Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
459
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 February 2016
HISTORY:

Now That's What I Call Music! (1983–present) (often shortened to Now!) is a series of various artists compilation albums released in the United Kingdom and Ireland by EMI. Spinoff series were later introduced in South Africa (1984) and many other countries worldwide, including the United States in 1998, and Israel in 1999. Since its launch in the UK in 1983, the series has amassed over 100 million album sales worldwide, and each volume always debut at Number 1 on the UK album chart.

CONTENT:

Now That’s What I Call Music 87 was released in UK on April 7, 2014, and debut at Number 1 on the UK album compilation chart, still No. 1 after 3 weeks. Although a song listing is included on Amazon.ca, I have compiled a more detailed listing (with chart position in US & UK, with personal comments), which is as follows:

Disc 1:
01 Happy – Pharrell Williams (US 1(10 & counting)/2014; AC 1/2014; ADULT POP: 1/2014; UK 1(3)/2014)*although Let It Go from Frozen earned the Oscar for Best Original Song, Happy definitely earns the hearts of pop music lovers; it is also an intermediate line dance, titled Clap Happy! A real workout!
02 My Love – Route 94, featuring Jess Glynne (UK 1/2014; SCOTLAND 1/2014)*non-album single, a rare treat here!
03 I’m A Freak – Enrique Iglesisas, featuring Pitbull (UK 4/2014)*his latest hit, El Perdidor is No. 1 on US Latin chart; the Bachata mix is a great line dance tune.
04 Hey Brother – Avicii (US 16/2013; UK 4/2013; SWEDEN 1/2013)*great follow-up to Wake Me Up!
05 Dark Horse – Katy Perry (US 1(4)/2014; UK 4/2014)*2nd No. 1 hit from her Prism album
06 Money On My Mind – Sam Smith (UK 1/2014)
07 Word Up! – Little Mix (UK 6/2014)
08 She Looks So Perfect – 8 Seconds Of Summer (US 47/2014; UK 1/2014; AUSTRALIA 1/2014)*their album She Looks So Perfect (US 2/2014; CANADA 1/2014)
09 Wrecking Ball – Miley Cyrus (US 1(3)/2014; UK 1/2014; CANADA 1/2014)
10 Nasty – Pixie Lott (UK 9/2014)
11 Story Of My Life – One Direction (US 6/2014; UK 2/2014)
12 Let Me Go – Gary Barlow (UK 2/2013; SCOTLAND 1/2013)
13 If I Lose Myself – OneRepublic vs Alesso)(US 74/2013; UK 8/2013)*the hit just before their biggest hit Counting Stars, still one of my favourite.
14 Ready For Your Love – Gorgon City, Featuring MNEK (UK 4/2014; UK DANCE 2/2014)* English electronic music production duo, consisting of two North London producers Kye "Foamo" Gibbon and Matt "RackNRuin" Robson-Scott.
15 The Vamps – Wild Heart (UK 3/2014)
16 Do What U Want – Lady Gaga, featuring R. Kelly (US 13/2013; UK 9/2013)
17 Do It All Over Again – Elyar Fox (UK 5/2014)
18 Crying For No Reason – Katy B (UK 5/2014)*her album Little Red debut at No. 1.
19 All Of Me – John Legend (US 2/2014; UK 2/2014)*beautiful ballad, stuck at No. 2 because of Happy…but the battle is not finished yet!
20 Say Something – A Great Big World & Christina Aguilera (US 4/2013; UK 4/2013; CANADA 1/2013)
21 How Long Will I Love You – Ellie Goulding (UK 3/2014)*follow up to her smash Burn.
22 Skyscrapper – Sam Bailey (UK 1/2014; IRELAND 1/2014; SCOTLAND 1/2014)*2013 X-Factor winner in UK; her CD The Power of Love debut at No. 1 in UK & sounds fantastic (my review elsewhere)

