Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
252
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2001
This is about as good a selection as you are likely to see on a best of, especially considering the number of albums Springsteen has made. Choosing tracks from his colllection must have been an unenviable task. The first two albums are ignored, but at least that means the cd starts with the terrific Born to Run. Thunder Road is done better on Sprinsteen's live collections, but still deserves inclusion. New fans will be drawn to Born in the USA and Dancing in the Dark, but keep listening and there are other great songs here, such as the more moody Atlantic City and film theme Streets of Philadelphia. The four new tracks are ok, and shows Bruce is not being lazy, but perhaps the space could have been used for some of the classics that didn't make the collection. Its disappointing songs like Jungleland, Racing in the Street, One Step Up and Two Hearts miss out, but perhaps they might appear on a Best of the Rest in the future, that would be great. However, you simply can't give this cd less than 5/5, its one of the few best ofs around that is listenable from start to finish.
11 comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2001
This has all the favourites on it from 'Born In The USA' to 'Dancing In The Dark' and is an album that anyone who appreciates quality music should buy. The real evidence that proves what a genius Springsteen is, is the material that did not make this album... songs like 'I'm On Fire', 'No Surrender' and 'One Step Up'. All in all though, a very worthy Greatest Hits collection.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
Bruce Springsteen has had 22 UK top 40 hits (counting double A sides) It shouldn't therefore be too difficult to compile an 18 track 'Greatest Hits' album running to a generous 1 hour and 17 minutes (as this album does). Which 4 tracks do you leave out? Santa Claus is Coming to Town perhaps. People are unlikely to want that all year round. Hits that didn't make the top 30? - Spare Parts, 57 Channels and Nothing on, Lonesome Day. These four are indeed all missing. Unfortunately so are Cover Me, I'm on Fire, The Ghost of Tom Joad, Tougher Than the Rest and War.

If you really are looking for Bruce Springsteen's 'greatest hits' on a single CD this is the nearest you will get even with 9 UK hits out of 22 missing. In their place you can listen to Atlantic City, Badlands, Blood Brothers, Murder Incorporated and Thunder Road. Good tracks all, but not hit singles.

As a retrospective of Bruce's work between 1974 and 1995 this is a good album. Tracks are in chronological order of recording - bar Murder Incorporated and This Hard Land - and offer an interesting insight into the progression of his work. If you are looking to have just one Bruce Springsteen album in your collection this is probably the best choice particularly at the 'give away' price.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2003
I got this album for christmas last year and since then it's been my most listened-to album. I'd heard a few Springsteen songs in my time before then but this collection is totally classic and just great fun.
'Born To Run' is emotional and charged and you can see why it made Bruce a star. 'Thunder Road', after several listens, became one of my utmost favourite Bruce songs. It's actually a lot better live (try the Live In New York DVD) but still great on the album. Track 3, 'Badlands' is probably my favourite. It's pure singalong rock and like most of Bruce's music, it does actually mean something. 'The River' is a slow-moving and hearty track and a nice listen.
'Hungry Heart' is one of the only two tracks I usually skip, because it is just irritating, and the singer doesn't sound like Bruce.
We then have 'Atlantic City', which is rather chilling in terms of the lyrics. 'Dancing In The Dark' is another of my favourites, energetic and just so much fun. Then comes Bruce's major hit 'Born In The USA', which is hard-hitting and powerful.
Next up is the other track I don't really like, 'My Hometown'. Granted it's not a bad song but it's rather boring.
'Glory Days' is an old-fashioned rocker that's quite fun, and after that we have 'Brilliant Disguise' which is laid back but very, very good, as is 'Human Touch' (even more laid back to begin with). 'Better Days' is uplifting and dramatic rock with a gospel choir and quite nice too.
'Streets Of Philadelphia' from the film Philadelphia is very slow but a rewarding listen. 'Secret Garden', featured in Jerry Maguire, is slow again but still a nice song.
The next track is my favourite of Bruce's harder rocking songs. 'Murder Incorporated' was actually an outtake from the Born In The USA album, one that fans loved hearing live, and so it was put on this disc. This song is nothing short of brilliant.
The last two tracks, 'Blood Brothers' and 'This Hard Land' are both very good, the former being a softish song while the latter is more outward. They both finish with a large amount of harmonica, which is welcome.
Overall the album is top quality, one of the best greatest hits compilations I've seen. I do think there are many songs that should be on there that aren't, and so it's not perfect but I think you can get a very clear picture of the Springsteen repertoire from this album and would recommend it very highly.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2005
For a mere £10.99 at the moment, this cd contains 16 absolutely fantastic songs. Every single one is fabulous, the only short falling is that it doesn't have many from darkness on the edge of town - it is sadly missing both "racing in the street" and "darkness on the edge of town" itself. Despite this it is hard to find fault with the compilation - perhaps they could have included a couple of tracks from before born to run - but it has all of his greatest hits on there.
Best song: Streets of Philadelphia (though with very stiff competition from the river and atlantic city)
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This album does a good job compiling almost all of Bruce Springsteen's best-known songs, and if that's what you're looking for, "Greatest Hits" is for you.
The only thing is that Bruce Springsteen's first seven albums all contained so many great album tracks that you're really going to miss out on something if this is the only Springsteen-album you ever get.
Besides, "Greatest Hits" contains not a single track from Springsteen's first two albums. That's fair enough, considering that those two didn't produce any significant hits, but the compilers at Columbia Records would have done a much better job if they had made a "best of" and chosen Springsteen's best album tracks as well, instead of merely going for the chart successes.
And don't you just hate it when they put out a compilation with a few new songs on it, just to make people buy it even though they already have all the hits?
(The only really great song among those four, by the way, is the excellent, slightly folkish rocker "This Hard Land". Bruce Springsteen meets Bob Dylan. The electric Bob Dylan, that is.)
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
First of all let me say I quite like Bruce Sprinsteen. Im not a huge fan, but I do like his quite a few of his songs. I already own 'Born in the USA' which in my opinion is much better than this collection of his greatest hits. I actually bought this because the price was reasonable but mainly because it has the song 'Philadelphia' on it, which I absolutely love and as far as I know isn't on any other album of his. So in my opinion it has about 8 excellent tracks on it and the rest are average (IMHO). There are no poor songs. If like me, you are a casual Sprinsteen fan and want to buy one album personally I would go with 'Born in the USA', but this is a good second choice.

