Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
1,391
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£18.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 21 August 2014
I am 80yrs old and have had Cap as my favourite comic book character since I was a small boy. I lived in Liverpool then and we were being bombed heavily but we were able to get American Comic Books via the ships which survived their journey. I remember wishing then that these coloured super heroswere real and would free us from this Nazi tyranny. I applaud the gent who has arranged for Cap to be renewed and this film is full of the amazing action and movement which I could not have envisaged as a boy. It's just great watch it and enjoy it for what it is meant to be. To quote Jon Hendricks / Annie Ross " don't just dig it stay cool and wig it".
88 Comments| 280 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Another superhero movie from Marvel studios, this is a sequel to Captain America: The First Avenger [DVD].

It takes place after the events of Marvel's Avengers Assemble [DVD]. Familiarity with both movies will help, as you might be a bit lost in the story otherwise. But if you're reading this you've doubtless seen both those films, so that shouldn't be a problem.

This is somewhat loosely based on Captain America: Winter Soldier:, a Captain America comic story from a few years back. You won't need to have read that to get into this though.

Steve Rogers [Chris Evans] is working for S.H.I.E.L.D. as they attempt to deal with evil forces. As a decent opening sequence shows you. A scene that contains one good surprise for those who know their Marvel comics continuity. He's also working closely with Black Widow [Scarlett Johansson].

But for a man from a time of simple virtues and an age when it was easy to tell the good guys and the bad guys apart, the modern world is still something he's got to get used to.

He may not get the chance. When uncovering a conspiracy leaves him wanted and on the run. On top of all of S.H.I.E.L.D. being after him, there's also a mysterious assassin to contend with...

This is one of the best movies to come from this studio to date. And very much five star material. In addition to having decent action, humour and character drama, it scores highly because it's a little different to all the other superhero movies. It's not just an action fest. It's a spy drama and conspiracy thriller, and in that respect is very reminiscent of certain classics of that genre from the 1970's. Keeping the viewer on the edge of their seat with a plot that twists and turns and contains a lot of surprises.

Which they most certainly are. Because the status quo of things at the end of the film is totally different from at the start. And it's not a hoax, a dream or an imaginary story. It contains plot developments that impact the Marvel cinema universe as a whole. Making for exciting storytelling.

Chris Evans is a superb lead. Also ably supported by Scarlett Johansson, as the two share a good amount of screen time and have an excellent chemistry together.

The Winter Soldier character doesn't quite figure as much as you would expect, but they are there for a reason that will become apparent.

It's a bit of a shame that the film does falter slightly in the final quarter, when it moves away from the exciting conspiracy drama to go big action blockbuster finale instead. Whilst a decent finale, it doesn't feel as if it offers anything that new. But that's the only complaint about an excellent film that really succeeds in doing what it sets out to do.

Keep watching during the end credits for two extra scenes. One in the middle and one right at the end.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, Hindi, Telegu, Tamil.

Subtitles: English, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian, Swedish.

The disc begins with one trailer, which can be skipped via the next button on the dvd remote.

There are just two extras:

Steve Roger's notebook: a two minute feature all about Steve's notebook, which you see in the film he uses to record things of the times he's missed that he needs to catch up on. This is quite interesting in regards to how it was put together.

There's also a one minute long deleted scene. That's quite good.

The box also contains a pack of Hero Attax, a trading card game involving Marvel comic characters.
33 Comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
This is another slice of big budget, all action Marvel carnage. I enjoyed it and and I'd think if you've enjoyed Marvels recent output, you probably will too.

The film picks up a couple of years after the chaos of Avengers Assemble and finds Cap still adjusting to life in the modern world. He doesn't have time to dwell though as things kick off big style pretty quickly - a tale of espionage, world domination, assassination and of course super heroes follows. It flys along at fair old pace from the outset from one action set piece to the next with a few quieter character beats in between.