Disc 2:
01 #SELFIE – The Chainsmokers (US 16/2014; UK 11/2014)* The Chainsmokers are a New York City-based disc jockey/producer/songwriter duo consisting of members Andrew Taggart and Alex Pall.
02 Timber – Pitbull, featuring Ke$ha (US 1(3)/2014; UK 1/2014)*big hit also used as a line dance song.
03 Tsunami (Jump) – DVBBS & Borgeous, featuringTinie Tempah (UK 1/2014)*debut at No. 1.
04 Under Control – Calvin Harris & Alesso, featuring Hurts (UK 1/2014)*debut at No. 1.
05 Wizard – Martin Garrix & Jay Hardway (UK 7/2013)*follow up to his giant hit Animals.
06 Red Lights – Tiesto (UK 6/2013; UK DANCE 2/2013)* Dutch trance DJ/producer.
07 I Got U – Duke Dumont, featuring Jax Jones (UK 1/2014)*debut at No. 1.
08 Of The Night – Bastille (UK 2/2013)
09 Kids Again – Example (UK 13/2014)
10 Move – Little Mix (UK 3/2014)
11 Braveheart – Neon Jungle (UK 4/2014)*British 4 piece girl group.
12 Dibby Dibby Sound – DJ Fresh vs Jay Fay, featuring Ms. Dynamite (UK 3/2014; UK DANCE 2/2014)
13 Dr. Who! – Tujamo & Plastik Funk, featuring Sheakbo (UK 21/2014)
14 Thank You – Busta Rhymes, featuring Q-Tip, Kanye West & Lil Wayne (UK 13/2013)
15 Million Pound Girl (Badder Than Bad) – Fuse ODG (UK 5/2013)
16 Out Of My Head (Club Edit) – John Newman (UK 94/2014)*follow up to his No. 1 hit Love Me Again.
17 Turn Back Time – Sub Focus (UK 10/2013)
18 Control – Matrix & Futurebound, featuring Max Marshall (UK 7/2013; UK DANCE 2/2013)
19 Let Go For Tonight – Foxes (UK 7/2014)*English singer
20 Can’t Rely On You – Paloma Faith (UK 10/2014)
21 Dance With Me – Le Youth, featuring Dominique Young Unique (UK 11/2014)* an American electronic musician, DJ, and producer; real name: Wes James.
22 Hey Now – London Grammar (UK 37/2014)
23 Riptide – Vance Joy (UK 10/2014; AUSTRALIA 6/2014)* an Australian singer-songwriter; real name: James Keogh.
24 Best Day Of My Life – American Authors (US 11/2013; US ADULT 1/2013; UK 17/2013)

POSITIVE POINTS:
1 This is a great collection of hit songs, especially many rare ones from UK. There are 10 No. 1 hits. Some of the hits are non-album singles. Getting 46 songs in one collection is simply great.
2 The remastered audio from this set is simply PERFECT! I wish other producers will take note and take the same care in presenting their music.
3 There is a nice 12-page booklet, containing album covers of all the artists.

NEGATIVE POINTS:
1 This 2 CD set is rather expensive. I bought this from UK for £10. But with the low Canadian $ plus shipping, I have to reconsider my strategy to purchase UK releases.
2 There is no detailed chart positions.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I personally keep an eye on the weekly US charts (Billboard Hot 100, AC and C&W) and UK charts. I am quite familiar with most of the songs in this set. Many songs are popular only in UK and are difficult or expensive to find over here in Canada. Now series presents a good way to collect these UK gems. The sound of the entire set is perfect, vibrant and clean. If you like modern pop music, the UK Now series is the best of all: 2 CDs with 46 songs, while Now 49 (US) has only 20 song. This set is highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Over all the collection of recent hits contains a reasonable collection. There are a number of what we term as fillers on this album the tracks that you just skip over if you get my meaning, that is why I give it only 4 stars......That about sum it up.....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
If you like most of the now mixes then this one is worth buying.
I like the fact that you can also download it once the disc has been ordered.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
I always believe the first Cd they have on now that's what i call music's are very popular and often all of my favourites. However, the second cd is generally filled with a load of songs no one has heard of or ones that have done terrible in the charts.
I'd pay for the first CD on here but not the second.
33 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
I have all the NOW collection since 2007, but lately they are not including all the hits you expect. Still it is a good list to play wherever you go or to keep for your historical records, as I do every time after the release of each new compilation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
First things first this is a fantastic CD and is the latest installment of the popular series, however just like most CD's in the series loads of songs i was expecting are mysteriously absent, in fact there are so many you could make a 3rd CD from them

1. Clean Bandit feat. Jess Glynne - Rather Be - The only No. 1 since Now 86 not to make the cut which is a shame because i really like this song and much prefer it to CD 1 Track 2 'My Love' (Which also features Jess Glynne) such a shame it missed out and this album doesn't really feel 'complete' without it as it would have been perfect for this album.

