Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
16
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2014
The Tour of Flanders one of the monuments of cycling, one of the oldest and greatest races in the world steeped in history and one of the intricacies of the sport in that the winner is generally considered more worthy than the world road champion! This book helps to explain why this is.
The book is not exceptionally well written, I found myself having to go back and work out who or what the author was talking about a few times. However I think that this can be put down to the authors over enthusiasm for the subject and not a lack of care on his part. His obvious enthusiasm added to my enjoyment.
I am not sure how this book would read to someone who did not have a fair knowledge of cycling and its characters and traditions, maybe you need to know, or be willing to learn about who they were and what made them special, otherwise it is a barrage of faceless names. I have been around cycling for a long time!
A definite must read for the cycling enthusiast on a wet and windy day when you are thinking that you will curl up in front of the fire and leave the bike in its shed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
I have been to three 'Ronde van Vlaanderen'/Tour of Flanders (since 2001) and spoke to 'Fast' Freddy, 'King' Eddy, Roger 'le Gitan'. pre/after those races. Supreme event, and away ahead of any strength my legs has seen. Supreme riders, supreme races, and many are included in this supreme book about the Tour of Flanders. Any competition-interest with cyclists will recognise this book, and its values. Eddy knows best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Felt it was too short. Brief history of the development of the country and the north south divide. The division added nothing to the story and after that the race details were average. Pleasant read but not too taxing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
I've got loads of your books Les. Like you I was on the staff of Cycling. But unlike you I've never written a book. But they just keep coming from you and your style gets more laid back with every tome. Love the style, love the content, love my Mrs. Great book. Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Just love anything to do with the tour of Flanders, starts off great and very in depth then its a rush job missing some key riders, not multi winners but the riders that made the Ronde the race it is today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
If you're passionate about cycling and the history of the classics then this is a must read. Having ridden this twice (sportive) it puts the pros event into absolute perspective
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
Bought as a gift for someone with a family history to Belgium, absolutely loved it, makes a fantastic gift to anyone intrested in cycling, great maps inside
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
A very good read with lots of background history.

Author is a very respected and capable author.

Read it, do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Brilliant book, very fun to read and very insightful on the history
and some of the characters around the race
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
This book is pretty appallingly structured, you have to be a real enthusiast to fight your way through it. It's basically a list of winners, with references to anecdotes that are only ever half told. The 'inside story' promises much but fails to deliver anything particularly new as it leaps back and forwards through decades with no real rhyme nor reason. There are some great stories around the Ronde, and a real Inside Story around it's continued activity throughout WWII, that are waiting to be told i'm sure. This book does not tell them and glosses over anything that might lead to negativity associated with the race and it's founders with a hurried embarrassment. I really wanted to like this book, unfortunately i didn't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)