Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
119
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2014
To my surprise - and for such a low price - this CD set is consistently excellent. Within the 60 songs there are no real duds.

Most importantly for me, these are authentic recordings from the time and the sound is very good. I share another reviewer's disappointment that there is no further information on the recordings, specifically dates of recording, but that won't stop me from giving the package 5 stars. I am 66 years old and this collection contains most of the familiar favourites plus others I found myself knowing once I got into the chorus of the song. I am very satisfied with my purchase !
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Considering most if not all these recordings are going on for 100 years old the sound is inevitably 'vintage,' but that is only to be expected. What loses a star is the total absence of any documentation! Far better to have charged another pound and included a booklet which would have greatly enhanced the set.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Lovely to hear original recordings of theses songs, our church is having a flower festival based on WW1 songs, so this was good research material, people never remember the verses only the chorus, the verses are well worth listening too.
Be great for schools doing projects on the Great War.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
The collectionof songs from this era is very good and is bringing back vivid memories for my mother who is busy with the Women's Institute getting ready to celebrate their centenary next year. One slight criticism is that there should have been a bibliography included to explain the songs and list the lyrics in full. Perhaps a re-issue with these included will be a best seller.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Extraordinary value for money in this evocative set of songs from the era. Some familiar, some less so. Interesting to see how some genuinely tug at the heartstrings while others are clearly bandwagon jumpers. The mocking of the conscientious objector as a camp 'pansy' is a truly chilling moment. Original recordings, so don't expect hifi sound, and I would have liked more notes and details than just a list of songs and artistes, but still a very worthwhile purchase.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Comprehensive original artist recordings of the most played songs in WW1. Nothing unfamiliar but amazingly fresh for such early sound recordings. Extremely good value considering the number of tracks and the fidelity achieved for the sources available.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
The songs are recorded from the original - I found some of them rather difficult to listen to as they are not too clear - I want to use them for some events we are providing and would have preferred a recording that we could just have playing in the background - but this will not be possible to do with most of the songs on the cd as they are just too crackly etc. Otherwise they are obviously a true listening experience from back in the day.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
Authentic recordings are a treasure. Pure nostalgia. This is a poignant and heartwarming collection of sixty songs from the time. Get together with your friends and have a sing-along in the centenary year of the outbreak of WW1. Great price for three CDs. What a find.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
Really good, with not just the well-known choruses but the songs in full. Pleased also to find a few unexpected songs with which I am also familiar. Many years ago I used to sing them with my late Grandfather, who fought in WW1, so they brought back some lovely memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
This is a fine collection of songs at a very reasonable price. Only slight criticism was that the National Anthem was featured part way through one of the CDs, when I feel naturally that it should be at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)