As well as Cap, Nick Fury and Black Widow return and The Falcon is introduced - I was intrigued as to how they would convincingly introduce the character and to be fair they've done a pretty good job. The titular Winter Soldier joins the fun as well and is another good creation. Readers of the comics will most likely already know his identity and story arch, I felt his introduction fitted the plot pretty well.

It works as a standalone movie of course but there are various seeds set for future films, including the next Avengers flick. Stick around for the end credits, there are two epilogues to be found.
33 Comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Chris Evans is back as the first Avenger in Captain America: The Winter Soldier. This time around, everyone’s favorite red, white, and blue boy scout teams up with Black Widow and new partner The Falcon to stop a mysterious villain from the Captain’s past from destroying S.H.I.E.L.D. from the inside. Is this movie better than The Avengers or will fans be disappointed as many were with Iron Man 3 and Thor 2?

After defeating Loki in the Battle of New York, Steve Rogers better known as Captain America heads back to Washington D.C. to work for S.H.I.E.L.D. (Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement, and Logistics Division). He trying his hardest to fit in, but is still having a bit of difficulty adjusting to the modern world. He’s trying to catch up with history, music and pop culture in order for him to feel like he fits in. Every time someone brings up an important topic that he’s never heard of, he jots it down in his little notebook to check off later.

Ultimately Steve is still a soldier and works hand in hand with Nick Fury and S.H.I.E.L.D. to defeat criminal and terrorist threats on a global scale. On a recent mission, Cap is tasked to rescue hostages on a ship in the middle of the ocean along with an elite Strike Team and Black Widow. The mission is a success, but Steve feels lied to as Colonel Fury had an ulterior motive and mission for Black Widow. Steve wants to protect the United States, but is tired of being Fury’s janitor.

Meanwhile a new threat has surfaced. A mysterious figure that many people don’t even think exists executes a flawless attack on Nick Fury that leaves him critically injured. Nick escapes his ambusher to give Captain Rogers a special flash drive containing top-secret information. He also informs Steve that S.H.I.E.L.D. is compromised and to trust no one. With the help of Black Widow, Steve goes on the run and into hiding from the government to find out what secrets are on the flash drive. He also recruits an airborne para-rescue trooper named Sam Wilson who specializes in sonic flight using an advanced winged backpack known as the Falcon Project. Can Captain America, Black Widow and The Falcon defeat this mysterious mercenary known as The Winter Soldier or will a secret society have bigger plans to destroy S.H.I.E.L.D.?

A couple of years ago, Marvel Studios did the unimaginable and granted the wishes of every superhero fan by taking their popular characters from solo origin movies and teaming them up to save the Earth in The Avengers which instantly set box office records all over the world. That was Phase I of the franchise. Currently Marvel and Disney are filming the second Avengers movie, but in the meantime they are releasing all of the Phase II set up movies. Iron Man 3 and Thor: The Dark World hit theaters in 2013. Personally coming off the geeky adrenaline rush that is the Avengers, I felt pretty disappointed with the Phase II movies thus far. When I saw the trailer for the Captain America sequel, I got pumped up by how cool it looked, but apprehensive since I didn’t feel the other movies delivered. Well I am glad to report that not only does Captain America: The Winter Soldier elevate Marvel movies to the next level, but it’s the best superhero movie that’s come out since The Avengers and The Dark Knight Rises.

The whole film is great, but who really makes it spectacular is Chris Evans as Steve Rogers or Captain America as comic fans know him as. This is the third time for Evans to play the character and he just gets better and better. Evans does a tremendous job emulating the perfect boy scout. Evans is completely charming when he needs to be, but when duty calls, a switch is flipped and he becomes an efficient commander. I loved how the movie dealt with Steve trying to catch up on all the things he missed out on since being frozen for seventy years. He carries a notebook and writes things down to learn so he doesn’t feel awkward anymore when people are talking over his head. He learns who Steve Jobs is and the differences between Star Trek and Star Wars. He also loves the internet. What makes the character so special is the same thing that made him the perfect specimen to become a super soldier in the first place, he believes in standing up for the little guys against bullies and tyranny. It’s this ideology that Cap lives with that causes tension between him and Nick Fury played by Samuel L. Jackson. Fury believes in creating titanic weapons and displaying them in plain view as a show of force deterrent, where as Rogers sees it as pointing a gun at someone’s head and calling it protection. Fury lives by an end justifies the means mentality while Captain America believes in the punishment coming after the crime. This is how the movie introduces the characters to the audience in a post “Battle of New York” Marvel era.

For this movie Chris Evans looked like he was in the best shape of his life. You could also tell he did heavy training at hand to hand combat. He’s not just punching and blocking like a boxer. He’s performing spin kicks and parkour type combat maneuvers like a mixed martial artist. One of the coolest fight sequences is the elevator scene when Steven takes out about twelve highly trained agents. What was really cool was how much his Vibranium shield was implemented in the fight choreography.For those who don’t know what Vibranium is, it’s a fictional metal that can absorb any type of impact which in turn strengthen’s the metal. Cap would throw the shield at one bad guy, it would ricochet of walls, then Cap would dispose of more henchmen, then just lift up his hand to catch the shield. One scene even had Cap using the shield to deflect bullets at other mercenaries. If you thought that Captain America was a goofy character with a silly shield in the previous movies, then this flick will definitely change your mind. I feel with this performance, Chris Evans has now elevated Captain America as one of the most popular Marvel characters in the same way Robert Downey Jr. made Iron Man cool.

The supporting cast of good guys include returning cast members Scarlett Johansson as Natasha Romanoff/Black Widow and Samuel L Jackson as Nick Fury along with Marvel Universe newcomers Anthony Mackie as Sam Wilson/Falcon and Robert Redford as Secretary Alexander Pierce. Johansson and Jackson continue to do a good job as S.H.I.E.L.D. agents linking all the Marvel movies together. Johansson is as lethal as she is beautiful and Jackson as always is a bad ass M-F’er. Fans have been waiting for Falcon to hit the big screen and Anthony Mackie does a great job. He’s not really a character that deserves his own movie, but is still strong enough to not be Cap’s sidekick, but his partner. Sam becomes Steve’s right hand man, and when you see the movie, you’ll understand why I say exactly that. He has a super slick flight suit jet pack that can expand and retract metallic wings on command. He wasn’t that great at hand to hand, but he made up for it with amazing combat aerial skills that were showcased during the movie’s finale. Falcon’s wings were so cool, they seemed like they were more maneuverable that Iron Man’s suit. And finally Robert Redford as Alexander Pierce brings a certain professionalism and experience to the film that only a man of his caliber can add. He portrays a perfect politician. He’s charismatic and wise. He also has this way about him that you’re not exactly sure if he is good or bad or what his intentions are for S.H.I.E.L.D. until Steve can unravel the mystery.

You can’t have a great hero unless you have a villain that challenges him in every way. That threat is The Winter Soldier portrayed by Sebastian Stan. I have to say that The Winter Soldier is probably of the coolest villains I’ve seen in a long time. He is an expert at hand to hand combat. He’s a master of weaponry. And he’s got a mechanical arm that is so powerful that even the durability of Cap’s shield is barely able to withstand the onslaught of devastating attacks. He also walks around with a fearless swagger. He barely says anything because he lets his action speak louder than his words. But what makes his an awesome antagonist is that he’s not only physical threat, but an emotional one as well when Steve finds out the The Winter Soldier is his childhood friend who he thought died in World War II. This leaves Steve with a hesitation that can jeopardize everything. I know a lot of the ladies have crushes on Tom Hiddleston as Loki, but he’s got competition now with Sebastian Stan. I heard a few ladies swoon when he hit the screen. He’s got his heavy metal rocker hair, emo eyes makeup, and chiseled good looks. Guys want to be him, and the ladies want to be with him. He’s just an all around amazing Marvel bad guy. The Winter Soldier doesn’t want power. He’s doesn’t want wealth. He’s like a Terminator who won’t stop until his mission is complete.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier is an awesome Marvel movie because both non-comic readers and hardcore fans will be highly entertained. You don’t even have to watch any of the previous movies to enjoy this one. Don’t get me wrong, viewing The First Avenger and The Avengers will help with backstory and character development, but this movie works great on its own merit. It’s a cool action thriller filled with political espionage with an adult theme that mirrors today’s worldwide fear of terrorism and how governments overstep their bounds to monitor and defeat threats claiming it’s merely protection for its citizens. I’d say this movie is like a really cool superhero version of the Bourne identity. Marvel fans will love all the references throughout the movie. It was cool to hear certain names and situations mentioned by the characters in conversation. I won’t spoil it, but one character from the first Captain America movie returns in a more true form to his comic counterpart. I thought it was really cool. Of course it wouldn’t be a Marvel movie if Stan Lee didn’t make a surprise cameo, so be on the look out for a pretty funny appearance.

Overall, Captain America: The Winter Soldier truly is an epic film from beginning to end. It has awesome fight and action scenes that are more realistic than over the top gratuitous. It’s got a great story that’s intriguing for casual audiences and not watered down for hardcore comic fans. But most importantly it’s got fantastic performances from an all-star cast. This is not a movie full of Michael Bay explosions and bullets to cover up a weak plot and even weaker characters. The summer blockbusters have started early in the spring, because this Russo Brothers’ spectacle has set the standard so high this year, that for the rest of 2014, all action and superhero movies will be compared to it.

After personally being disappointed with Iron Man 3 and Thor 2, I was hoping Marvel would step up its game with Captain America: The Winter Soldier as a Phase II set up movie for Avengers: Age of Ultron. I’m happy to say that this political thriller knocked it out of the park. Chris Evans was fantastic as Captain America, Anthony Mackie as Falcon was a great addition to the team, and Sebastian Stan as The Winter Soldier was an incredible villain. It’s hard to match the epicness of The Avengers, but it’s still an extremely strong and entertaining superhero flick. Only caution is that the movie may not be for little kids as some of the violence may be too intense and the political aspects may be uninteresting. My screening was in 2D, but other than a few effects, I don’t really see an advantage to a 3D viewing. I know you really don’t need my recommendation, because you are going to see it anyway, but make sure you stick around for both end credits cut scenes. One is about midway through and the other is at the very end.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When I sat watching the first Captain America film ("The First Avenger") in 2011 - I was laughing and cringing - for all the wrong reasons. I thought it was one of the weakest Marvel adaptations I'd seen. Sure it was entertaining in places and it featured the stunning Hayley Atwell (enough to make most men weak at the knees and nervous in other extremities) and even had a silly looking Nazi bad guy as the fist of an evil organization called "Hydra" (Hugo Weaving). Well someone seems to have lit a match under the "Captain America" team - because outing number two "The Winter Soldier" absolutely rocks like few other blockbusters have.

The action sets pieces are quite brilliant right from the get go and they don't let up until the gobsmacking building-destroying ending. Throw in two top class sidekicks in the shape of Andrew Mackie and the luscious Scarlett Johansson and things sizzle rather than simper. Scarlett is fabulous in this - running around in a tight rubber outfit kicking the crap out of rogue mercenaries as her straight hair remains perfect and her chest pert whilst casually cracking jokes about Captain America's lovelife (or lack of it). Robert Redford and Samuel L. Jackson play the head's of SHIELD - an organization that protects America and the whole world from people who aren't very nice - bosses that came up together but may have differing leanings in their latter years. And Sebastian Stan gives us a believable and fearsome longhaired nemesis called "The Winter Soldier" with a steel arm and the same super-human strength of Captain America (but unfortunately not the same clean-cut American barber).

You can literally feel the work and effort that went into this - the choreography of the fight scenes alone must have taken months of prep - the jokes are good - the sexy tension between Evans and Johansson and the other lovelies (Cobie Smulders and Emily Van Camp) serves rather than detracts - and Chris Evans looks so good you could lick him in public and feel ok about it.

A clever plot sees CA combatting a compromised SHIELD with someone on the inside about to target 20 million key civilians with unstoppable flying fortresses and replace their flabby asses and democracy with modern-day Nazism (hail Hydra). Toby Jones' sicko brain gets all computer-manic and there's even a super-cool reference to Marvin Gaye's brilliant "Trouble Man" Soundtrack from December 1972 on Tamla. All this - and Marvin Gaye! What's not to love!

The BLU RAY picture quality is state-of-the-art, the sound mix will rattle your neighbour's lean-to and the extras are plentiful. Is it any wonder "Captain America: The Winter Soldier" is a number-one bestseller on the BR chart. Rent or buy it and thoroughly enjoy the ride...
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
The movie is very well done - well acted, plotted, scripted - all of that. At over 2 hours I thought it might drag, but it does not. The pacing and mix of action to dialogue is just great.

Chris Evans is better here than in Avengers - with more scope to develop the character, he really brings it to life and I totally believed him as the Sentinel of Liberty. He was suitably emotive during scenes of stress, and he definitely kept up with the pace of the action (I'll get to that a bit more later). He is also witty and charismatic, which was something I didn't get that much of in Avengers Assemble. Brief mention his suit choices (yes, there's more than one) being really well done, totally in keeping. You'll know what I mean when you see the film.

The support cast here is equally skilled. I love Scarlet - she makes Black Widow a much more rounded character here, and has some of the best lines in the script. Sam Jackson is still the definitive Nick Fury for me, even though here he does show his age. One scene in particular had me cheering for him to succeed!
New addition to the MCU - Falcon, is well-done also. His introduction ("On your left") feels natural and authentic, and when the gear change happens for him, it does so credibly. The actor is good too - not heard of him, and can't remember his name, but why should that matter? Edit: Anthony Mackie is Falcon.

The plot, whilst fairly complex and convoluted to begin with (but not quite Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy!), is nevertheless easy to follow as it goes on, and has some twists and turns which I found fresh and exciting. There are also some Easter Eggs for comic historians as well, so look out for those.

Now, I have to mention the action. It is superb. Captain America has somehow amplified all that super-soldier serum and now acts as if turbo-charged. It was exactly how I imagined him to be. The shield is awesome, and he uses it with fantastic skill and grace. I'm getting goosebumps just remembering the various manoeuvres he pulls off using this.

Cap is also a lot more athletic and seeing as he has to keep pace with the Winter Soldier that's absolutely essential.

The Winter Soldier himself is enigmatic, foreboding, seriously good at what he does, and manages to scare with his sheer implacability. He has a development arc in this film too, and without putting spoilers in, what happens is very affecting. Cannot omit mentioning one confrontation he has with Black Widow which really excited and scared me at the same time!

The only thing about it that I thought was a little implausible is the scale of the action - it's an order of magnitude greater than we've seen Captain America handle solo before, and sometimes his actions and achievements against such epic danger jar as being beyond the laws of physics. But hey, it's Marvel, it's superheroes, it works.

Final thought - can't believe they managed to up the game so much from The First Avenger. I liked that first film, but it didn't exactly thrill me as I thought it should. This is brilliant, and almost knocks Avengers Assembled off my favourite film pedestal. The only reason it doesn't (and it's very close) is because that film had the Hulk, Thor and Iron Man in it as well as Cap.

Even greater expectations for Age of Ultron now! Gah!
66 Comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
Hi there I bought this film along with iron man 3 and wanted to know why I didn't get the red cover like I did with iron man 3 (see image)
review image
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
I'm giving this movie 5 stars. Based on the historical comics written about this character it would be truly impressive if this amazing character can be portrayed properly on the big screen. Well the people behind this production did exactly that. The first movie for Captain America was ok. Certain bits of the movie did show some of the history of the character such as the transformation and impressively the showing of a young and frail looking Steve Rogers. What did cause disappointment in my opinion was the capabilities of Captain America was not shown properly.

Comic book fans have already read about this character and know what this character can do. With all of the latest technology that a movie can utilised there is no excuse why this character should come across as dull, boring but more importantly to not appear as a super hero according to the comic book. It is the comic book that should dictate how the character should be presented on screen and this latest production did exactly without no failure. A super soldier whose has an Olympic level of Martial Arts knowledge, someone who is at peak physical perfection, an expert military strategist and due to the serum who is also resistant to disease and fatigue.

The directors of this film captured exactly how this character is suppose to be. Hand to hand combat could not of been done any better compared to classic 'late night' martial arts movie back in the day. In the Avengers movie you get to see a sample of this ability when Cap was up against the Chutari on top of a police car. However it takes this movie to really show any fan or anyone who does not really know Captain America what he is all about. His shield, just like in the comics, was utilised in every situation, both defensively and offensively. Now this is so important for the character as this is what makes Captain America who he is.

Very impressed by this movie and I do believe that in terms of action this is the best Marvel movie so far. Avengers was good and that held the gauntlet previously. But now that this movie is released the bar has been raised and what could come out of this are future movies showing how each characters abilities are utilised properly without any disappointment.
33 Comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 August 2015
Many people consider 'Captain America: The Winter Soldier' to be the best film of the Marvel Cinematic Universe released so far and, while I do not share this opinion even I will admit that it is one of the better films of the franchise. The plot of the film is very interesting, playing on some contemporary issues such as the conflict between individual freedom and state security and although some of the twists can be guessed by anyone with knowledge of some of the new characters from the comics, they are nonetheless handled quite well. The only real problem I have with the film is the that I feel it does drag a little in the middle and I didn’t feel the villains were too engaging but these are only minor complaints that didn’t really damage my enjoyment of the film.

The film sees the return of Captain America, Black Widow, Nick Fury and Maria Hill with Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, etc. continuing to do a brilliant job of bringing the characters to life. The film also introduces a number of new characters to the MCU including Agent 13 (played by Emily VanCamp), Alexander Pierce (played by the brilliant Robert Redford), Crossbones (played by Frank Grillo), Falcon (played very nicely by Anthony Mackie), Georges Batroc (played by Georges St-Pierre) and of course The Winter Soldier himself.

The action scenes in the film are all very well choreographed with Fury’s car chase and the fight in the elevator being particular highlights. The special effect of used in the film are also very spectacular, with the final fight being one of the more spectacular battles in any of the MCU films with its very nice aerial action.

For special features, the DVD includes a deleted scene and a featurette on Steve Rodger’s notebook. The DVD also opens with a trailer for 'Guardians of the Galaxy'.

'Captain America: The Winter Soldier' is a very competent action film with some great moments and has a very big impact on following elements of the Marvel Cinematic Universe and while I wouldn’t personally place it as one of my favourite instalments of the franchise (due to my preference for 'Captain America: The First Avenger') I would still happily give it a full five stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
Maybe the best pure superhero since Superman the Movie. Unlike his smarmy portrayal of Johnny Storm in The Fantastic Four, Chris Evans delivers a nuanced, moving and sincere one here as Steve Rogers. Now in the present, which to him is the future, he struggles to adapt and forget the past. There is a touching scene with Peggy Carter that is rare in a film like this.
The story is essentially about Hydra destroying SHIELD from within, slowly taking over the organization (which should be oddly and ironically similar to some areas of Europe, including Great Britain). Robert Redford is terrific as the bad guy, and I hope that doesn't ruin any surprises. The 'Winter Soldier' is also well done. I won't say any more about him. Scarlet Johanson is better this go around as The Black Widow. She fits the role better and there is a nice 'friendly' chemistry with Evans.
Nice to Emily VanCamp, too in a small but memorable role.
This is a harsh film with plenty of violence. It earns the PG-13 rating.
The action is as well done as any I've seen. My favorite is the elevator scene. But once the action gets going, it is fast and furious.
The only recent 'superhero' film I've seen I've liked as much is Dredd.
This one's a keeper.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)