Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
15
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2017
I only bought this as Emily Kinney was in this but you only see her for two scenes film was a total let down was bored from start to finish I actually was checking my Facebook and other stuff while I was watching this no hardly anything explicit in this you briefly see nudity and heavy kissing but that's about it basically its 40 year old woman bored with her life so becomes a female escort to nameless women one of which is this big shy girl who has never been kissed there is a love interest in this but what else can I say about this movie its boring don't waste your time or money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
A strange film, and for me there is nothing outstanding, in fact there isn't enough character development to hold your interest, in any of the characters!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2016
How on earth does this film get a lower rating than “Kiss Me” and “Loving Annabelle”, horrendously clicheed films with terrible plotting and poor acting?

Concussion is a complete story and a good one at that. It’s not a “lesbian” film that re-hashes those tired tropes of illicit love or coming out. And while there are “hot” moments, it’s not a sexy film to get your rocks off. It’s one of the few films that centres around a same-sex couple where the gender of the couple is truly irrelevant.

It speaks to anyone of any gender who has been in long-term relationships and the compromises we make in said relationships. This is not a feel good romance or a triumph of some cultural stigma but ultimately it’s an excellent film that makes you think.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
Despite the billing, it is not "Female American Beauty", and nor is it like "The Kids Are All Right" - it has a very different tone to both. It's refreshing to have a non gay festival film about women in love, and to have 40 year old leads, not ephiphanous teens. But this is a disappointing film. The trailer makes it look slinky and about a particular client; it isn't (it would have been better that way). I didn't understand the decision to become an escort, what was driving it, and to see various women who we never know enter the bedroom isn't interesting. It's also less sensuous than you might think and not very explicit. I hated everyone in it. Escorts aren't feminist emancipation. I writhed in the cinema, but not the way they were.... I was waiting for the credits.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
I agree that the trailer for this film is rather misleading but don't let that put you off. This is a very well constructed film that satirizes & questions a certain way of life; one that is almost perfect but whose routines engender boredom, not helped by the poor state of the central couple's sex life. The main character's (Abby, brilliantly played by Robin Weigert) solution to this issue and the consequences form the basis of the narrative. The strength of this film is the way in which what could have been sensational or sleazy is treated with a subtlety & sensitivity that makes it a satisfyingly adult & thoughtful exploration of long term relationships & relationships in general. A thread of humour is evident throughout & what for me was particularly impressive, apart from the great performances, was the fact that not everything that is going on is spelt out making a second or third viewing even more rewarding.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 July 2014
A fortysomething mother (played by Robin Weigert from Deadwood and The Sessions) whose female partner is a workaholic channels her sexual frustration into fitness workouts and interior decoration. Then she receives a blow to the head which pushes her to change her situation, and she sets up as a high-class sex worker, catering to women looking for "a more mature situation".

I was quite disappointed when I finally got to see this film. The trailer and premise for the film made it look really interesting, but the actual storytelling was a big let down and unrealistic and unsexy. The only upside was that the acting was very good throughout although there wasn't much chemistry between the actresses.

A generous 3 stars
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
I loved this DVD one with a real story that you coud follow and believe in, it was sexy but not OTT, just right
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Total crap! Watchable but goes nowhere and the story is muddled and unclear. Talking in clichés and metaphors. Ending was dire and slow throughout. Absolute rubbish with no chemistry at all. Not worth buying a total waste of money!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
Great item no fault with seller , but film was a total let down! Rubbish!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
Was no real storyline to this film wouldn't waste money on it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)