Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 13 October 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. The story progresses at pace without losing the reader, and the magic 'system' is a novel one. The characters were engaging enough to keep me interested in their plight, though the aforementioned pace of the book left me less invested in them than I might have liked. It felt sometimes that the book tried to squeeze too much in, I would have liked a lengthier read so that the story and characters could have been fleshed out a little more. The battles were engaging and fast paced, though I often was left confused as to how they actually transpired, rather I was aware only of who was winning and that people were dying, that said they were still very enjoyable.

All in all a great novel that I can only assume was a debut. I will definitely be reading the next one, and if James Maxwell further improves it will be an excellent read and will net him 5 stars from me. 4 stars for 'enchantress' if I could do half stars it would be 4.5!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2017
I loved this book. Interesting characters and storyline. I couldn't put it down and went straight on to the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2015
An absolutely wonderful read. The author builds up surroundings so well you feel as though you are inside them. The characters are vivid and I felt as though I was leaving behind companions when the book finished. Truly wonderful fantasy settings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2017
The first of 4 books about the struggle between gòod and evil, but on a different planet. Fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2015
I could not get away from this adventure. Stayed up late reading until my eyes closed and I fell asleep only to wake up a few hours later to get back to this story. Looking forward to part 2!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2017
Not sure why I didn't give it 5 stars, the pace kept me through making me half read certain aspects I think, it helped with convenient or less believable elements. Very enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2017
good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2017
This is a good, readable novel with interesting characters and some new ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2017
A well written and imaginative book about a fantasy world of magic, battles and power struggles. Ideal as an escape from boredom on the London Tube.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2017
Bought this for my mother for her birthday - she was very happy to receive it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse