Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
86
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2014
After too many years of wrestlemania just not quite delivering as it should,it proves it does still have it.
This one starts of with the host HULK HOGAN,a slightly confused one,forgetting where he is. He is soon joined by Steve Austin,then The Rock. It's a great way to open the show,and makes a change from the usual song praising America,usually oversung by someone few people outside America care about. But this gathering of arguably the top 3 wrestling stars ever was quite a sight.
This said,it did go on for a fair while and it took about 40 minutes before any wrestling took place,so fun but too long.

So the first match is DANIEL BRYAN finally getting his hands on TRIPLE H,with the winner being inserted into the main event.
What a start to the show,loads of highlights,brilliant wrestling,a feud intensifying,telling a brilliant story. This was what it should've been,really exciting stuff to get the blood pumping.
Next THE SHIELD take on KANE and THE NEW AGE OUTLAWS. A bit of a joke this one,i thought they would've had all 3 members of THE SHIELD facing each other in a real clash to get into,but no. So we have a rushed match offering very little,with just a nice end to make up for it.
The 30 man battle royal was a good one,with some great moments and KOFI KINGSTON giving a wrestlemania moment,the winner was an interesting one,but I had no gripes,he was impressive.
JOHN CENA takes on the oddity that is BRAY WYATT. The enterance for Bray was chilling and fitting,the match had moments of weirdness to stand out as being something really different,Bray played his character brilliantly. Cena looked great and gave the look of someone who was getting his mind messed with. I really appreciated this one.
UNDERTAKER defends his undefeated streak against the beast that is BROCK LESNAR. It takes a while to get going,but still has some nice moments and that end...that end that will be discussed for years. Great match,not one of Undertaker's best,but still very good.
The DIVA open invitational match was better than the usual diva ones,AJ looked as great as always and there were some good moments.
The main event,RANDY ORTON vs BATISTA vs the winner of the nights event opener really went for it.
Some top spots and all 3 wrestlers had shining moments. Batista,who looked pretty bad in previous weeks actually delivered here,Randy Orton looked great and the 3rd man really helped things along. The ringside area really got a battering
and some incidents had you wondering just what would happen next. For me,this match delivered its promise of a top encounter.

So a wrestlemania that few would find fault with,some shocks that might've annoyed,but a night to remember,great story telling,impressive wrestling and many a thrill. Wow,that's a wrestlemania.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Wrestlemania 30 was a strange card - although there was plenty of top notch in ring action and certainly a few "Wrestlemania moments" some of the booking decisions left a lot to be desired. Overall though I thought it was at the higher end of the. Wrestlemania tree and quite befitted the 30th "anniversary".

I'll run through a few thoughts on the matches themselves and the extras on this Blu Ray package.

The Host welcomes us to the show - During this opening segment the crowd chant "this is awesome" and they're not wrong. Hogan, Stonecold and then The Rock all in the same ring sharing beers and catchphrases. Pure nostalgic gold.

Triple H v Daniel Bryan - Cracking entrance from Tripper, Bryan's is more understated but the crowd are on fire for him. Good match - a nice slow build with good psychology before an electric finish after the trading of big moves and near falls.

New Age Outlaws v The Shield - Fun but very short match. A criminal waste of The Shields talents on the grandest stage surely? Especially after the classic they pulled off against the Wyatts a few weeks earlier at Elimination Chamber.

Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal - This is so overcrowded at the start it's tough to know exactly who's in there. Once it thins out a bit it turns out to be good fun - good spots from Cesaro, Dolph Ziggler and Kofi Kingston, they're the stars of this part of the show.

John Cena v Bray Wyatt - Fantastic entrance for the Wyatt Family with their music (Live in Fear) played live by Mark Crozer and the Rels. Love that song. The match is not bad but not great, the storyline and the outside interference keeps things ticking over - I can't figure out how the outcome was best for business though.

Undertaker v Brock Lesnar - I won't get bogged down in the politics of it all but I can't agree with the result of this one either, just an opinion though. The match itself I felt was good enough but suffers in comparison to Takers matches at Wrestlemania over the last 5/6 years. The bar has been set so high and this one can't reach it. The crowd are strangely flat for much of it, perhaps believing there's only one possible outcome. The crowd reactions at the end though are absolutely priceless, as spontaneous and genuine as it gets.

Divas Championship Invitational - With 14 ladies in this one it's a bit messy at times, like the Battle Royal it improves when there are less competitors in the ring. Most get to run through a spot or two and it's decent enough.

