Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran on Amazon Music Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
270
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2014
I wasn't expecting much from Ride Along. After I heard about the poor reviews, I thought it would provide me with a few laughs, but little else. But it was much funny than I thought. I laughed frequently throughout the movie, the most I have for sometime and had a great time. It's not a top-class movie, but if you look at it for what it is, there's little to fault. Recommended for comedy fans.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 January 2016
This is a great movie for teenagers and adults alike. It is action packed with an amazing car chase right at the start and one of the funniest explosions at the end. Humour, romance, male bonding, thrilling action and great filming make this a very entertaining movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
A fairly decent action/comedy with Ice Cube in it and Kevin Hart. A few other well known actors and a fairly good story line for what it is.. Funny in places and worth a watch to pass the time for sure :) I enjoyed it, I'm looking forward to seeing what the second one has to offer...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
Just watched this today, can't wait to get it on DVD. Kevin Hart makes this movie, by bouncing off ice cube's cool stature. Amazing to switch off and let the comedy sink in. Loved every second!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 April 2014
You've got to like Kevin Hart's histrionic comedy to really enjoy this buddy movie. It is not my cup of tea but it was just about bearable for an hour and thirty nine minutes.
This is a watchable comedy about a wannabe cop in love with a hard nosed detective's sister who goes on a ride along to prove himself worthy. It is all very predictable even the 'twist' but it is well done and its a good HD print and soundtrack.
Ice Cube is still cool even despite his co-star and the cast do a good job but you really need to like Hart to enjoy this. Perhaps I'm just too old!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Very funny buddy cop movie, its almost like Ice Cube's character from 22 jump street got a full length movie role! Cube and Kevin Hart are both really great fun comedy actors on top form in this! Good simple story, maybe a bit predictable but great fun non the less, there's nothing bad to say really, if you love a good comedy this is really worth checking out for a night in of laugh out loud no brainer antics! roll on ride along 2.
Blu-ray picture is good and there are plenty of great features too for the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 July 2014
Detective James Payton (Cube) thinks his sister's boyfriend Ben Barber (Hart) is not good enough for her. Ben desperately want's to prove himself, so Payton decides to take his prospective brother in law & future cop , on a Police ride along to see what he is made of. Comedy & mayhem ensue.

Ride Along is one of those films that is guilty of the funniest bit's in the trailer, being in fact the best bits of the film pretty much. The main story sets up a good comedy partnership, revolving around surly & never good enough for his standards, Ice Cube (Boyz N The Hood), as the perfect deadpan accompaniment to the fast talking & manic funny guy Kevin Hart (Laugh at My Pain). Perhaps not a classic buddy cop partnership as it lacks that certain, spark, and is more of a distinct pair of performances rather then perfect cohesion, but never the less it gets the job done. A new face to me, Kevin Hart, manages to draw out the laughs from the material, which in most part is as a parody of Ice Cube's character, poking fun at his own small stature, inflated body parts or Training Day references. I particularly liked him being a hard core gamer, the transference of game rules to real life was different & a nice modern touch. He's an interesting character after first inspection, not as striking as Martin Lawrence or slick as Eddie Murphy, kind of in-between. Ice cool hard man, Ice Cube, handles the nitty gritty of the explosive high speed pursuits & shoot out's, his trademark coolness is a perfect contrast to his bumbling sidekick. I loved his brief & highly memorable surliness scenes in 21 Jump Street, but exposure for an entire film may feel a little overbearing for some tastes.

In the background to the Ride Along, is a rather formulaic & predictable cop story. Backed up by a decent supporting cast with John Leguizamo (Moulin Rouge) & Bryan Callen adding some all too brief comedy injections in minor roles. Tika Sumpter as the girlfriend who had a good rapport with Hart , Bruce McGill (Rizzoli and Isles) as the stern lieutenant (isn't he too nice for this role ? Frank McRae would had been awsome if it was made in his era) & a brief yet big impact performance by Laurence Fishburne (The Matrix) who instantly uplifts the quality of the film as soon as he appears, albeit briefly at that.

In conclusion, Ride Along is very funny at times with some nice idea's & the film is well presented, but certainly not a classic action comedy. Nevertheless it's financial success in America means a sequel is already in the works, Ka-Ching!. Contains Strong language & violence. Worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
The beginning months of the year are never the greatest time for comedic films, but you certainly can't go wrong when Kevin Hart is your lead actor. He's quickly rising to the top, starring in popular movies like "Think Like a Man" and "The Five-Year Engagement" in the past few years. Though his new movie "Ride Along" never surpasses some of his more funnier work, that isn't to say it's not good. It had me laughing throughout, and I'm betting it will do the same to you.

The story centers around Ben (Kevin Hart), a fast talking security guard who wants to marry his long-time girlfriend Angela. The only thing standing in his way is her brother James, played by Ice Cube, a decorated police officer who isn't exactly fond of him. In order to prove he's worthy, Ben is forced to go on a ride along and is quickly wrapped up into the scary crime-scene of Atlanta. As you can imagine, the hilarity ensues.

This definitely isn't a movie to take too seriously, just sit back and enjoy it. Hart easily carries the film and provides most, if not all, of the laughs. It may not be the greatest comedy out there, but it would make a killer Friday-night rental. Rated PG-13 for violence and language, "Ride Along" is fun and entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2016
Didn't see the film first time around when it came out at the cinema. Seen trailers. Thought it was worthline renting. I was pleasantly happy with the film. It was had plently of action & comedy packed. I found myself laughing out loud at some of the one liner jokes. I would definitely recommend it to frends and family to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
I was drawn to this because I saw the trailer for the sequel and an interview with the stars and the sequel looked quite funny. However, it seems I was fooled. A strictly formulaic buddy movie, pretty tedious, Ice Cube plays his usual grumpy self and Kevin Hart's attempts to liven things up with his goofiness just come across as annoying, whereas in the right role he can be quite funny. Will be avoiding the sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)