Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
20
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2017
Enjoyed seeing the actors again. A gentler time for films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
I wasn't sure about ordering this, as the advance publicity didn't make it sound that interesting - however, I was pleasantly surprised. I would imagine in 1961 it could have been regarded as quite daring, as throughout the first half of the film Richard Todd tries desperately to get his various girlfriends alone and is constantly thwarted in his amorous ambitions, and in the second half the film echoes the later "Boeing, Boeing" as all the girls arrive unannounced at his flat, causing mayhem!
That's about it as far as the plot goes, but the whole thing is very attractive to look at, nice locations of 1960's Edinburgh and fleeting views of various European locations. Lovely widescreen and very good colour too.
As usual Network have produced a top quality transfer to DVD - well done! They really have no equal at the moment as far as vintage releases are concerned. Leading ladies June Thorburn, Nicole Maurey and Elke Sommer are most attractive and nicely contrasted both in looks and personality. A special mention, too, must be made of Judith Anderson in a role as far from Mrs Danvers as anyone could imagine! Richard Todd is an amusing hero, and pretty handsome too!

This isn't a classic by any measure, but it's enjoyable and light hearted and it's very good to have it in circulation again after so many years. I don't ever recall it being on British TV, maybe in the 60's or 70's but not since. I can't really see how anyone would not enjoy it as much as I did.
22 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 September 2014
I wish I could be as enthusiastic about this Network release of a long unseen film, but I just can't. NETWORK have, as usual given us a marvellous transfer_Scope 2.35 ratio, good colour picture and sound, with, somewhat mysteriously, "Mute Film Inserts", a trailer and Image Gallery. No subs. A good price makes this a VFM DVD in quality. Sadly I found the film unamusing and Todd embarrasingly miscast as a philandering Romeo trying to get every girl he meets into bed...It just isn't the Todd I know and like, ie "stiff upper lip" as opposed to...fill in the gap. The comedy is strained and the excellent support cast (John le Mes/Eleanor Summerfield/Colin Gordon/Ronnie Fraser are wasted. The sex scenes seemed awkward to me. What saves the film from being a complete failure is a great performence from Judith Anderson who virtually steals every scene she has. And, of course Nicole Maurey, and my favourite, Elke Sommer, who wears shorts to die for and a bikini that sends you to heaven. Angela Douglas has a (very small part and Jane Merrow is one of Anderson's girls but I didn' t spot her. So, not a terrible film, but it has dated and doesn't wear well. For fans of Todd, and if you like Elke you will almost certainly enjoy her performence. Shame, but 3 stars is all I can manage.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
All right, harmless enough I suppose but a little tedious with a threadbare theme that could have justified watching time by half. The theme? A male fatale with the idea that marriage makes everything in the garden dandy. Todd would have been better giving this one a miss.

Not to be confused with a more serious film with the same title from1952 featuring Marylyn Munroe and Richard Widmark. Don't Bother To Knock [DVD]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2016
Strangely enough, this film has not 'dated' as they say. Richard Todd was perfectly cast as an 'Alfie' prototype in this refreshingly 'politically incorrect' B-movie! Indeed, there is something rather subversive in its so-called 'reactionary' sexism This film is certainly not for feminists or liberals or leftist Marxist cultural critics! But no doubt it will be viewed on those awful 'cultural studies' courses 'deconstructing' the sexual attitudes' of the day and smirked at by snobby snide leftist intellectuals

The colour of the print is deep and rich having much more 'depth' of richness in colour than many films produced today; also it is always a delight to see the fashions of the day with the wonderfully elegant cut of the clothes worn by the 'ladies'. This film is well worth watching if you are not politically correct. The marvelous music was composed by the radical composer, Elisabeth Lutyens, whose scores are like sounds emanating from Francis Bacon paintings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Excellent movie from the tried and trusted formula of Network and Studio Canal. Excellent print and sound and a great addition to any collection of obscure British Cinema. Richard Todd (The Dambusters) (Death Drums Along the River) shows his versatility in the Comedy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
Don't Bother To Buy. No substance. Must have made it because they had nothing else to do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
Wonderful Romantic Comedy ! I certainly have empathy for the character who finds himself in so many compromising situations ! Somehow, he survives all of the encounters, and the story ends with a "Happily ever after" conclusion (I think). Elke Sommers was at her best ! This is a fun movie not to be taken too seriously !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
nice to see these British film coming onto the market especially in there original 235;1 FORMAT worth a watch good delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)