Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
62
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2014
So, first ever recording back home in Shreveport, Louisiana - sounds like a good excuse to raid the influences and heroes archive, and that's exactly what Kenny & the band have done here; and invited some friends to sit in, friends like Warren Haynes, Joe Walsh, Robert Randolph.

But, this isn't self-indulgent, nor is it another mere covers album; the tracks have been recorded "live" in the studio, the old fashioned way, on tape with the original feel & vibe of the tracks coming through, though with the KWS stamp all over them. Kenny even takes on a few of the vocal duties, noticeably on the Muddy Water's selections, and while he doesn't come close to the power, he catches the phrasing almost perfectly.

The Deluxe version of the album has 3 extra tracks, the latter 2, Trick bag & Can You Hear Me revisiting his Louisiana heroes, Earl King & Lee Dorsey & Howlin' Wolf's 300lbs of Joy.

In short, this album is as much fun to listen to as it probably was to record.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
Is this one of his best recordings? There seems to be a bit more variation in his music with added extra brass in some of his songs
but it adds a lot of extra light and shade to his material, this may sound a little surprising each track has it's own identity in which Kenny Wayne Shepherd proudly presents his blues influences throughout the whole album. A stunning album!! If you have the blues
or need the blues this one will definitely do the trick.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 December 2014
American blues guitarist Kenny Wayne Shepherd has done exactly as the title of his seventh studio album suggests and returned home, to Shreveport Louisiana, to record his seventh studio album.

It’s also a return to the very roots of Shepherd’s music.

Goin’ Home is a traditional blues album featuring songs associated with or written by many of Kenny Wayne Shepherd’s blues heroes including B.B. King, Muddy Waters, Albert King and Stevie Ray Vaughan, the latter a major influence on Shepherd’s desire to play guitar and in the sound of his earliest recordings.

But since those Ledbetter Heights debut days as an 18-year-old Kenny Wayne Shepherd has gone on to establish his own gritty and authentic blues identity – Goin’ Home may be faithful to the feel of the original material but that vibrant Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band sound is stamped across the 12 track (15 on the Deluxe Edition) album, aided and abetted by a number of guest musicians.

A punchy rendition of Freddie King’s 'Palace of the King,' featuring The Rebirth Brass Band and a great vocal from long-time band Shepherd member Noah Hunt (whose low tenor and vocal sympathies are perfectly suited to the material) sets the classy blues tone right from the off.

There’s a double helping of Muddy Waters by way of a great version of 'I Love The Life I Live' (with The Fabulous Thunderbirds Kim Wilson on harmonica and fat, bluesy solos from Kenny Wayne Shepherd and guest guitarist Joe Walsh) and 'Still a Fool,' featuring blistering guitar exchanges between Shepherd and the brilliant pedal steel player Robert Randolph.

There are also a couple of nods to Albert King – Noah Hunt and Warren Haynes share perfectly complimented vocals on King’s 'Breaking Up Somebody’s Home' while Hunt and Keb Mo’ step up to the microphone for 'Born Under a Bad Sign' (the song given a little sassy swing by The Rebirth Brass Band).

A further vocal duet is featured on 'You Can’t Judge a Book By the Cover,' featuring Noah Hunt and Pastor Brady Blade, Sr.

Elsewhere Kenny Wayne Shepherd positively shines on the slow blues of B.B. King’s 'You Done Lost Your Good Thing,' Ringo Starr gets behind the kit for the Mel London penned 'Cut You Loose' (a song most associated with Ricky Allen and Buddy Guy) and the band push the rhythm and blues pedal down for Stevie Ray Vaughan’s 'The House is Rockin’.

Goin’ Home is one of the best blues albums of 2014, which is fitting.

