Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Lone Survivor [Blu-ray] [2013]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 December 2016
Candid and unpolished, shot on a limited budget with no interference from the studio and key staff taking pay cuts to be on the team. It plays like a really good independent film, thereby missing the last degree of (over) production and being so the more engaging for it imho.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2014
A small unit of four U.S. Navy Seals 'Marcus Luttrell' (Mark Wahlberg) 'Michael Murphy' (Taylor Kitsch)
'Danny Dietz' (Emile Hirsch) 'Matt Axelson' (Ben Foster) are scheduled to front 'Operation 'Red Wings'
their task to eliminate notorious 'Taliban/ Al Qaeda leader 'Ahmad Shah'
The Commanding Officer at base - 'Erik Kristensen' (Eric Bana')
They have to make their way through dense and rugged Mountain terrain to reach and be in sight of the
Target.....by chance a small group of Goat-Herders happen across the 'Seals' position, this puts the Op'
in jeopardy, decisions have to be made, to continue they would probably have to kill the captives, a young
boy, a possible Taliban Fighter and an elderly Man.
They decide to let their prisoners go and withdraw from the operation, however the eldest of the young men
makes his way speedily to the Mountain village.
The Four are soon faced with a large 'Taliban Fighter' force, a desperate and intense fire-fight soon follows,
the four courageously fight the insurgents, killing many, but seriously outnumbered they each start picking
up injuries from the fierce flow of bullets and bazooka-fire directed at them, though they attempt to back
away the 'Fighters' just keep coming at them.
'Mike' after many attempts manages to get through to base, against standard procedure mission commander
'Erik Kristensen' leads a rescue mission using two troop filled 'Chinook Helicopters' without 'Black Hawk'
cover, the rescue mission fails, the 'Chopper' with the Commander on board is shot down, all are lost.
Only one of the four still lives, a follow up rescue mission fails to locate him, however his story is far from over.
This is an incredibly realistic account of a 'Afghan' mission that is based on a True event.............
This is a truly intense, tense and graphic account which will no doubt have you tied up in knots feeling every
impact of both jumping down a rocky slope, every bullet that connects.
Great performances from the key-artists involved.
A story of valour and battle to survive...............This a must see......
Exclusive Blu-ray Bonus Features.
* Will of the Warrior.
* Bringing the story to light
* Recreating the fire-fight.
* Learning the basics
* The Fallen Heroes of Operation 'Red Wings'
* The 'Pahtun' code of life
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2017
An excellent movie that shows just how tough it can be being in the armed forces in occupied countries, like Afghanistan. I have a preference for true life stories, albeit they may be dramatized. However, truth is often strange than fiction, as is the case in this movie. Brilliantly acted, the battle between the Taliban and the four US Navy seals was gripping stuff. Many moral arguments highlighted in the movie, and the Christian spirit shown by the villagers who rescued the 'Lone Survivor', is an example to us all!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 October 2015
I was very impressed by this 2013 fact-based war US film. It is a very tense, very realistic, well filmed and well-interpeted war drama. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

War in Afghanistan, 2005. A local Taliban leader named Ahmad Shah is trageted by US Army, after he carried succesful attacks against Americans as well as against villagers who were aiding US forces. A Navy SEALs unit is ordered to capture or kill Shah. As part of the mission, a four-man SEAL reconnaissance and surveillance team is send forward to locate the target. These four SEALs are: team leader Michael P. "Murph" Murphy (Taylor Kitsch); sniper Marcus Luttrell (Mark Wahlberg), sniper Matthew "Axe" Axelson (Ben Foster) and communications specialist Danny Dietz (Emile Hirsch). The team is inserted into the Hindu Kush region of Afghanistan, where they must make a trek through the mountains - and then the film really begins.