2. Jason Derulo - Trumpets - How this song didn't make it baffles me so as we had his previous singles 'The Other Side' and 'Talk Dirty' on Now 85 and Now 86 and it performed just as well in the charts, this is also Jason's first top 10 single not to feature on a 'Now' album.

3. Aloe Blacc - The Man - Again Now fail to get the song that reached No. 1 the day before the UK release date of the album on a Now!, will surely make Now 88.

4. Zedd featuring Hayley Williams - Stay the Night - Another song i really expected to make it as it reached No. 2 in the charts but just didn't, and it's not as though they couldn't include Hayley Williams as she has already appeared twice before as a featured artist on Now 77 on B.o.B.'s single 'Airplanes' and as part of Paramore on the much more recent Now 85 with their song 'Still into You'. Maybe they just couldn't get the rights to Zedd?

5. Shakira feat. Rihanna - Can't Remember to Forget You - Another song you'd really expect to make it but didn't as both artists have appeared on Now albums before and it peaked at #11, only just outside the top 10.

6. will.i.am feat. Miley Cyrus and Wiz Khalifa - Feelin' Myself - well will.i.am's 6 album streak has come to an end after appearing on Now 81 with 'T.H.E. (The Hardest Ever), Now 82 with 'This is Love' Now 83 as a featured artist in the Script's single 'Hall of Fame', Now 84 with 'Scream and Shout', Now 85 with '#thatPower' and Now 86 with Bang Bang. Also found it really weird this song didn't make it as it did reach No. 2 in the UK Singles Chart a couple of months back.

7. David Guetta feat. Skylar Gray - Shot Me Down - Well David Guetta has to be one of Now's most appeared artists but he didn't make this one. Maybe it's because it featured Skylar Gray and i don't think she has ever appeared on a Now album before?

8. Breach feat. Andreya Triana - Everything You Never Had (We Had it All) - Peaked at #9 in the UK singles chart just like his previous single 'Jack' which appeared on Now 85 but didn't make it for some reason or other.

9. Kylie Minogue - Into the Blue - IMO, one of her better songs and i think it deserved to be on this album, such a shame it didn't make it, again Kylie Minogue is another of Now's most frequently appeared artists.

10. Lily Allen - Air Balloon - A top 10 hit from Lily Allen not on a Now album? Was really expecting this song to feature despite the fact it's not one of her finest efforts

11. Coldplay - Magic - Again another top 10 hit from Coldplay, (another artist who has appeared countless times in the series) not on this album, Now 88 maybe?

12. Flo Rida - How I Feel - Pretty much all of Flo Rida's top 10 singles have appareared on Now albums but why not this one?

13. Robbie Williams - Go Gentle - Peaked at #10 a few months back but Now do have a habbit of including songs that a few months older than the album itself, There are a few on here for example: 'Story of My Life', 'Let Me Go', 'move' and 'Of the Night'. but this one wasn't to be.

14. McFly - Love is on the Radio - Thought this song may have appeared as we did get 'Love Is Easy' on last springs album 'Now 84' and it's again another McFly hit that peaked just outside the top 5. Again this is one of few songs from McFly not to feature on a 'Now' album.

15. Christina Perri - Human - May appear on Now 88 we'll have to wait and see but was kind of expecting it to feature as 'Jar of Hearts' and 'A Thousand Years' appeared on Now albums 80 and 84.

That's all the songs we really quite easily could have had, the follwoing list of songs (Most of them peaking outside the top 10) could also have appeared on this album.

1. Arctic Monkeys - Why's You Only Call Me When Your'e High? - Peaked inside the top 10 3 places higher than 'Do I Wanna Know' and that song surprisingly appeared on Now 86 and remains the only song by them to appear on a Now album.

2. Awol-Nation - Sail
3. Jessie J - Thunder
4. Tinie Tempah feat. Labrinth - Lover Not a Fighter
5. Rizzle Kicks - Skip to the Good Bit

6. Imagine Dragons - Demons (peaked just 1 place lower than 'Radioactive' and that appeared on Now 85)

That's just about all the absenties i can think of right now, but 1 thing i have noticed is that Disc 2 features quite a few 'filler' tracks that i wasn't expecting:-

Example - Kids Again - It seems weird this song was included as it only peaked at #13 the same position as his previous single 'All the Wrong Places' and that song never made Now 86.

