Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
215
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2015
Decent film that tries to be a bit different, putting the main characters on the attack of the evil spirits instead of running away from them like in most horror films. Just wish the last 1/3rd of the film had been better as it becomes a bit boring and predictable towards the end.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
(basic plot outline)
Ten years have past since 'Tim' and 'Kalie's parents appeared to be brutally murdered,
'Tim' who had been found guilty of the murder back then in now released into protective
custody.
'Kaylie' (Karen Gillian) continues to be troubled by the past, convinced that the mirror
her parents owned to have been the cause, and that an Entity within it had orchestrated
the events of the past, she has frequent nightmares about what she remembers from
that time, she believes her brother 'Tim' (Brenton Thwaites) to be innocent.
'Kaylie' has spent some time tracking down the mirror, she has to find a way of proving
it's evil, she buys the mirror at an auction.
'Kaylie' brings the mirror home where she and 'Tim' again live together, 'Kaylie' has
traced the mirrors 100 year history finding bad things happen wherever it has been down
the years.
She sets up photographic and heat-seeking equipment to detect any strange occurrences.
'Tim' feels pretty uncomfortable by his sisters memory's and beliefs of the events of years
ago and her extreme efforts to prove the mirror to have a life and evil of it's own, and prove
it's sinister truths.
Believing they are in control of the situation they both begin to lose their sense of reality's
before realizing what is really happening.
The film frequently returns to their childhood and the events that lead to their parents death.
The Russell Family -
'Marie Russell' (Mother) - 'Katee Sackhoff'
'Alan Russell' (Father) - 'Rory Cochrane'
'Young Kaylie' - 'Annalise Basso'
'Young Tim' - 'Garrett Ryan'
There is much tension throughout the movie with one or two 'Jump out of your skin moments'
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 July 2016
A brilliant horror flick. I loved the atmosphere that was created in the whole movie and how they managed to keep the tension consistent throughout.
The film also has some very creepy and dark imagery that really sends chills down your spine. The ghostly images projected by the mirror are indeed scary and do give you an uneasy feeling for sure. There are a few jump scares that actually did catch me off guard and are well done. Before each jump scare there is a buildup of tension so that when the scare hits you, it actually hits you. The lighting is great and so is the sound and musical score. The movie isn't heavy on gore or special FX but that's not a big issue at all. The story doesn't call for buckets of blood anyways.
As an avid horror movie fanatic,it takes a lot to freak me out in a movie and this movie not only disturbed me it stood out to me.This movie is based off of psychological mind tricks and you will feel as if you are being deceived by the mirror.This does not get its horror based off of cheap jump out scares or gore, it messes with you so you no longer know what's real and what's not. While the ending was very abrupt,I love how the whole film mirrors itself in the past and that the two story lines interconnect.This may not be for everyone, but I can say that this movie is psychologically terrifying.
Oculus is a nail biting thrill ride which artfully takes us on a complex journey of the two main characters and it charts how their lives have morosely ended up at this salient moment in time. We are frequently taken back to the past and brought back to the present with an ease that defines the characters and the film.
Since a movie like art can be very subjective , so I can totally understand why some people do not like it that much while some simply adore it.
Overall an excellent film and highly recommended in my opinion.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 January 2015
NO PLOT SPOILERS

I picked this up solely because of some of the stars - Katee Sackhoff (Battlestar Galactica's 'Starbuck'), Karen Gillan (Doctor Who's 'Amy Pond') and a few others.

I have VERY low expectations from horror/ghost movies these days, and I wasn't really expecting much from this one either. Having said that, I loved it from start to finish. Well.... ALMOST to finish.

It starts with an old ghost-story cliché - the haunted mirror - but builds on it in a way that is totally original, and gives a superb portrayal of a couple of young people going head-to-head(?) with a supernatural entity, intending to destroy it, but without the slightest clue about how totally out of their league they really are.

