Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
52
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2014
I laugh so much when watching this (and the other seasons, apart from Season 1 which was weak). I am usually patient enough to wait for tv series to be broadcast on the free to air networks, but I couldn't wait for Parks & Recreation. I watch on a device that doesn't care what region code the DVD is. Extras are funny to watch too. And there is a Knope 2012 sticker.. where will I put it???
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
It's difficult to sing <i>Parks and Recreation</i>'s praises without seeming to exaggerate. Simply put: it's amazing. Amy Poehler leads an excellent ensemble cast, the characters of which are realistic and yet frequently hilarious. I can't remember a show since </i>Friends</i> to so successfully immerse me in the daily goings on of these people's lives.

<i>Parks</i> thrives off heartfelt optimism, near-perfect scripts and confidence in its aim to provide half and hour of light entertainment. And that's what it does consistently (seriously: season 5 has no bad episodes). Thankfully, it sidesteps the traps that many sitcoms fall into: instead of a dip in quality after 5 years, <i>Parks</i> is getting better every season. Perhaps this is due to its evasion of clichés, its refusal to follow well-trodden sitcom tropes, and a sense of humour that is never lazy or predictable.

I have spent some time considering the flaws that <i>Parks and Recreation</i> might have to no avail. Unfortunately it's such an underappreciated show that needs more attention. With only two seasons left, it's unlikely to take the world by storm, but at least those of us who've found it have lots of episodes to look forward to.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Fans of The Office (US) will love this Fans of comedy, silliness, genuine people, passion, fun and life in general will enjoy this show. There is such a sweetness to this program about a completely hopeful, positive, hard-working person who is constantly given reasons to give up, but keeps on fighting. There is no weak link in this show. I can't recommend it enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
Maybe not quite the sharp humour of the earlier series, there is a sense that time is running out and most of the plot lines have been fulfilled nevertheless this still one of the most enjoyable series we've ever watched and we will be returning to old episodes from time to time with a sense of nostalgia and a sense of regret that we will no longer be able to follow the lives of some of our favourite TV characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Sorry to say, I was disappointed by season five - so (reluctantly), am giving it 'only' four stars, because expectations were so high. I originally gave it only three stars, but - after posting and making a cup of tea - felt quilt and remorse.

It does not have the sharpness of humour, variety and surprises found in, for example, season four (which I loved). I would not recommend anyone new to Parks and Recreation to begin with this DVD - you will miss (and therefore perhaps not fully appreciate) the richness of individual characters, their quirks and the relevance of their back-stories.

However, this is a very good programme: the theme-tune alone make me feel perky and chipper!

If you have not yet read the book accompanying the programme, Pawnee, I cannot recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
What is not to like about Parks and Rec? I have bought every series of Parks and Rec available and have enjoyed every one of them. It's maybe a bit trashy (although is it??) but who cares, I could stay in all weekend and watch every episode back to back. It has also made me want to engage with nature more, which must be a good thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
The funniest programme on TV and this may just be the best series yet. Laugh out loud moments in every episode, and in Ron Swanson, as portrayed by Nick Offerman, one of the greatest characters in sitcom history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Still loving the madcap mayhem of Pawnee. The combining of towns has opened up another story line potential and the gentle changes of the cast is no bad thing and gives other characters a chance for air
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Season 5 could be said to be not quite hit those comedic heights of season 4 and the election campaign and the entire series best scene (on ice!). Maybe. It's just as funny but there is a feeling of change in the series as the stories decide to shake things up, move characters around, have their own story arcs and relationships. Even move location. It's more fulfilling in that sense as characters you already love and care for have their own dramas and arcs that can bring a tear to your eye. "NO that's sawdust and grit" I feel compelled to say in a Ron Swanson sort of way.

What might drop it a star (but I haven't because ultimately if delivers the comedy goods) is the conflicts and annoying and unpleasant characters are definitely upped to act as foils to our family of friends. This might cause a degree of frustration that anyone would put up with this sort of thing but that's the premise of situation comedy. Who knew government and big business could be so backstabbing and unfair and citizens be so stupid and gullible?

This is counted by the evolution of characters and the genuine good feeling you get for this bunch of misfits. Oh, and this could be Andy's best season yet. Everything out of his mouth is comedy gold!

As always, check the extras first for the extended episodes and after watching watch the deleted scenes which are sometimes (as with season 4 and Paul Rudd falling over on stage) even funnier than what actually made it into the show!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
One of the best US comedies of all.....it's hard to put your finger on what makes it so fun as it it grows on you little by little - from the catchy theme tune to the completely tongue in cheek characters and daft plotlines.....I love it.....!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse