Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
43
4.8 out of 5 stars
Negima! Vol. 34
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.59

on 24 October 2011
Negima - the latest work from Ken Akamatsu (Love Hina) has been running now since 2003 and despite initially seeming to be another harem/romance manga like Love Hina, Negima has fully separated itself from that series to become one of the best shonen/action/romance/comedy manga's out of there. I have read a lot of shonen action manga's over the years, Naruto is a good series but runs at a snail's pace, Bleach got repetitive, Historys Strongest Disciple has dissolved into fan service, One Piece is too bizarre and Yu Yu Hakashu ended prematurely. These are all great action manga's (along with many others) in their own right and will have legions of followers who will swear that 'they' are the best shonen manga out there these and yet for me, Negima remains the most enjoyable, action-packed manga out there - why?

The set up for Negima initially seems bizarre. Negi Springfield (aged 10) from Wales dreams of becoming a Magister Magi and as part of his studies is sent to Japan to become an English teacher at the all girls school of Mahora Academy for a class of 31 older girls. Between his magic studies and work as a school teacher he is on the hunt for his father, Nagi, the legendary 'Thousand Master' believed to be dead.

Thus the first volume introduces Negi and he is as overawed and confused by his class of 31 ladies as the reader is, what quickly separates this series from many others is that over time, each of the 31 ladies (plus many other supporting female and male characters) becomes fully developed and integrated into the story. Many other authors would struggle to make each character individual and special, yet Akamatsu largely succeeds, hence why each character has a fan club of some description back in Japan... Many of the characters are indeed anime clichés, there's the 'bookish' one, 'the jock,' 'the reporter,' 'the computer nerd,' etc etc. However despite these clichés and the repetition of some of his older character traits from Love Hina (Asuna = Naru) some of the twists are surprising, the character friendships well done and their personal growth interesting. Following your 'favourite' character and never being sure what will happen to them is very fun, some of the most surprising characters (as in, some of the ones that would never see the light of day in other mangas) get a lot of development and chapter time which really helps put this ahead of its rivals.

Negi himself as the lone 10yr old male is the exact opposite of Keitaro in Love Hina, competent, kind, well-mannered and polite its easy to actually like the main character rather than face-palming whenever they do/say something stupid. Negi, his growth in strength, experience as a teacher and his battle to keep his magical powers a secret from his pupils is funny and genuine. The girls rush of affection for him (ranging from 'love-love' to 'awwww') sometimes nearly crosses the line into perverted and 'awkward romance' but is largely just played for laughs and satire at other romantic amines.

As Shonen manga's go, this has plenty of action from brawls/sword-fights to end of the world boss battles. All the villains and opponents are interesting and the story arcs which include vampires, a martial arts tournament, a kidnapping and the like are interesting and don't overstay their welcome. Unlike Naruto, Bleach and many other Shonen fight scenes don't last for several books making each panel critical to the flow of combat. The magical spells and the like are dazzlingly drawn and each is expanded in a commentary section at the back.

As for the art, Akamatsu makes liberal use of computer aided design for a large number of backgrounds which enables him to do his favourite thing - draw absurdly attractive women. There is a lot of fan service, particularly in the first few volumes, it moderates eventually and is mostly played for gags but still - there is a lot more than most Shonen manga (barring 'History's Strongest Disciple')The art is always detailed, interesting and clean, some drawings are very congested however with the text barely squeezed in!

Negima! Omnibus 1 includes the first three volumes of Negima including his arrival and introduction to the school, a quest for an ancient magical book and the arrival of a vampire on the school campus. This is just the tip of an epic book series which is currently still ongoing (Approaching chapter 350 now!) with each story arc getting progressively longer. However reading the first three volumes is probably the best way to start allowing you to see what you can expect for the next 35+ books)

These are just a few of the reasons I would recommend Negima happily to anyone. It's not going to please anyone looking for just an action manga (check out Berserk) nor is it just a magic/fantasy manga (Try One Piece). If you are looking for something that covers a whole range of genres, is funny, interesting and enjoyable, Negima is one of the best shonen manga's out there and I heartily recommend it.