Tujamo & Plastik Funk featuring Sneakbo - Dr. Who! - One of the lowest charting tracks on the album failing to make the top 20!

Busta Rhymes featuring Q-Tip, Kanye West & Lil Wayne - Thank You - Wasn't expecting this song at all, and it failed to make the top 10.

John Newman - Out of My Head - Peaked at an appauling #91 and is the only song on the album to fail to make the top 40, just like Bruno Mars' 'Gorillia' on Now 86, definetly a filler track, no idea why they included it.

Sub Focus - Turn Back Time - Wasn't expecting this song as it's their first appearacne on a Now, and it is their joint highest single to date along with 'Endorphins' at #10 and that song didn't make a Now, so iwasn't expecting this song to, but somehow it's made it.

London Grammar - Hey Now - Why this song was included i have no idea as it only peaked at #37! Again we never got their most successful single 'Strong' on a Now album and that charted at a not great but much better #16. Just like 'Out of My Head' this song is definelty a filler track, and to add insult to injury it's not even that good a song.

It's just a shame to see all these fillers, as we could have easily replaced them with 4 tracks out of the 14 i mentioned (Rather Be and Trumpets spring to Mind) then this Now album would have been better, it just goes to show that Disc 1 boasts all the good songs with no 'Filler' tracks and every song had peaked inside the top 10, which is surely a first to have all top 10 hits on one disc for the Now series, but i suppose disc 2 has more songs which evens it out a little i suppose, but despite all the missing songs i was expecting this is a fantastic album believe me, definetly one of the strongest Spring Now's in recent years, it's definetly better than last spring's Now 84 and in my opinion that album was thouroughly average, but this one is brilliant, such a lot of good tunes on here.

Also if you like your Dance music, there is plently of it on this album (especially on Disc 2) but even if you do't really like Dance music i'm sure there's plenty of tunes to enjoy as it does have a whopping 46 tracks (joint highest with Now 76). So go on, buy this album 46 songs for just £12 isn't bad going to be fair ;)
22 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
As everyone knows, all the Now albums have quite a diverse mixture of well known tracks and some not so popular and this album is exactly the same, however I am not disappointed as there are more good tracks than mediocre.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Oh dear, who'd want to be a "Now That's What I Call Music!" compiler at this time of the year?

Traditionally, the Easter compilation is the weakest of the year's three releases. It's always reliant on pre-Christmas hits to add a bit of weight and padded out with blink and you'll have missed them minor hits from the start of the year. Unfortunately, it's the latter which make up the majority of this volume, with such a heavy reliance on faceless dance tracks that it looks more like a Clubland compilation than a Now! album. Aside from the cannon-fodder, there are just a few bona fide 2014 hits that demonstrated staying power beyond an early sales peak, so you've probably already forgotten how most of these tracks sound!

As ever, there's a handful of prominent absentees, the most notable being Clean Bandit's `Rather Be' which has already been licensed in other territories and, let's face it, Now 87 could really do with a hit like that on it! There are other surprise omissions from artists who have previously featured on the Now! series; e.g. Kylie Minogue, Coldplay, Lily Allen, Christina Perri and, perhaps most surprisingly, Jason Derulo's `Trumpets' which has been one of 2014's most enduring hits so far.

Why they would chose to open Disc 2 with a minor novelty hit that didn't even make the Top 10, whilst one of the year's biggest hits is relegated to second place is just bizarre. It's also odd that they have included a Club Edit of the John Newman track rather than the Radio Mix.

Although the brand is being eroded by its expansion beyond the chronological hit collections, particularly since Sony took over, these volumes remain the cash cow of the series, so the good news for the label is that the album will sell, but few of the tracks on here will still be picking up airplay when Now 88 rolls around and, hopefully, a little more quality control will be exercised.
44 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
I have every Now album since the start on either vinyl or CD and this is probably one of the most disappointing. Many unknown tracks to fill the CDs. Check it out first before buying on iTunes or similar.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2015
Great now cd! The best one ever.It's got all my favourite songs on it like timber by Pitbull ft.Ke$ha,Under control by Calvin Harris,of the night by Bastille,Word up! By little mix,Dark horse by Katy Perry and if I lose myself by obeRepublic but it's the alesso remix
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse