see here again here.

This season is available on either DVD or Blu-Ray. Either way, you get all twelve episodes in wide screen and full surround. Both sets include deleted and extended scenes as well as a featurette on shooting in London, one on how they used headlines to shape the season, and finally one on filming while staying green. If you buy the Blu-Ray set, you also get an extension to the season. With the price difference between the two sets not being that great, if you have a Blu-Ray player, that’s definitely the set to go with.

There are rumors that the producers are open to doing another event series like 24: Live Another Day. With how they left Jack, I’d say they absolutely need to do that. If it does happen, I’ll be back on the 24 roller coaster for every second.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
After 4 years away from the screen (and failed attempts at making a feature film) Jack finally returns in a shorter story (taking place largely over 12 hours instead of 24).

President Heller is in danger in London & Bauer surfaces to save him. But things in this show have never been that simple. The usual twists, developments, & edge of the seat drama seem far more logical and intriguing thanks to the tighter, shorter, faster pace of the 12 episode run.

New strong characters emerge, particularly Kate, a female agent with similarities to Bauer & a possible future lead character should Jack ever leave these dark days behind him.

Live Another Day has rekindled my memories of Sunday nights watching Bauer in the early 2000's, hopefully this limited series could develop into a new generation and relaunch of this incredible series which after 13 years is still fresh.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Utterly superb - best one (well I think so!) of all the seasons. So difficult to watch over a few days because it's so compelling. I don't know how people watch on a weekly basis, much better to have DVD or download to watch how many you want back to back.
Gripping, tense, full of drama and 'ooooooo' Jack is great! You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)