Best for - Age 14+
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
Not only is this a high quality and nicely presented product, but the quality of translation is (in my opinion) far better than the original English release.

If you, like me, are a manga fan that wants a translation to be accurate and faithful to the original Japanese text then the Omnibus translation is for you. I have compared it to the original Japanese text and the new translators have done a great job of keeping the English extremely close to the original without sacrificing clarity or flow.

The previous translator of the Del Rey release of Negima on the other hand evidently had no issue at all with changing the script and attempting to add his own creative touch to the translation. Whilst this can sometimes add energy and humour to a manga and improve the overall reading experience for English fans, in this case I have to say that he took one too many liberties in my opinion. Yes, Negima contains fan service, but I never realised how many additional sexual puns and suggestive references had been added in the Del Rey English translation when they were completely absent in the original Japanese release. To give one example, there is a scene on a train in volume one where Negi is travelling to the school and some giggling girls ask him where he is going. In the original Japanese and Omnibus translation they simply tell him that he has missed his stop as the next stop is the Mahora girl's school. However, in the Del Rey translation they tell Negi he should have "gotten off" and then ask him "have you ever? Gotten off I mean". This is just one of many added sexual references which were not present in the original Japanese and yet were added to the English release. Looking back, the original release feels kind of smutty in comparison...

As a huge Negima fan (it was the first manga I ever read), I highly recommend purchasing this Omnibus. The translation quality is far better in my opinion and re-reading it with a more faithful and less perverted script was fantastic fun.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 March 2013
With everybody back from the Magic World safely, a new team is starting for the 3-A girls but with Negi busy with his plan to stop the collapse of the other world, a new and surprising substitute teacher is taking the class. As the girls get used to the real world once again they find Negi is increased responsibilities mean that he cannot spend as much time with them as they would like and some of the girls who had been left on Earth want to get in on the fun.

This thirty-seventh volume and penultimate volume of the 'Negima!' manga sees the series move away from the epic battles to the lighter harem comedy of the series' first couple of volumes. While I still love the series and there are some very nice scenes in this volume, even I will admit that from this volume on 'Negima!' is a little disappointing when compared to what came before. While there is still a lot of very nice comedy throughout this volume an at least one decent fight, the change in tone was a little jarring for some. The volume does give a hint of what could have happened with the series had it continued with Negi revealing the details of his far reaching plan to save the Magic World and there are a couple of nicely emotional moments included in the volume as well.

The volume includes the usual extras such as fan art, translation notes and the like.

Although I personally still enjoyed this volume and consider the series as a whole to be one of my favourite works of fiction, I know some fans were very disillusioned with the series due to this and the final volume.

While not anywhere near as good as some of the volumes that have come before, I still found this penultimate volume of 'Negima!' to be entertaining and I would give it a solid four stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 November 2012
Ten year old wizard Negi Springfield has graduated top of his class from his magic school in Wales. In order to complete his training and become a fully-fledged Magister Magi like his famous father he must now teach a class at Mahora Academy, an all-girls school in Japan, without anyone discovering that he is a wizard. As he deal with both his own problems as well as those of his students he quickly discovers that his class and the school itself aren't quite as normal as they first appear.

'Negima!' is a brilliant series that is easily my all-time favourite manga. This omnibus contains the first three volumes of the series and I must say that it was very enjoyable to read the early parts of the series after reading through the entire series as it is nice to see how much the series and the characters have developed over the years. The original Del Rey release of these volumes was quite infamous for the poor translation and this omnibus retranslates these volumes to be much better, although there are still a few minor issues here and there.

The first volume in this omnibus is an introduction for the characters, allowing us to see how Negi deals with his first few weeks as a teacher and introduces the various students. The volume doesn't have much in the way of plot but it does lay the groundwork for the series and has some foreshadowing of future developments.