The only thing that ruined the movie for me was the ending. They could almost have ended it with a fade-to-black and the words 'to be continued', because it's a long, long time since I've seen a movie that so shamelessly substituted a hook to a possible sequel for a satisfying. 'proper' ending. Shame on whoever was responsible for that.

Still up to that point, it's great. So much so that I feel bad just giving it 4 stars. Except that the ending is unforgivable.

Watch it anyway. You won't be sorry.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
After the pretty decent Mirrors, and the downright awful Dark Mirror, comes another looking-glass related horror film in the shape of Oculus. I caught the billboard poster on the Underground and figured it can't have been too bad if they can afford to throw some money at advertisements.

Shot in a combination of flashbacks and present-day narrative (and even a blurring of the two) Oculus sees (no pun intended) Tim being released from a mental institution 11 years after witnessing the death of his parents. Sister Kaylie meets him upon release and outlines her plan to destroy the mirror she is convinced responsible for their deaths.

Coming with a 15 certificate I wasn't expecting too much in the way of gore instead it opts for the drawn out psychological horror route which it succeeds in rather well. What I liked about the plot jumping backwards and forwards was that it charted the family's slow breakdown into psychopathy in tandem with Kaylie's present-day plan (again shot in the family home) to lure out the spirit, as the siblings also begin to suffer hallucinations. Or do they? Again what I thought clever was the implication that Kaylie herself might simply be delusional, of course the irony being that her brother is in fact the sane one. Is what the viewer sees a presentation of the truth or the result of the mirror, or even Kayleighs fraying mind...

It doesn't particularly break any new ground, but with a decent cast, solid plot and a decent amount of scares, Oculus is well worth a Saturday night in with beer and pizza.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2016
Oculus is a slow-burn, old-fashioned horror film. If you like the mounting sense of dread of movies like the original version of The Haunting, or modern-day chillers such as It Follows, RING (the Japanese version), Prince of Darkness, Insidious or The Woman in Black, you'll find something to enjoy here. The performances are great across the board, Katee Sackhoff and Rory Cochrane sell the absolute horror of a beloved family member slowly becoming something terrible. Both adult and child actors of Kayley and Tim are believable in their slowly mounting terror and you could not help but feel for them as they became trapped in the one place and by the people they should feel safest with. The story was structured well; the protagonists were trapped by their past and so past and present blur in the narrative, you never know how the past turned out until you see how the present concludes. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
I rarely give compliments to horror movies as I have seen plenty of them more than thousands so I have set a standard. Have been searching for a new horror movie that interests me these few months and this is the first one I don't regret to spend 2 hours to watch.

Watch it and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Brother and sister Tim and Kaylie Russell have been traumatized over their parent's deaths as children. Refusing to believe what everyone else says, that their father went insane and killed their mother and himself, Kaylie sets out to prove that a demon living in a mirror is responsible. A slow start but a good creepy and well acted film with a good performance from former Doctor Who star Karen Gillan in the lead role and who could become a future name to watch with good performances from former Battlestar Galactica star Katee Sachoff and a largely little known or unknown cast this is a genuinely creepy and frightening horror film.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
I'm writing this review Friday the 13th and i just watched Oculus at the cinema. The film is slow pace and will not appeal to fans of horror such as the saw films. This film is more old school reminding me of the horror movies i watched when i was a kid such as phantasm. The acting is passable and Karen Gillan steals the show as the strong heroic sister who will protect her family no matter what. It's an oddity in the horror genre as it's not really a horror more of a psychological thriller with elements of shock. One of the more interesting films within horror history and no doubt one that will spawn sequel's but perhaps with less oppressiveness than this film has to offer. The music is a great company to the cinematography of Oculus an uneasy sound that makes you feel trap in with these two sibling's and the inner darkness that we are all frightened to see.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
A lot of potential with the story that never really satisfies. Starts of slow and builds the plot well initially but takes far to long to arrive at the predictable unhappy ending. Could have been very good but failed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here