This is a very good war film, one of the best I saw in recent years. It is based on real events and the heroism of Navy Seals is in no way exaggerated - the real life Lt. Murphy received Medal of Honor for his actions that fateful day and a US Navy destroyer was named after him. The film follows the real story, very, very closely and we can actually feel it. This is definitely not a propaganda film or a recruitement tool, but even if the events described are tragic, the general mood of the film is uplifting - this is probably why all the "progressive " medias hated it so much... Characters feel real and they are quite likeable, even if their language is strong and their manners sometimes questionnable - still, in those times of great danger, I am very, very glad that West still has soldiers like that...

Action scenes are realistic, but still unbelievable, much, much better in any SF or super hero movies. Images of Afghan mountains add an majestic element to the whole drama. All actors did very well - that includes also Eric Bana, who plays Lt. Commander Kristensen, one of the Navy Seals who will join in the action only later. For my personal taste the best performance was that of Taylor Kitsch.

Even if we more or less know how it all will end, this film still keeps us very much guessing until the end as for the details. It is a very tense and powerful thing - it is almost impossible to stop watching and I advise you not to do it, in order to not lose the rhytm...

I was very impressed by this film, I am glad that I bought and watched it and I will definitely keep my DVD for another viewing in the future. ENJOY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2017
This is the first time I personally have seen this film, as I don't normally like war films. My Husband & Daughter recommended me to see it, it did not fail in showing the horror of war & how sad it was knowing that these amazingly brave men had died in real life. We all think Mark Wahlberg is a fantastic actor, but all the other actors played their parts extremely well. How one man can survive at all is truly a miracle, the fighting scenes were very realistic & at the end it was very emotional seeing the photos of the real men who had died. Would advise anyone to watch this film as I don't think you will be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2014
Saw this at the flix & loved it. It's your classic special ops botch up / heroic-exploits movie, and a true story.
Action packed & a tribute to those involved in the real-life op involving a Seal Team
sent in to observe a terrorist/warlord in Afghanistan, that goes belly-up.
A must-see for fans of the genre who like it fast, furious, & true
Steve, Hants
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2014
Being a bit army barmy , I enjoy a good action movie and with mark Wahlberg thought this would be a good film to watch. It had been one of those titles I kept keeping for a dreich day as we Scots say.
So the day came and I hired the movie, great production levels good attention to detail and all the military hardware the good old US could supply.
However, like Bravo Two Zero ( again a True story about special forces SAS) they were compromised by goat herders which led to as the Americans would say " a whole ton of hurt coming down" .
If you like action its a good movie but the premise is that they got caught and like it says in the Title Lone Survivor so you can guess the rest….However, I will say….how he becomes the last one standing …is the best part of the story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2014
This film is brutal, gritty and real. You literally feel like you're a Navy SEAL amongst the team in the middle of the firefight. It's filled with bone crunching special effects and fast paced realistic action along with beautiful scenery, a very moving soundtrack and is brilliantly acted by Mark Wahlberg and Eric Bana. Based on a true story, this film shows the incredible courage of four Navy SEAL's who are faced with a tough decision, with extreme consiquences once their mission is compromised. The bravery and honour of the Afghan villagers and the sacrifice they were willing to make to uphold their 2000 year old code, should never be forgotten.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2015
This film is tense. Very tense. The film starts quite quickly and I didn't feel at any point that it dragged. It gives a detailed and gritty account of war.

It was an interesting story, well acted and the action was very graphic. A lot of the films give very over the top action scenes, but this film felt realistic as though you actually believed that it was happening.

The characters were likeable and I very much enjoyed the film. If you don't like blood, then you might want to look elsewhere. It's not a gore-fest, and the scenes of this nature are realistic, but at times you might need to look away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2015
This is a great movie based on a true story. Four Navy Seals go on a mission in Afghanistan but become ambushed and have to fight to try and stay alive. What I love about this film is the realism, it doesn't try to glamorise anything, the action shots and gory wound shots take away any idea of it being so. The film makes you think about what soldiers go through every day when fighting for their country or helping to fight for someone elses, and I loved the end credits of the film showing the fallen seals and the survivor with a photo of him meeting the afghan who saved him. Full marks for this movie :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)