Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 26 May 2017
Stopped working few months after having the TV. No picture on screen just a constant flicking red light
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
This is a good 42" Screen Smart TV by LG for the price of less than £400.
1. This LG Smart TV is very slim and attractive to look at AND it provides a picture which is very crisp and pronounced with the colours very clear.
2. Set Up straightforward - Follow the instructions on the screen to answer questions asked and then set up the Wi-Fi connection with your Hub.
3. Once on the Internet via this Smart TV - You have access to Amazon Prime (And then, If you have paid your £79 subscription, all its films etc are free to watch on your LG Smart TV via the Wi-Fi Internet connection.
4. Would recommend you purchase the "LG Smart Magic Remote" for £24 as this makes it so much easier to get around the menus on the Smart TV. (The remote provided with this TV is very clunky to move around the menus. (Important Note : The LG Smart Remote will NOT work unless you also buy a dongle - LG AN-WF500 Wi-Fi dongle for £20.31. It fits on the back of the TV via a USB connection and provides a Bluetooth connection to the LG Magic Remote.
5. Helpful Hint - To find the "Input List" where you can choose which connected device you want to use i.e .HDM1 or HDM or AV1 etc you have to press the Home Key on the remotes to access the main menu screen on the Smart TV. It is a busy looking menu and squashed in there is a small square called INPUT LISTS. Click on this and it will give you the options you need.
6. The Sound on this LG Smart TV is poor, especially for dialogue.
7. To overcome this I purchased a LG Bluetooth NB2540V "SOUND BAR WITH A SUB WOOFER" for £99, which gave me a powerful and excellent sound system that satisfied my ears. (You will need to buy an "Optical Cable to connect it to you LG Smart TV. - Different connection to a USB one)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
My little package and bundle of joy and entertainment I avoided writing a review for a while until I'd used it for a while I bought this along with the m8 kitkat over the Christmas anyway the tv iitself I was impressed really clear
colours rreally stand out net flix now tv bbc I player and much more voice activated and gesture control you have to buy a magic remote and camera for these features I've not used these yet but plan to in the near future the only thing I will advice if you like watching movies with a bit louder volume you may need to get a sound bar other than that a cracking buy I wasn't sure looking at it online but when it arrived I'm now really glad that I bought it
It has all the bells and whistles and plenty of hdmi sockets usb and other connection ports.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Great TV but stand wobbles a bit. Could be made better the stand. Apart from that it is a great TV!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Great picture, great sound.
EPG is crap and smart features are slow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
This is a good TV at this price. Picture quality is great for the price, the smart menu is well laid out. The one thing I think needs improvement is the Freeview Tuner menu. When searching for a channel, it does not show a small picture of what you are watching and it cancels the audio of the channel you are on so you can't even hear what's going on in the background. This may not be a limitation imposed by LG, but it is annoying. Buy the magic remote to go with it. That makes it much easier to select items on some of the menus and to input things like your wifi network password for the smartTV features. Don't bother with the LG app store. Most of the TV app stores (Samsung, Sony etc.) are pretty poor.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
Just got this from Argos have been using it for a few days now so thought i would review.

Design:Nice design with silver bezel and base.Not much bezel around the tv and the tv is quite thin for a direct lit tv almost as thin as the edge lit tvs.

Picture quality: Fantastic picture with HD channels watched the world cup football matches and there is no motion blur etc which people complain about. Tried a few blu ray movies and the picture again is great with no judder or blur, the dark knight looked fantastic and the colours look accurate one you fiddle around with the picture settings. SD channels are not that great but its not completely unwatchable like certain other tvs. Contrast ratio is decent but not as good as compared to the plasma tv we have in the main room but thats to be expected as plasmas have the best contrast levels with the deepest blacks.

Sound: Sound is decent but as with other tvs this thin you wont get anywhere near the quality of a decent 2.1 or 5.1 sound system which is why i bought the Roth bar3.You could get away without a soundbar but once you buy a soundbar or a speaker system you will think why didnt i buy it sooner.

Gaming:Noticed slightly input lag on the ps3 but once you change it to game mode its totally fine and this solves the problem.The plasma tv in the main room doesn't have a problem with input lag and if you read up on it the input lag problem is more common with led tvs.

Smart features:From the few days i've been using it i have had no problems and there is a number of apps available including youtube,netflix,BBC iplayer,Now TV and many more. You can stream stuff from your phone or tablet such as photos,videos and music with no problem.

All in all would recommend this as a good smart tv alternatively you can buy a normal tv and chromecast together :)
44 Comments| 94 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
What to say, the tv is absolutely bloody excellent, so much quality it's unreal. I just can't stop being impressed with the picture and sound, so many useful and simple to use options, makes it awesome to use. The wifi is fast and the apps are great, together with my sky package, iv never had so much choice before. The connectivity is just the best, I can connect anything I want upto the tv and it's great. The screen is big, and every inch of it is perfect. If your looking for a perfect tv? Then this is the one you want.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Got this from Currys as they sell the 42LB585V model, same TV but with the magic remote included, for £349.....
A superb TV, picture quality is indeed amazing, this is constant in all the reviews and clearly it does match my own experience, any HD content looks amazing.
The sound isn't the TV's strongest asset, not that it is poor, because it isn't, but the small speakers can only do so much.
The TV has every single connectors you could dream of, and is well built, frame as well as the stand seem to be made of brushed stainless steel, adding a feeling of overall quality to this good looking TV.
The Wifi is a breeze, enter your key and you are done, very strong signal enabling wireless streaming of full HD movies smoothly from your PC to your TV....the TV is detected strait away on the network, no connectivity issue whatsoever. The magic remote is a great little gadget, it acts as a pointer, just point and click, it is definitely a must have accessory, will make you life much easier.
Overall it is an amazing product, there is no way you could be disappointed with such a TV.
33 Comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
You will have to spend some time setting this TV up - turning off the 'soap opera' effect, adjusting the awful factory preset colour/brightness/sharpness etc, but after a little effort you'll have a good quality screen for the money. Then you'll connect it to the internet and realise LG now pump car insurance adverts into all crevices of the UI! You can opt out but you will have to give up the 'smart' features - iPlayer, Netflix etc. Can't believe you pay good money for hardware only to STILL be subjected to adverts. Is there anywhere adverts don't force their tentacles into?
33 Comments| 111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 167 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)