Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
40
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2017
Weird but interesting storylines
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2017
Not for me!!!....only part I enjoyed was Paul Walker in the mask......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Hustlers' is an odd ball film, I didn't have high expectations before watching it despite the all star cast - but very much enjoyed it.

The movie centres around a pawn shop owned by Alton (Vincent D'Onofrio) in a quirky southern town. The store provides the link for three loosely connected humorous dark short stories, the characters may not necessarily meet, but they are all connected in one way or another.

The first is a dark comedy crime story about two deranged drug addicts who are planning to rob their manufacturer. The second (and best) is Richard (Matt Dillon) who stumbles across his ex wife's wedding ring in the store, she has been missing for six years, and he sets out to find who has pawned the ring off, as things transpire, it turns into a pretty intense and shocking horror. The third (the weakest but nevertheless watchable) centres around failing Elvis Presley impersonator Ricky (Brendan Fraser) who finds getting a haircut in this strange little town with unusual residents a lot more trouble than he bargained for. The cast also includes Elijah Wood, as the eerie Johnny Shaw, who meets a 'very sticky' end.

All of these stories are well written, crafted and acted, with plenty of twists and turns. But be warned, they are also very off the wall, you'll either get them or you won't. I'd describe 'Hustlers' as crazy, bizarre, strange, even cartoon-ish for the most part - but for me, it made for an interesting, unique and very funny comedy film. Contains a lot of violence!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Alton (Vincent D'Onofrio) runs a pawn shop in a small southern town. It provides the connecting link for three stories which are also loosely linked. The first tale involves the misadventures of crack heads wanting to rob their manufacturer. The second tale involves Richard (Matt Dillon) attempting to track down his long lost wife (Pell James). The third involves a down on his luck Elvis impersonator (Brendan Fraser).

This could be described as a grindhouse, "Creepshow" style. The episodes are clever dark comedy, marvelously written, directed, and acted. For those like their films on the oddball Tarantino side, check this one out. Yes, it had me laughing out loud, especially the first episode.

Warning: Film contains scenes of captive women who had been abused and treats it on the light side.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, N-word, Masturbation (Elijah Wood) TV screen sex, nudity (Pell James, plus many more)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a great indie effort that tells three stories that are all linked by objects that have wound up in a down market pawn shop. There are three stories in all and they are all brought together during the course of the film.

The first tale is of some meth addicted white supremacists. Their story centres on a pawned shotgun and features a brilliant performance from Paul Walker playing the marvellously named `Raw Dog. There is a brilliant scene where him and his bro discuss the politics of being a white supremacist and find they come up a bit wanting.

Then tale two takes us on a dark ride with Matt Dillon who finds a ring, in the same shop, that had belonged to his missing wife. His search for her is ruthless and unveils a very unsettling surprise - with Elijah Wood playing a role as far removed from his Hobbiting days as one can imagine.

The trio is completed with Brendan Fraser giving a bravura performance as one of the World's worst Elvis tribute acts. He must have had a blast playing it and that pays off in what turned out to be the biggest surprise of a film so far this year - absolutely recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
This is one crazy yet brilliantly entertaining movie, split into about 3 short mini stories all going on around the same time and eventually fuse together in some fateful way, there is action, bloody violence, comedy, full female nudity, everything you need for a great cocktail of entertainment, set in a small southern town there are drug dealers wanting to do a robbery that goes botch, a man looking for his missing wife gets more than he bargains for, an Elvis impersonator who makes a deal on his down in luck life, all sounds crazy but the stories play out with hilarious and sometimes serious consequences for all involved, its a madcap caper that cannot be missed! The cast is all fantastic, super performances from Paul Walker, Matt Dillon and Brendan Fraser as Elvis, this really is quite the gem of a movie and must be sought out!!

Great Blu-ray picture quality.
Features include just a commentary.
Region B, 112mins, 2014.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Darkly funny (actually genuinely made me laugh in places) but twisted and sick film with some truly wonderful performances. This is one film that deserves and earns it's 18 certificate, to the hilt. And the best part? The gloriously over the top violence is not torture porn, although there is one brief torture scene. I think I bought this for the mega stellar cast. Any film that features Lukas Haas and DJ Qualls in the same feature deserves to be watched. Look out for an unrecognisable Thomas Jane in a one scene cameo. Norman Reedus is in this film but I didn't recognise him. Matt Dillon is, as always, awesome. The late, great Paul Walker delivers the performance of (a/his) lifetime. Elijah Wood (after both Sin City and the Maniac remake) works extremely hard to shed his angelic Deep Impact image. Not a film for everyone. There's some stomach churningly grim moments here. BE WARNED. This is NOT a film for the faint of heart. But three stars and not more because of the slavery plot that was totally unseemly and gratuitously unnecessary.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
This film has a fair range of actor talents on show. I purchased it on the strength of the fact I liked Paul Walker as an actor and a person, having read of generous gestures he made for others. I have not watch the full film, as I was watching it with my adult daughter who considered it strange. Perhaps re watching it might prove a different outcome. There are a number of cameo performances and I didn't recognise some of them immediately. I would suggest read the story scenario before purchasing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
Think Pulp Fiction filmed on the set of Dukes of Hazard and you get the idea. There are 3 main storys intertwined with each other, linked by a Pawn Shop. Cameos, nudity and violence are plentiful as each story builds to a close before crossing to the next. The comic book elements and camera tricks add a nice touch. Brendan Fraser wonderful as a washed up Elvis Presley tribute act. In the US the film is called "The Pawn Shop Chronicles".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
A really off the wall movie but it does have its dark moments. Performances abound in this collection of three stories centered around a pawn shop. The cream of the crop is the late Paul Walker's, but the stories are all not only encapsulating but so off centre that you can't take your eyes from the screen. Add in some dark comedic moments as well as not so subtle twists and you have a recipe for a possible cult classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)