Randy Orton v Batista v Daniel Bryan for the WWE World Heavyweight Title - Orton gets the live music treatment as well - as he should, he's the champ. The match is a cracker. Triple threats are usually pretty lively and with outside interference, a crooked ref, a sledgehammer and some great spots, this is no exception. It's an all action affair from start to finish from all three guys and the ideal way to end the show. When WWE go on (and on) about Wrestlemania moments, this is what they're talking about.

On to the extras..........................

The Real Americans v Rybaxel v Los Matadores v The Usos for the Tag Team Titles - This is from the pre show and is a good fast paced match, given a bit more time to develop than the usual pre show stuff.

Hall of Fame 2014 - This is basically the full show, all 3 and a half hours of it. The inductees are Razor Ramon, Carlos Colon, Mr T, Lita, Jake Roberts, Paul Bearer and The Ultimate Warrior. Highlights include poignant and emotional speeches from Jake and Warrior (even more so after the sad passing of the Warrior just a few days later). Razors good value too and there's brief fun to be had with The Clique, Bad News Barrett and Carlito at different times.

Top 30 Wrestlemania Moments - Speedy countdown of highlights from years past, running for 19 minutes. The order is totally redundant - a clip of Pete Rose being tombstoned ranks above the HBK/Razor ladder match and the Savage/Steamboat classic. Really WWE? Really?

Interviews - Short (in character) interviews with Hogan, Batista, Orton and Cena to hype the show.

Promos - Various short promo videos hyping matches on the show. The best of these is a cool Triple H video voiced by Stephanie.

Others - An Andre the Giant tribute which is nice but waaaaaaaaay too short at just 3 minutes. And the unveiling of a Bruno Sammartino statue with the great man himself which is even shorter but still nice.

And that's it. Mostly good stuff, get involved.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
30 years in the making, it's Wrestlemania 30 baby. 75,000 people packed inside the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans got to witness one of the biggest and most anticipated spectacles in sports entertainment history. Now it's your turn.

I had a huge expectation going into this show and it certainly delivers.

The opening in-ring segment with Hogan/Austin/Rock is nostalgic bliss for anyone who grew up around WWE in the 80s or 90s.

From there, the tempo is set and the show rolls on.

There's a few 'filler' matches (although seeing the New Age Outlaws on a Wrestlemania so long after their last one was a real 'Wrestlemania moment') but the big matches all deliver:
Daniel Bryan vs HHH
The Undertaker vs Brock Lesnar
Bray Wyatt vs John Cena
Randy Orton vs Batista vs the winner of the Bryan/HHH match

And, of course, the Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal. Anyone familiar with Wrestlemania history and trasition will know that the multi-man over the top rope battle royal is a huge part of Wrestlemania tradition, and paying homage to one of the true greats of the business was a very good touch.

All in all, it might not be the best show ever, but it is certainly a very good one, and one of my favourite Wrestlemanias.

It's good fun, it's full of quality matches, and there are plenty of nods to the history and tradition built up over the previous 30 years.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
It was for my son, honest. Whatever its many failings, WWE is well-honed product and a mighty spectacle. True fans don't care that it's all show, it's a show for goodness' sake! My son is a WWE expert, and I suppose this DVD contributed to his specialist knowledge, sort of research. Apparently not one of the best Wrrestlemanias - I speak as an expert, having taken my son and wife to Wrestlemania XXXI, which actually was a great show, much to my amazement. My son loved it, absolutely loved it, and says that it was much better than this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
** SPOILER ALERT **

To me - a lifetime wrestling fan by the way - I felt this Wrestlemania was the most personal when compared to its predecessors. This is mainly due to the fact that it is the culmination of the so-called "Daniel Bryan Story". After years of battling in the indies and numerous ups and downs in wrestling (including being released and rehired by WWE), Bryan finally got what he dedicated his life to - The WWE World Heavyweight Championship. Definitely a strong contender for my favourite Wrestlemania moment of all time - especially when the win comes a year after persecution by The Authority.

Every match on this card had me glued to the screen. The only match that I didn't like was the Cena vs Wyatt match. Don't get me wrong, Wyatt is a great performer and future star, but this match felt slow and I got the feeling that even the crowd were disinterested in this bout. Furthermore, I'm fed up with Super Cena! Also, to defend the Divas (who get much criticism everywhere) their match was overall very enjoyable and solid with some nice spots. Nice job on that one and it was great to see a Diva who too has such passion for the industry compete at an event she used to grow up watching - props to AJ Lee.

And the Hogan, Stone Cold and Rock segment....don't get me started on that! Huge nostalgia piece for older fans there!

Overall, great Wrestlemania, very befitting celebration to 30 years of the "Grandest Stage of them All".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
Wrestlemania 30.
Daniel Bryan vs. Triple H was a 5 star match. Both gave their all and Bryan prove he was more than a b plus player.
The sheild vs. Kane and The New Age Outlaws was a bit dissapointing as the match did not last long.
30 man Andre The Giant Battle Royal good concept by WWE but did not live up to expectations. Big Show should have won.
John Cena vs. Bray Wyatt
A great match a bit bizzare at times. Interesting story line.
Brock Lesnar vs. Undertaker.
This match I beleive will be Undertakers last ashame the streak had to end. Thank you Taker.
Divas championship invitational.
This match was ok but WWE could have promoted a better match.
WWE World Championship
Randy Orton vs. Batista vs. Daniel Bryan
Best triple thret match in a long time.
Daniel Brian performence of the night
Over all a great Wrestlemania but could have been so much more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
The build up to this WM wasn't as great as others, particulalrly considering it was a big anniversary. The crowd on paper didn't look great, but boy oh boy did this show surprise me. Every match was good maybe the Divas match was a bit of a let down, but every one went out there to do a job and they did. From the start with the 3 biggest money makers ever to the end with Bryan as the WWE WHC. The most important thing about this Mania was that it ushered in a new era and shocased the newer stars. Bryan as the main champion by way of defeating 3/4 of the best faction of the last decade, The Shield desimated three key players from the Attitude Era, and although Cena won (don't really mind this) Bray and his clan looked strong and they did not suffer, as shown by the crowd the following night on Raw. This Mania has entered into my top 5 list:

5 - WM30
4 - WM23
3 - WMXIX
2 - WMIII
1 - WMX-Seven

I highly recommend this DVD.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
A fantastic Wrestlemania 30 (XXX) where we saw the "Yes Moment" expand, a 21-0 undefeated Wrestlemania streak conquered, and just an amazing night of fantastic wrestling.

Daniel Bryan vs Triple H: ****
The winner of this match gets himself entered into the main event for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship. A match just full of action, between two superstars who just put on the best opening performance at Wrestlemania.

The New Age Outlaws & Kane vs The Shield: ***
A six man tag team that didn't really have a lot of In ring time, but for the time it was given we had some good tag team action, especially from The Shield.

Andre The Giant Battle Royal: ****
A battle royal filled up with superstars i.e. Big Show, Cesaro, Sheamus, Alberto Del Rio just to name a few. The eliminations were done really well, and we had a great finale between Big Show and Cesaro.

John Cena vs Bray Wyatt: ****
A match that Jerry Lawler enjoyed, and was very personal all through. Bray Wyatt was trying to get Cena to let all his anger out, but Cena literally just stood his ground to pulling off a good Wrestlemania match.

Brock Lesnar vs the Undertaker: ****
A match that shook up the WWE Universe. We had a great battle between these two, but it was just an instant moment of silence when Lesnar delivered the third F-5 to the Undertaker for the victory.

Diva invitational for the WWE Divas Championship: **"
This was fairly average, but good to see the reign of the lovely AJ Lee being carried forward.

Daniel Bryan vs Batista vs Randy Orton: *****
A triple threat for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship, match of the night and my favourite match of the year (2014). This match was just awesome from start to finish. A badly injured Daniel Bryan put on the best performance of his life, and to live the dream on being the "WWE World Heavyweight Champion". "Yes" "Yes" "Yes".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Unmissable Wrestlemania, Great opening with Hulk Hogan and two surprise appearances, shocks and triumphs all round, my dad watched it too after years of not seeing the current product and he really enjoyed, highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
Wrestlemania 30 will be remembered as one of the most historic, surprising and enjoyable 'Manias of all time. Everything about this night was good to great. The matches, the crowd, the stage, the entrances and of course, the Wrestlemania atmosphere; which was very strong with this show. All seven matches were enjoyable - including the surprisingly good divas match - and added to this show's overall success. It achieved at celebrating the past and looking towards the future of WWE.

If you are a fan of professional wrestling, you will love this show!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)