Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 12 February 2016

Now That's What I Call Music! (1983–present) (often shortened to Now!) is a series of various artists compilation albums released in the United Kingdom and Ireland by EMI. Spinoff series were later introduced in South Africa (1984) and many other countries worldwide, including the United States in 1998, and Israel in 1999. Since its launch in the UK in 1983, the series has amassed over 100 million album sales worldwide, and each volume always debut at Number 1 on the UK album chart.


Now That’s What I Call Music 87 was released in UK on April 7, 2014, and debut at Number 1 on the UK album compilation chart, still No. 1 after 3 weeks. Although a song listing is included on Amazon.ca, I have compiled a more detailed listing (with chart position in US & UK, with personal comments), which is as follows:

Disc 1:
01 Happy – Pharrell Williams (US 1(10 & counting)/2014; AC 1/2014; ADULT POP: 1/2014; UK 1(3)/2014)*although Let It Go from Frozen earned the Oscar for Best Original Song, Happy definitely earns the hearts of pop music lovers; it is also an intermediate line dance, titled Clap Happy! A real workout!
02 My Love – Route 94, featuring Jess Glynne (UK 1/2014; SCOTLAND 1/2014)*non-album single, a rare treat here!
03 I’m A Freak – Enrique Iglesisas, featuring Pitbull (UK 4/2014)*his latest hit, El Perdidor is No. 1 on US Latin chart; the Bachata mix is a great line dance tune.
04 Hey Brother – Avicii (US 16/2013; UK 4/2013; SWEDEN 1/2013)*great follow-up to Wake Me Up!
05 Dark Horse – Katy Perry (US 1(4)/2014; UK 4/2014)*2nd No. 1 hit from her Prism album
06 Money On My Mind – Sam Smith (UK 1/2014)
07 Word Up! – Little Mix (UK 6/2014)
08 She Looks So Perfect – 8 Seconds Of Summer (US 47/2014; UK 1/2014; AUSTRALIA 1/2014)*their album She Looks So Perfect (US 2/2014; CANADA 1/2014)
09 Wrecking Ball – Miley Cyrus (US 1(3)/2014; UK 1/2014; CANADA 1/2014)
10 Nasty – Pixie Lott (UK 9/2014)
11 Story Of My Life – One Direction (US 6/2014; UK 2/2014)
12 Let Me Go – Gary Barlow (UK 2/2013; SCOTLAND 1/2013)
13 If I Lose Myself – OneRepublic vs Alesso)(US 74/2013; UK 8/2013)*the hit just before their biggest hit Counting Stars, still one of my favourite.
14 Ready For Your Love – Gorgon City, Featuring MNEK (UK 4/2014; UK DANCE 2/2014)* English electronic music production duo, consisting of two North London producers Kye "Foamo" Gibbon and Matt "RackNRuin" Robson-Scott.
15 The Vamps – Wild Heart (UK 3/2014)
16 Do What U Want – Lady Gaga, featuring R. Kelly (US 13/2013; UK 9/2013)
17 Do It All Over Again – Elyar Fox (UK 5/2014)
18 Crying For No Reason – Katy B (UK 5/2014)*her album Little Red debut at No. 1.
19 All Of Me – John Legend (US 2/2014; UK 2/2014)*beautiful ballad, stuck at No. 2 because of Happy…but the battle is not finished yet!
20 Say Something – A Great Big World & Christina Aguilera (US 4/2013; UK 4/2013; CANADA 1/2013)
21 How Long Will I Love You – Ellie Goulding (UK 3/2014)*follow up to her smash Burn.
22 Skyscrapper – Sam Bailey (UK 1/2014; IRELAND 1/2014; SCOTLAND 1/2014)*2013 X-Factor winner in UK; her CD The Power of Love debut at No. 1 in UK & sounds fantastic (my review elsewhere)

Disc 2:
01 #SELFIE – The Chainsmokers (US 16/2014; UK 11/2014)* The Chainsmokers are a New York City-based disc jockey/producer/songwriter duo consisting of members Andrew Taggart and Alex Pall.
02 Timber – Pitbull, featuring Ke$ha (US 1(3)/2014; UK 1/2014)*big hit also used as a line dance song.
03 Tsunami (Jump) – DVBBS & Borgeous, featuringTinie Tempah (UK 1/2014)*debut at No. 1.
04 Under Control – Calvin Harris & Alesso, featuring Hurts (UK 1/2014)*debut at No. 1.
05 Wizard – Martin Garrix & Jay Hardway (UK 7/2013)*follow up to his giant hit Animals.
06 Red Lights – Tiesto (UK 6/2013; UK DANCE 2/2013)* Dutch trance DJ/producer.
07 I Got U – Duke Dumont, featuring Jax Jones (UK 1/2014)*debut at No. 1.
08 Of The Night – Bastille (UK 2/2013)
09 Kids Again – Example (UK 13/2014)
10 Move – Little Mix (UK 3/2014)
11 Braveheart – Neon Jungle (UK 4/2014)*British 4 piece girl group.
12 Dibby Dibby Sound – DJ Fresh vs Jay Fay, featuring Ms. Dynamite (UK 3/2014; UK DANCE 2/2014)
13 Dr. Who! – Tujamo & Plastik Funk, featuring Sheakbo (UK 21/2014)
14 Thank You – Busta Rhymes, featuring Q-Tip, Kanye West & Lil Wayne (UK 13/2013)
15 Million Pound Girl (Badder Than Bad) – Fuse ODG (UK 5/2013)
16 Out Of My Head (Club Edit) – John Newman (UK 94/2014)*follow up to his No. 1 hit Love Me Again.
17 Turn Back Time – Sub Focus (UK 10/2013)
18 Control – Matrix & Futurebound, featuring Max Marshall (UK 7/2013; UK DANCE 2/2013)
19 Let Go For Tonight – Foxes (UK 7/2014)*English singer
20 Can’t Rely On You – Paloma Faith (UK 10/2014)
21 Dance With Me – Le Youth, featuring Dominique Young Unique (UK 11/2014)* an American electronic musician, DJ, and producer; real name: Wes James.
22 Hey Now – London Grammar (UK 37/2014)
23 Riptide – Vance Joy (UK 10/2014; AUSTRALIA 6/2014)* an Australian singer-songwriter; real name: James Keogh.
24 Best Day Of My Life – American Authors (US 11/2013; US ADULT 1/2013; UK 17/2013)

1 This is a great collection of hit songs, especially many rare ones from UK. There are 10 No. 1 hits. Some of the hits are non-album singles. Getting 46 songs in one collection is simply great.
2 The remastered audio from this set is simply PERFECT! I wish other producers will take note and take the same care in presenting their music.
3 There is a nice 12-page booklet, containing album covers of all the artists.

1 This 2 CD set is rather expensive. I bought this from UK for £10. But with the low Canadian $ plus shipping, I have to reconsider my strategy to purchase UK releases.
2 There is no detailed chart positions.


I personally keep an eye on the weekly US charts (Billboard Hot 100, AC and C&W) and UK charts. I am quite familiar with most of the songs in this set. Many songs are popular only in UK and are difficult or expensive to find over here in Canada. Now series presents a good way to collect these UK gems. The sound of the entire set is perfect, vibrant and clean. If you like modern pop music, the UK Now series is the best of all: 2 CDs with 46 songs, while Now 49 (US) has only 20 song. This set is highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
some of my fave music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Excellent quality and service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2016
OK collection of songs for the current generation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)