No issues with quality, delivery, packing, etc - all that stuff. Purely a review on the CD itself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2006
There are some artists in this world who's reputation is so great and their status so legendary that, upon the mere mention of their name, you know they are someone worth listening to. Bob Dylan is one, David Bowie is certainly another and as for Bruce Springsteen, well, upon my hearing of this album just a couple of weeks ago I would not hesitate to add his name to that prestigious list.

His songs are quite simply breathtaking. The stadium fillers such as Badlands, Dancing In The Dark and any track begining with the word Born, manage to incite impromptu lighter waving and/or punching the air, without treading the cheesier, much more cliche littered road of artists like Bon Jovi or Meat Loaf (as much as I love that big fat Texan!) As the balladeer, on tracks like The River, My Hometown and the brilliant Atlantic City, Springsteen really shows himself to be an acute songwriter and tender performer; not befitting the vest and jeans image of Born In The USA (the image I had of him before I actually listened to him).

To those who have yet to hear any of what this man has to offer, buy this compilation now! It has got me addicted and already I'm eyeing up that 30th Anniversary Edition Born To Run...
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bruce(The Boss)Springsteen' 'Rock-Star' 'Song Writer' 'Musician'
Probably considered somewhere between 'Rock' and 'Country'
He first entered the U.S. top 30 way back in 1975 with 'Born to Run' which
also made the lower end of the U.K hit parade.
His highest placing in the U.K chart was number '2' with 'Streets of Philadelphia'
in 1994, must admit the song I always remember him by is 'Born in the U.S.A'
which reached number '9' in the billboard Top 100, number '5' here in the U.K.
Of course the 'Boss' still tours today pleasing his audiences wherever he performs.
This album has many of his hits and best known numbers on board including
tracks such as....'Dancing in the Dark'....'Glory Days'....'My Hometown'....'Human
Touch'....'Better Days'....and ....'Secret Garden' ....as well of course with tracks
mentioned earlier in the review.....these being among the best known numbers
on board this album, there are of course several of his U.K chart successes missing.
(which of course is why we often need more than one album to have all the hits)
Overall this of course is a splendid reflection of 'The Boss's' music'
Keep on Rockin'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2016
I received this product free of charge or at a discounted rate to be reviewed on Amazon reviews. Well firstly, what can I say. It is of a very high quality as opposed to others like this I have bought recently or in the past. It arrived promptly before the scheduled delivery date and was very well packaged indeed. There really is nothing to dislike about this product it ticks all the boxes as far as I am concerned. I was unsure about the quality of this item but I was very pleasantly surprised when it arrived. I give it 10 out of 10. And I would definitely recommend it to anybody out there thinking of buying one. Great seller, great price and overall a great product and I will see what other items are for sale from this vendor as I am so impressed with it overall. Thank you very much indeed I'm well happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)