Because the current version of The Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band – Shepherd, Noah Hunt, bass player Tony Franklin, keyboard player Riley Osbourne and drummer Chris Layton (a 2014 inductee into the Musicians Hall of Fame as a member of Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble) – are one of the best blues bands currently performing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 July 2014
I may well be an ardent fan of Kenny Wayne Shepherd, but on this occasion, he had to wait a whiles while I cleared the decks of artists' albums purchased prior to the release of "GOIN' HOME" before I could give it some serious listening - and now that I have, what do I think? Well, it's just good old fashioned blues played the way it was always intended - great vocals, backed by a laconic, yet incisive guitar, all punched along by a well honed rythmn section - yes, as per usual Kenny Wayne Shepherd (or more precisely Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band) delivers!
From the opening notes of "In The Palace Of the King", you know that you're in for an aural treat and that is especially delivered once the guests start to appear - particularly "I Love The Life I Live" featuring Joe Walsh and Kim Wilson and, especially my favourite track; "Breaking Up Someone's Home" featuring Warren Haynes with some duelling guitars and interplay between the two guitarists, along with excellent vocalisations from Noah Hunt, all making for some truly emotive sounds!
And indeed, all the way to the end of this classic album - "Still A Fool" - there is not a duff track (although I thought that I had purchased the deluxe version of this album containing the additional 3 tracks, but had not, so I am going to have to get me a copy, and in pretty short order too!). Kenny is not one of the "5 albums a year" brigade and, although his output to date has been quite sparse, what he does put out, he truly believes is worthy of his name and, more importantly, of his fans time and hard earned cash
So, if you like the blues, or you like the blues with a great guitar or, you like the blues with a great guitar, great vocals along with pin sharp production, then I cannot recommend this album more highly!
BUY with confidence!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
KWS have exceeded even my expectations with this release with Kenny looking back to his blues (and R&B) roots to serve up a brilliant new album. Having recently seen the band in far from ideal conditions (in genteel quintessentially English Cheltenham!!) and heard a couple of the tracks , I was keener than ever to get my hands on the cd. I was not disappointed! "You done lost your good thing!", the BB King number is my particular favourite and shows Kenny's deft guitar touch excellently, but then the very next track "You can't tell a book by the cover" is an upbeat contrast again brilliantly delivered.
Seriously, for blues fans, get this album! You won't be disappointed. And non blues fans? Still buy it, you may well become a convert to this still young master blues guitarist.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
After hearing a track of Kennys new cd Goin Home on Planet Rock and seeing a review I had to have it. It like his previous cd but thus us fabulous.
Some great guests and a fabulous brass section on some tracks coupled with Kennys exceptional guitar playing make this a cd you must have if you like the blues.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This album sees Kenny Wayne going back to his roots and playing songs by artists who influenced his guitar playing, including Albert, B.B. and Freddy King, Muddy Waters, Stevie Ray Vaughan and Magic Sam. He takes a band including singer Noah Hunt, drummer Chris Layton, bassist Tony Franklin and Riley Osbourn on keyboards back to his hometown of Shreveport, Louisiana where they recorded live in the studio and were joined by guests including Ringo Starr, Joe Walsh, Warren Haynes, Keb' Mo', Robert Randolph, Kim Wilson and the Rebirth Brass Band. Kenny's guitar playing is very good throughout, he gets a good modern blues sound that pays homage to his heroes but isn't a straight copy of what has gone before.

My favourite track was the B.B. King song "You done lost your good thing now" - a nice subtle 8-minute long slow blues with both Kenny and the band in great form, closely followed by Albert's "Born under a bad sign" with Keb' Mo' on vocals and the Rebirth Brass Band - a real funky workout. I also liked Albert's "Breaking up somebody's home" with Warren Hayes, Muddy's "Still a fool" with Robert Randolph on steel guitar and Buddy Guy's "Cut you loose". I wasn't as keen on Freddy's "Palace of the king" which I didn't think was as good as Popa Chubby's version and I thought that all the subtlety of Magic Sam's "Everything gonna be alright" was completely lost in this version.

However, I guess I'm not really the audience for this record - I remember all the originals and, while I can really admire Kenny and the band's musicianship, I'm always going to prefer those originals to these modern interpretations. Three and a half stars.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
This is a great cd and Kenny shows off great ability playing rock and blues.this is the first time i have heard his voice and guitar and am very impressed by both talents.he also has Joe walsh and ringo Starr on this cd.The cover tracks are all great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
Kenny Wayne Shepherd is a really great guitar player and not too shabby a singer. This album is very blues based and has covers of classic blues songs. Also has several guest appearances by other artists.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
Another great album from Kenny, great talent and a great band to get to know if you are new to the blues.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Need customer service? Click here