Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
106
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 25 March 2015
To say im Obsessed with Pretty Little Liars is an understatement, it is a fabulous tv show with great twists. Although 'A' isn't revealed the story never gets boring or old it constantly keep you on your toes. The story follow the journey of Aria, Hanna, Spencer and Emily hunting for their mystery hater, A reveals themselves in a red coat and so they hunt is on for the girl in the red coat. If you like a mystery you must watch this season as you will be hooked and wont want to stop.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Thank you very much for the DVD enjoyed it from Dov
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
Good stuff M
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2017
arrived in great time and very enjoyable for my sister !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Although this programme may have been devised to appeal especially to teenaged girls it is wonderful enough to appeal to people of taste and intelligence of most ages and both sexes.

If you do not yet know Pretty Little Liars, then best to start following it from the beginning and go back to Season 1. For those who have already seen and liked Seasons 1-3 you should like Season 4 as much, as long as you leave a sufficiently long break between viewing them.

Season 4 has all the same strengths as the previous Seasons, with continuity of most of the main cast, yet it still manages to do new and interesting things e.g. the dream episode with Toby as a Private Investigator out of a 1940s film. Also the barn dance episode in which I like the sequences of Aria dancing. (According to the DVD ‘extras’, Lucy Hale, who plays Aria, had a couple of days to learn how to dance like that as she did not know, surprisingly, as she has a parallel career singing country music, of which you will find examples on YouTube, although she is a better actress than singer.)

I expect there are quite a few things in Pretty Little Liars that if you stopped to think about them pedantically would seem unbelievable, starting with teenaged schoolgirls apparently being able to afford different fashionable outfits every week, played by actresses who are actually in their twenties. However, somehow I do not notice or mind the improbabilities, except, in this Season, for the revelation about the English teacher / ex-special friend of Aria, Ezra Fitz. I do not know if the writers had always intended it and I had missed the clues, or it was introduced as an afterthought that did not fit well with what had gone before.

On the other hand we have already been prepared by plenty of clues in previous Seasons for further discoveries about the girls' dead (or is she?) friend Alison, played by Sasha Pieterse, who despite being dead (or not?) appears more often this season. Flashbacks of Alison with the others before her disappearance still show her as too vain and superficial to be likeable, even if the other girls are still loyal to her memory for some reason. However, we learn more about pressures Alison was under and may feel more sorry for her.

Some of the girls’ romantic relationships end this year (whether temporarily or permanently remains to be seen). However, it is nice that the writers have let characters stay in many of the same relationships for a long time, including periods of happiness and stability. I am glad they resisted the ‘soap opera’ temptation that assumes that a drama is only interesting if relationships are always in trouble, and characters swap partners so frequently it threatens to become absurd (as I sometimes feel about e.g. the otherwise good series ‘Nashville’).

My favourite characters continue to be Troian Bellisario as Spencer, dear little Lucy Hale as Aria and Keegan Allen as Toby, but Ashley Benson as Hannah and many others continue to be good too. (Shay Mitchell is fine as the fourth member of our group of heroines, Emily; just not so outstanding that I would necessarily rush to watch something else just because she was in it.)

Many thanks to the cast, crew, script writers, costume designers, to Marlene King who devised and runs the show, and even to the faceless network executives for not messing up or cancelling a great series in the way that they usually do. I can only continue to hope all concerned keep up the standard for the projected full 7 seasons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
I actually got into watching Pretty Little Liars by watching The Lying Game first (which I thought was excellent). I saw Pretty Little Liars floating about on the internet so I thought I'd have a look at the first couple of episodes and found it extremely addictive from the off.

It's a very hard program to stop watching. It's definitely aiming for the 14-24 girl demographic but its success has far exceeded just females in that age group. Why would guys not want to watch an addictive show with beautiful girls in it?!

If I had one grumble about PLL it would be that the story seems to bring in characters and then they just disappear from the program with no explanation and the show definitely leaves itself with far too many loose ends to tie up.

I would personally disagree with season 4 being the best. It must be very hard for the writers to keep thinking of new ways to keep the show alive, especially as it has been signed up for another 2 seasons. Personally I thought seasons 1 and 2 were the best (but this is quite common with a lot of TV shows that go past seasons 4-5). However, my favourite episode is definitely the Halloween train episode which I think is season 3 episode 13. Absolutely superb.

So, aside from the often confusing and complicated plotlines, Pretty Little Liars is a show that should have been picked up by a major TV station in the UK (just like the first 8 seasons of 24 and also Entourage). It seems like UK TV companies buy a lot of rubbish from the States but overlook the really good ones. This show has the largest social media following of any show in history.

Season 5 seems pretty good so far but it's only on episode 3.

Absolutely worth starting with season 1 (Amazon have it at a good price too), but I imagine that most people who are reading this review already have the first 3.

Season 4 is a little confusing at times but often just watching back some of the episodes again will make sense of it a bit more!
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
Each season just gets better by better! this show is -Amazing.
Season 4 episode 1 (A is for Alive) starts of after the events of season 3. It consist of 24 episodes and this season is defiantly the season of answers! so much is revealed but in the nature of the show it only arises more questions. Any dedicated PLL will enjoy this season.

Cant wait for season 5!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
This was eagerly awaited by a member of the household (not me) They already have season 1 to 3. I have been told that it is worth the wait and I should recommend the DVD. So it is recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
fabulous fabulous fabulous as always and still kept in the dark...i couldnt wait until September for the dvd release so i bought it through the prime and watching it on my ipad....definitely worth the money
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)