The second volume consists mostly of the Library Island arc where the Baka Rangers, the five worst students in the class, search for a magical book that will make them smarter so that they can pass their exams. After this there are four chapters that each focuses on a one or two of the students (Chisame Hasegawa, the Narutaki twins, Ayaka Yukihiro and Konoka Konoe respectively). This is a very nice volume with some interesting moments throughout. The Library Island arc begins to show some of the abnormalities of the school and class with the massive and dangerous library and some students who are far more powerful than most fourteen year olds. The four other chapters are also good with some nice humour and give a good insight into the characters they focus on.

The third and final volume in this omnibus is where the series begins to get really good as the focus begins its shift from harem comedy to action comedy with harem elements. The volume sees Negi and Asuna have to deal with Evangeline A.K. McDowell, a mysterious student with a grudge against Negi's father. The volume is where some of the secrets of the class begin to be shown with revelations about Kaede Nagase and Chachamaru Karakuri as well as Evangeline herself. The volume has the best action of the omnibus with some nice battles and does a reasonably good job of shifting the tone towards a more serious direction without losing the series sense of fun.

The omnibus includes most of the extra material of the individual volumes such as concept art, designer's notes, translation notes and the Latium Lexicon Negimarium that explains the spells and concepts of the series. The omnibus is missing the cover sketches that were in some of the individual volumes, which is slightly annoying.

As I have already said, 'Negima!' is easily my favourite manga series (despite the unfortunate way it ended) so I am probably a bit biased and couldn't ever think of giving this omnibus less than five stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Negima! is one of if not the best Shonen manga. As others have said Ken Akamatsu fully develops each of the 31 girls in Negi's harem (class). It is very hard to choose a favourite because there are so many great characters in this series. If you like magic, school romance, ecchi and a great story with great artwork then you'll love Negima!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2012
With the ritual that will erase the Magic World coming to a conclusion, Ala Alba is running out of time and when Negi is incapacitated by his Magia Erebea running out of control, the remaining members must devise a plan to rescue Asuna and stop the ritual by themselves. To add to Ala Alba's problems, Cosmo Entelekheia have their own ace up their sleeve that could cause Ala Alba's plans to go up in smoke.

Continuing the conclusion of the Magic World arc, this thirty-fourth volume of the `Negima!' manga is another brilliant instalment of the series. The volume incudes some great battles and has some nice twists to the plot that make the volume very entertaining to read. Highlights of the volume include the assault on the Great Altar that allows for Ala Alba to show how good they are without Negi, and Kaede's battle against a foe far more powerful than she is.

Overall this was another brilliant volume of `Negima!' and despite a few minor annoyances about the translation and the relative lack of extras when compared to earlier volumes, this is still worth a full five stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
I was rereading this on my kindle whilst on holiday and enjoyed it just as much as the first time around. This gets into to the story quicker than I remembered and I did notice things I missed previously. It is both funny and exciting. If you haven't read this series yet and enjoy comedy/romance/magic then I highly recommend it. Even if you have the paper copy there is a lot to be said for the advantages of the kindle version, such as portability and being able to see the edge of the page easier where the spine would be. My only complaint is that you can't read it on other e-readers (or at least I couldn't). I was hoping to read this on a larger e-reader I own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 May 2013
And so, my favourite manga comes to an end and while many fans were left unfulfilled and annoyed at the way it ended, I personally think it finished reasonably well compared to some other series I have read. It is a bit of a shame that the series ended how it did but I do feel that everything that this doesn't detract from what came before and 'Negima!' is still an utterly brilliant series.

This final volume can be split into three parts. The first section of the volume sees the completion of the Sports Festival arc and sees the girls of 3-A attempt to get the name of the girl he likes out of Negi. The Sports Festival arc is somewhat maligned by fans as it returns the series to the more comedic style of the first couple of volumes. Personally I find this arc quite funny in places with some nice gags (although some do fall a little flat, such as Chizuru's Artefact) and an interesting look at how the 3-A girls can work together when they want to. We also see Akira finally getting a pactio.

The second section sees Asuna have to undertake her duty to help stabilize the Magic World. This is an incredibly emotional section of the volume and probably has some of the saddest scenes in the entire manga. This section does a very good job of showing how much Asuna means to everyone, as well as how much they mean to her (the sections involving Asuna and Ayaka's relationship are especially moving). This section is brilliantly done and I personal think that it is worth a full five stars all on its own.

