Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2013
You just knew that missing bag of corn would fall into the wrong hands. Took a while but sure enough someone decided they could make some money and started selling it to the highest bidders.

The fresh outbreak of Harvester (v2) sees them still annoyingly blobbish, but this time with reproductive powers so they can expand their population numbers expoentially.

How can they be stopped, well the former EDS team, the might of the governments of the world, and some cats come together to attempt to stop the spread, but it's chaos throughout the modern world, and the human population is in real danger of being wiped out.

The story is once again well written, absorbing, I find with most of Mr Hicks books that I find it a real struggle to put down, if you read the first book you should read this one, although it is a trilogy, and you will need to invest your hard earned coin in the final act.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Excellent book. I give it two stars for the total implausibility of the plot material, and five stars for the writing skill. Michael Hicks writes brilliantly, and I just cannot stop reading once started. I bought all three of the trilogy together, knowing in advance that if Hicks wrote them, then I'd enjoy them. It was two a.m. last night before I had to force myself to go to sleep! Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
An excellent second book in a threateningly believable 'almost apocalypse' series. The action is considerably faster paced than in the first book, which well suits the developing story line and sub-plots.
The characters continue to grow and develop along with the action and Michael is certainly not averse to 'bumping off' whoever he deems necessary to further the plot. It certainly works for me and I am on to the third book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
This Harvest series is totally gripping, the odd cliche but very good escapism
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
If you have read the first book, you have to read this one.
And now im about to buy the 3rd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Beginning where the last book left off, this one is another roller coaster of a read. Very good from start to finish.
Just off to buy next in the series...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2017
Reasonable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
After reading the 1st book I actually purchased this one (not like me at all)! I was not disapointed. The story starts a year after the 1st book ended. The story never lets up and again goes hell for leather to a climactic ending. There were some really nice dramatic twists, a couple of which I just didn't see coming at all. I was completely engrossed in the story and found it really difficult to put down.

There is far more action in this book than in the first, but it was true to the nature of the story and felt right for what you are being told.

I can not wait for the third book in this series - come on Michael publish it soon - I can't bear the suspense any longer!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
Bitter Harvest, book 2 in the Harvest trilogy by Michael R Hicks with Book 3 scheduled for publication in 2013.

It took me a while to get in to Season of the Harvest, book 1 in the Trilogy, back in 2011. But once in, I found a fast moving, modern, scary crime thriller, with the added zest of a bit of science fiction thrown in to mix things up.

Summary The Harvest books are dealing with a deadly and intelligent insectoid like creature who are able to take over a human body and perfectly mimic the person taken over! It is not known where these creatures originated from, whether they have been lying dormant on earth for millennia or whether they have come from space. What is known is that they can be killed but normally only after they have wiped out 98% of those trying to kill them and as is the way in these situations, some escape..... In book 1 the Harvesters, as we have come to call them, could not reproduce and were working on a way to genetically modify crop seeds that once planted and turned into food for the human population would rewrite the DNA of humans turning them into Harvesters. Jack Dawson and Naomi Perrault and the rest of the EDF along with the US Govt. who finally came to believe in the threat, thought they had solved that problem ........

Bitter Harvest, as one would expect, takes up where the first book left off with out heroes who were declared terrorists by the US Government having been giving their own Agency to track down the missing bag of genetically modified bag of grain seed. It has been a year now and they still haven't managed it. The new administration and President, still have difficulty in believing all that they have been told and in how catastrophic the Harvesters would be to the human race, if allowed a foothold on the planet, and decide to close down the new Agency, terminating all of its employees almost with immediate effect!

As any good writer will do, Hicks uses this to good effect to reintroduce the missing bag of seed with horrifying consequences. Without giving to much away, as is always difficult when writing a review. The bag has fallen into the hands of a disenfranchised scientist who without knowing the deadly secret potential for devastation that it holds; all he and others in that field know, is that the company who produced the seed were trying to introduce a seed that would improve the worlds food supply, and that the seeds produced for that purpose would be worth millions to be sold off to competitors!

And then planet earth starts to burn: India, China, Russia, Brasil, France and then back to the USA and then you are (if an e reader) holding your finger or thumb over the button desperate to turn each page as you can't believe what is happening as we jump from continent to continent to raging battle after battle and only those few who have dealt with them before and who fully know how to try and kill them having that information sequestrated by their own government, does the full horror of what is happening and just what the original Harvesters did to the seeds unfold. The story unfolds and Hicks has written it in a way where you just have to keep turning pages. People whom we met in the first book, we meet again, they are hero's, but Hicks just as easily kills these people off just as the Harvesters are killing the general population while the governments of the world close in on themselves in the usual indecisiveness that seems to affect them in reality, and you find yourself wishing that maybe a Harvester or two should be let loose upon them......

The Harvesters couldn't reproduce in Season of the Harvest, and were still a terrifying and deadly problem for mankind; You may not want to know what they do in Bitter Harvest, but will you be able to resist peeking, and, can mankind survive? And then that bugger again leaves us on the edge of planetary destruction and says wait and see in 2013, Oh how I sometimes hate authors ;-)

catch up with Mr Hicks at: @MR_Hicks_Fans

Editing for Kindle: Good
Reading Enjoyment: 5 out of 5
Plot: 5 out of 5
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5
Chapters: 35 plus an epilogue
Page length: circa 394 NO PAGE NUMBERS I really do wish you guys and Amazon would get your acts togther.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
I've not read a Hicks novel that I haven't loved, and this is no exception. As usual, Hicks puts his characters through the ringer, leaving you on the edge of your seat. In this sequel, the characters we've grown to love in Season of the Harvest continue their quest to save the world. Without giving any of the story away, it is another roller coaster ride, the tension (almost stress) rising throughout to its nail-biting conclusion.

The only disappoint is that the third instalment is not yet available! What are we to do?! Keep on writing Mr Hicks!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)