The final part of the volume is the epilogue set seven years after the series proper. The epilogue sees Makie's younger brother request help of Yue to track down an underwear thief. This is an entertaining epilogue, if a little light, that has a brief but fun battle. The epilogue finishes with information on what the various characters do after the end of the series and while some fans were disappointed with the ultimate fate of many of the girls (Chisame and Akira especially) I quite like them.

The main bad point about this volume are that it is somewhat rushed and this is somewhat understandable if some of the rumours surrounding the end of the series are true. As well as this there are still a lot of unanswered questions and missed potential in the series with our final look at the Class Roster hinting at the many adventures that were missed. There is a note from Ken Akamatsu at the beginning of the volume saying that he would like to come back to the series one day but more resent interviews have stated that he is thinking of retiring when his next series (to start sometime in Summer 2013) finishes

The volume also includes the usual author's notes, translation notes and fan art.

Overall I loved this series and while this final volume could have been a hell of a lot better, I did still enjoy it and can give it nothing less than a full five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 July 2012
This thirty-fifth volume of the excellent 'Negima!' manga sees Negi and his friends continue in their attempts to stop the ritual that will destroy the Magical World. The volume begins with an annoyed Fate confronting Quintum, the newly awakened Averruncus of Air, while Negi faces off against Quartum, Averruncus of Fire. Once these foes are taken down Fate returns to the altar with Asuna so that he can continue the ritual while the rest of Ala Alba race to help their friends. At the altar Fate and Negi come face to face at last and begin the fight that will decide the fate of both worlds. As Fate and Negi fight it out Ala Alba face the dryad Shirabe who will do anything so that Fates plan succeeds while back at Mahora, the massive amounts of magical energy released by the ritual has resulted in a gate forming between the school and the Gravekeeper's Palace, allowing summoned beasts to crossover and begin wreaking havoc.

This is another great volume of the 'Negima!' manga that includes one of the best fights from the entire series in the form of the final confrontation between Negi and Fate. This battle is great being beautifully drawn and choreographed; it allows us to see just how far Negi has come since the beginning of the series. The volume also gives the other characters a chance to get in on the action as well with both Ala Alba and the Mahora students also joining the fight to save the Magical World. As well as the action there are the usual humorous moments with here and there throughout the volume and there is also a little information on the background of Fate's minion Shirabe as well as some revelations about the Lifemaker and his relationship to Eva.

As for the extras in the volume, there is the usual fan art gallery and brief translation notes but this volume also sees the return of the Line art for the covers along with author notes that have been missing from the last few volumes. The volume also included an article about the special edition volumes that were released in Japan.

Overall this was another brilliant instalment of my all-time favourite manga and one that is well worth a full five stars. Unfortunately there are only three volumes of the manga left for release (it is rumoured the series was cut short due to copyright issues that arose between Ken Akamatsu and the publishers Kodansha) but the series was great while it lasted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
I bought the individual books in print as they came out and always found myself very eagerly waiting the next one. This is the best manga series I have ever read and one that got me very much into manga and anime. I decided to buy the kindle version, because it is alway a pain to take manga with you anywhere (it fills your suitcase way too quickly!). If you enjoy this series there are also other offshoots including anime, as well as a follow up series by Ken Akamatsu set significantly later than this one (I haven't read it) and a less serious alternative version called "Negima? Neo" (its fun but not as good as this one in my opinion, still worth reading though).

If you enjoy magic fantasy and school comedy romance I would 100% recommend this series without reservation. As the series progresses it gets more and more exciting and interesting, with fan service, humour and awesome battles throughout. The drawing style is great in every respect. Even better the series has a good length and is 100% available in english (I don't think the last omnibus is out yet, but the individual books are still available), so you can enjoy it for even longer and it has a great conclusion. Don't you just hate it when you find a series with a great start, but it ends after just a few books without a proper conclusion, or at least the english language version does?! I cannot find fault with this series. Ten stars out of five :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)